Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention, Washington Session

Sunset Hill Community Club, Seattle, Washington

February 16-17, 2013

Saturday, February 16

The 22nd annual Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention, Washington Session, was called to order by Darlene Simpson-Brown and Karen Willard leading 47t. Bob Schinske offered the opening prayer.

The class held a business session, and the following officers were approved or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Karen Willard; Rising Chairperson—Susan Helf; Treasurer—Katharine Hough; Arranging Committee—Clarissa Fetrow and Steve Helwig; Secretary—Karen Willard. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Clarissa Fetrow 49b; Susan Helf 84; Bob Schinske 565; Kathy Vlach 171; Peter Schinske 52t; Darlene Simpson-Brown 400; Maria Bayer 416; Chase Arevalo 426b; Kat Kohorst 448t; Alberta Hardy 229; Jim Van Horn 454; Tom McTighe 82t; Tom Crane 31t; Jane Grant 480; Destiny Woods 86; Dan Harper 268; Katharine Hough 378b; Thom Fahrbach 447; Lyle Lindsey 276; Jinx McGuire 472; David Hough 53; Rosie Lindsey 324; Kevin Barrans 123b; Cornelia Stanton 87; Erik Schwab 193.


Karen Willard and Susan Helf brought the class back to order by leading 30t. Leaders: Jonathan Levy-Wolins 189; Anne Huckins 178; Stefan Bach 278t; Carol Selleck 106; Dan Thoma 162; Nell Whitman 203; David Wright 530; Caleb Hardy 388; Mryka Hall-Beyer and Anne Cowling 81t; Jerry Schreiber 536; Katharine Hough 47b; Deidra Montgomery 440; Kari Lundgren 335; Karl Oswald 236; Kelly Kennedy 389; Jack Lofton 216; Ethan Hardy 351; Myles Alexander 129; Jessica Beer 422; Carla Smith 136; Daniel Hunter 405; Chris Cotter 477. Bob Schinske offered thanks for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Karen Willard and Susan Helf leading 147t. Leaders: Erik Schwab 192; Betsy Jeronen 392; Steve Helwig 434; Linda Selph 215; Mary Ditson 532; Mike Hinton 318; Karen Stingle 65; Mark Miller 280; Erika Wilson 502; Eric Kelly 430; Lucinda Saue 163b; Steve Cackley 174; Jean Murphy 312b; Reed Schilbach 122; Greg Saue 99; Jordan Singer 444; Jessica Beer 269; Deidra Montgomery 316; Scott Kennedy 344; Carolyn Flatley-Gilkey 504; Eric Holt 34t; Kate Fine 384; Bruce Rowland 170.


Karen Willard and Susan Helf called the class to order by leading 59.

Leaders: Martha Sherwood 67; Tom Crane and Kari Lundgren 501; Shannon McGuire 358; Bob Schinske, Sophia Schinske, and Peter Schinske 550; Nell Whitman 217; Rosie Lindsey and Lyle Lindsey 498; Alberta Hardy, Ethan Hardy, Caleb Hardy, Margaret Hardy Oswald, and Karl Oswald 66; Carol Selleck 68b; Dan Harper 183; Kevin Barrans, Mark Miller, and David Wright 455; Destiny Woods 168; Karissa Kravig, Kevin House, and Karen Willard 35; Cornelia Stanton 466; Kelly Kennedy 387; Jim Van Horn 288; Thom Fahrbach and Tom McTighe 542; Sarah Knapton 282; Jack Lofton 442; Dan Thoma 68t; Natalie Day 159; Myles Alexander and Daniel Hunter 36t.

Karen Willard and Susan Helf led 147 (CB) as the closing song. Bob Schinske offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, February 17

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Karen Willard and Susan Helf leading 46. David Wright offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Bob Schinske 39b; Jinx McGuire 40; Anne Huckins 34b; Lea Kouba 135; Darlene Simpson-Brown 290; Kate Fine 369; Kathy Vlach 33b; Scott Kennedy 149; Martha Sherwood 117; Kevin Barrans, Dave Barrans, and Julie Barrans 72b; Steve Cackley 545; Bruce Rowland 532; Jack Lofton 218; Kat Kohorst 133; Jim Friedrich 300; Carla Smith 270; Carolyn Flatley-Gilkey 503; Solomon Ossa 53; Mryka Hall-Beyer and Anne Cowling 350; Chris Cotter 517; Marcia Stedman 481; Greg Saue 490; Linda Selph 172; Marla Elliott 183.


