Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention

Boulder, Colorado

September 22-23, 2007

Saturday, September 22

The 18th session of the Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Claire Singleton leading 40. The opening prayer was offered by Hill Grimmett.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Co-Chairpersons—Sharon Kermiet and Mary Lou Van Laanen; Chaplain—Hill Grimmett; Arranging Committee/Secretary—Paul Lindholm.

Leaders: Sharon Kermiet 82t, 327; Pete Mathewson 480; Kay Sirco 143; David McPherson 290; Carol Selleck 39t; Norma Ruptier 148; Sally Gwylan 288; Claire Singleton 30b; Marilyn Murata 351; David Lee 501; Sandy Klein 350; Sheila Wootten 29t; Gaylon Powell 500; Hill Grimmett 454; David Wright 192; Dani Lindholm 456; Terry Wootten 422; Bill Howe 178; Chris Brown 441; Leon Ballinger 195; Carolyn Deacy 201; John Schaffer 313b; Ginnie Ely 196; Eric Burton 535.


The singing resumed with Norma Ruptier leading 47t. Leaders: Brent Wilson 335; Lisa Grayson 436; Martha Rosner 457; Bill Walters 217; Bonnie Dolan 282; Judy Whiting 150; Loraine Burger 344; Erik Mason 84; Susan Livingston 324; Corrie Van Duzer 117; Karl Dise 528; Catie Van Duzer 280; Deb Robson 452; Jeanne Schaffer 369; Sharon Kermiet 328; Paul Lindholm 562; Sally Gwylan 159; David Lee 274t; Sharman Wilson 551; Gaylon Powell 380. Hill Grimmett offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 167. Leaders: Hill Grimmett 106; David Wright 168; Sandy Klein 300; Ginnie Ely 349; Mallie Kermiet 203; John Schaffer 515; Kay Sirco 68b; Donald Klein 412; Eric Burton 375; Terry Wootten 283; Bonnie Dolan 447; David McPherson 183; Pete Mathewson 569b; Carol Selleck 99; Anita Landess 389; Lisa Grayson 448t. By special request, the following group sang 176t for the class from the center of the square: Terry Wootten, Sheila Wootten, David Lee, Leon Ballinger, Gaylon Powell, Carol Selleck, and Kay Sirco.


The singing resumed with Gaylon Powell leading 317. Leaders: Brent Wilson 268; Chris Brown 503; Marilyn Murata 218; Leon Ballinger 424; Bill Walters 504; Judy Whiting 72b; Karl Dise 211; Corrie Van Duzer 442; Jeanne Schaffer 199 (?); Carolyn Deacy 330b; Loraine Burger 213b; Erik Mason 59; Claire Singleton 270; Dani Lindholm 278t; Norma Ruptier 479; David Lee 32b.

Sharon Kermiet led 267 as the closing song. Hill Grimmett offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 23

The Sunday session was called to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 276 and 47t.

Leaders: Deb Robson 194 (?); Pete Mathewson 139; John Schaffer 34b; Hill Grimmett 36b; Bonnie Dolan 31t; Toby Tenenbaum 228; David McPherson 347; Martha Rosner 497; Sally Gwylan 77t; Donald Klein 408; Carol Selleck 400; Bill Walters 47b; Terry Wootten 39t; Sandy Klein 35; Kay Sirco 350; Gaylon Powell 53; Corrie Van Duzer 446; Chris Brown 206; Anita Landess 314; Lisa Grayson 278b; Dani Lindholm 142; Carolyn Deacy 299; Ginnie Ely 454.


David Wright brought the class together by leading 144. Leaders: Steve Helwig 436; Judy Whiting 318.

Pete Mathewson conducted the memorial lesson. Carol Selleck led 34t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Carolyn Anderson, Fumie Murata, Shisue Sugimoto, Ed Stevens, Richard Grayson, and Frank Fowler.

Gaylon Powell led 499b in memory of the following deceased: Ted Eastburn—Colorado; Howard Lee Grimmett—Missouri; Mary Ballinger and Verna Powell—Texas; Edna Jackson—Alabama; Reese House—Washington, D.C.; Sean Vickery—Massachusetts; Ruth Young and Ruth Grodzins—Illinois; Luz Schmidt—Florida; Jim Singleton, John McDougal, Kathy Dunn, Gill Blackmore, and Edna Leonard—United Kingdom. The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: Sharon Kermiet 202; Paul Lindholm 564; Norma Ruptier 27; Gelsey Tenenbaum 203; Leon Ballinger 490; Sheila Wootten 129; Anita Shaperd 315; Jeanne Schaffer 66; Eric Burton 448b; David Wright 207; Marilyn Murata 80t; Missy Richards 437; Karl Dise 320; Claire Singleton 455. Prayer was offered for the noon meal by Hill Grimmett.


The singing was resumed with Sharon Kermiet leading 486. Leaders: Hill Grimmett 556; Deb Robson 145b; Chris Brown 127; Bonnie Dolan 549; Terry Wootten 472; Gaylon Powell 216; Anita Landess 297; Lisa Grayson 383; Dani Lindholm 107; Carolyn Deacy 269; Steve Helwig 112; Ginnie Ely 373; Leon Ballinger 137; Eric Burton 108b; Sandy Klein 210; Carol Selleck 319; Martha Rosner 32t; Sheila Wootten 63; Toby Tenenbaum 368; Judy Whiting 186.


The class was brought together by David McPherson leading 430. Leaders: Donald Klein 344; Mallie Kermiet 504; Marilyn Murata 232; Anita Shaperd 114; John Schaffer 38b; Pete Mathewson 496; David Wright 384.

Leaders: Karl Dise 379; Claire Singleton 155; Paul Lindholm 527; Sharon Kermiet 461 (in honor of Mary Lou Van Laanen); Gaylon Powell 374.

Terry Wootten led 45b as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Sharon Kermiet and Mary Lou Van Laanen; Secretary—Paul Lindholm