Karen Willard and Susan Helf brought the class back to order by leading 512.

Anne Huckins and Erik Schwab conducted the memorial lesson, leading 340 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Fumie Murata, Shisue Sugimoto, Barbara Willard, Rodney Willard, Alexis Williams, Henry Guthery, Floy Wilder, Josie Hyde, Lee Love, Jim G., Billie DeSpain, Buster DeSpain, Jim Grant, Kevin Cathcart, Jan Bridges, Joe Anastatia, Boyd Dron, Bess Fitzgerald, David Kiser, and Dee Barker.

They led 474 in memory of the following deceased: Joseph Murphy—New York; Neal Camp—Florida; Sam Cruz—Oklahoma; Dale Gilkey—Georgia; Shirley Flatley—Missouri; Joanne Schroeder—South Dakota; Alice Fahrbach—Michigan; Samantha Redston—West Virginia; Ann Dhu McLucas, Eric Mill, Terry Osburn—Oregon; Charles Creel, Harrison Creel, Dr. Julietta Haynes, Earnie Jett—Alabama; Freddy Ramirez, Oloff Gaylor Shipstead, Maria Topete, Dominic Ciavonne Ziegler—California; Alissa Bennett, Susan Binshaw, Ross Bunnell, Grace McMurray, Janice Newell, Eric Schinske—Washington. Mike Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Steve Helwig 528; Betsy Jeronen 522; Mike Hinton 534; Erika Wilson 275t; Lucinda Saue 107; Jordan Singer 330b; Anna Stoerch 313t; Mark Miller 371; Reed Schilbach 318; Tom McTighe 564; Shannon McGuire 163t; Peter Schinske 203; Katharine Hough 569b; Kira Lynn Olson 38b; Jerry Schreiber 304; Daniel Hunter 495; Karen Stingle 475. David Wright asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Karen Willard and Susan Helf leading 294. Leaders: David Wright 373; Jean Murphy 380; Bill Walters 222; Clarissa Fetrow 419; Mary Ditson 454; Deidra Montgomery 153; Dan Thoma 286; Laura Borrelli 196; Thom Fahrbach 227; Linda Selph 430; Myles Alexander 85; Heather Ikeler 538; Katharine Hough 376; Kelly Kennedy and Julia Palmer 297; Eric Holt 341; Betsy Jeronen 573; Joanne Hoover 64; Martha Channon 274t; Erik Schwab 187; Sophia Schinske 549; Solomon Ossa 86; Elizabeth Riggs 479; Linda Jweinat, David Wright, Jordan Singer, and Bon Vernarelli 506 (for Marilyn Murata).


Karen Willard and Susan Helf called the class back to order leading 49b. Leaders: Karen Stingle 496; Dan Harper 56b; Miranda Fetrow 117; Greg Saue and Lucinda Saue 497; Jen Rymut 89; Marla Elliott 245; Scott Kennedy 546; Anna Stoerch 96; Jerry Schreiber and Carla Smith 217; Laura Borrelli and Deidra Montgomery 142; Daniel Hunter and Thom Fahrbach 104; Carolyn Flatley-Gilkey and Martha Sherwood 114; Chris Cotter and Kelly Kennedy 390; Erika Wilson 339; Cornelia Stanton 515; Steve Cackley 69b; Mary Ditson 146; Marcia Stedman, Anne Huckins, Bon Vernarelli, and Reed Schilbach 347; Mike Hinton 456.

The class re-opened a business session to hear reports. The Locating Committee has secured the VFW Hall on Mercer Island, Washington, for the convention in 2014. The Treasurer reported all expenses of the convention were covered by the generous offering. The Committee (Rachel Skokan and Mark Miller) thanked all who worked so hard to make the convention a success. The Arranging Committee reported attendees from 9 states and 2 Canadian provinces; there were 46 out-of-state visitors and 87 from Washington. Leaders led 96 songs on Saturday and 90 on Sunday. Announcements were made. The business session was closed.

Karen Willard and Susan Helf led 62 as the closing song, and all who wished took the parting hand. David Wright closed the convention with prayer.

Chairperson—Karen Willard; Vice Chairperson—Susan Helf; Secretary—Karen Willard