Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chattahoochee Convention

Wilson’s Chapel, Carrollton, Georgia

July 31-August 1, 2004

Saturday, July 31

The one hundred fifty-second session of the Chattahoochee Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August at Wilson’s Chapel, near Carrollton, Georgia. Chairlady Sheri Taylor led 39t and 29t to open the convention. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Sheri Taylor 27; Donna Duke 203, 101t; Lori Goode and Mary Elizabeth Goode “Jesus Loves Me”, 198; Charlene Wallace 99, 139; Karen Rollins 225t, 178; B.M. Smith 475, 38t; Lisa Webb 528, 222; Tony Hammock 441, 89; Elise Eskew 107, 384; Jack Nelson 30b, 294; Mary Wright 378 (t? b?), 457; Richard Mauldin 145b, 84.


The class resumed singing. Leaders: John Plunkett 33b; Sandra Wilkinson 224, 229; Morgan Bunch 306; Susan Fetcho 547; Ed Thacker 313t; Jeannette DePoy 390; Robert Walker 338.

A motion was made and seconded to go into a business session. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairlady—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Donna Duke; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace and Laura Frey (Saturday), Sandra Wilkerson and Lela Crowder (Sunday); Finance Committee—Carlene Griffin and Andy Anderson; Resolutions Committee—Lori Goode and Richard Mauldin; Memorial Committee—Jeannette DePoy and Lisa Webb. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Lee Rogers 218; D.J. Hatfield 456; Sue Bunch 34b; Andy Anderson 146; Megan Jennings 189; Matt Hinton 163b.


Vice Chairman John Plunkett opened the afternoon session leading 47t. Leaders: Kiri Miller 142; John Hollingsworth 82 (t? b?); Lela Crowder 374; Henry Johnson 435; David Fetcho 163t; Joan Durdin 448b; Mickey Edwards 28b; Dana Borrelli 480; Liz Bryant 270; Dan Hawkinson 143; Judy Mincey 347; Don Bowen 47b; Eric Tweedy 131t; Ellie Solar 504; Jessica Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 282; Gene Duke 81t; Lou Cotney 300; Andrew Snyder 269; Laura Frey 358, 45t; Patricia Temple 232; Kiri Miller 411; Mary Wright 71; David Fetcho 376; D.J. Hatfield 112; Susan Fetcho 56b; Morgan Bunch 485; Henry Johnson 231; Mickey Edwards 38b; Megan Jennings 383; Rodney Ivey, Dana Borrelli, and Richard Ivey 106; Susan Bunch 72b; Oscar McGuire 276; Jeannette DePoy and Rodney Ivey 113; Lee Rogers 64; Sheri Taylor, Laura Frey, and Lisa Webb 454.

Chairlady Sheri Taylor and Vice Chairman John Plunkett led 183 as the closing song. Eric Tweedy offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 1

Chairlady Sheri Taylor led 77t and 117 to bring the Sunday morning session to order. Chaplain Lonnie Rogers offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 52b, 297; Donna Duke 168, 63; Lonnie Rogers 186, 389; Sandra Wilkinson 405, 566; Lela Crowder 32t, 171; Lori Goode 217, 196; Stanley Edwards 425, 37b; Carlene Griffin 146, 511; Don Bowen 517, 527; Sherry Lovvorn 143, 373; Myron House 131t, 191; Teenie Moody 430, 384; Mickey Edwards 310, 452; Melinda Snow 47b, 475.


John Plunkett called the class to order leading 49t, followed by Matt Hinton leading 148 and 501.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jeanette DePoy and Lisa Webb. Lisa Webb read the list of deceased, and led 100 and 399 (t? b?) in their memory: Barbara DePoy, Willie Carolyn Denson, Estelle Flowers, G.L. Hinton, Sushila Peterson, Mark Ayers, Marie Sidel, Mozelle Shepherd, and Lloyd Tony.

Jeannette DePoy read the list of the sick and shut-ins, and Kiri Miller led 34t in their honor: Marcy Brock, Beau Caldwell, Lois DePoy, John Hocutt, Bobby Jackson, Preston McClendon, I.V. McWhorter, Dick Mauldin, Dean Slaton, Vi Stark, and Violet Thomason. Lonnie Rogers closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 573, 344; Mary L. Smith 283, 325; Andrew Snyder 528, 542; Alan Prickett 454, 274t.


The afternoon session was called to order by Vice Chairman John Plunkett leading 492. Leaders: Gene Duke 80b, 80t; Earlis McGraw 284, 225t; Alan Lambert 288, 294; Kiri Miller 436, 445; Rick Johnson 97, 395; Charlene Wallace, Kay Holley, and Joyce Holley 358, 503; David Fetcho 85, 136; Richard Mauldin 36b, 66; Patricia Temple 400, 335; Mary Wright 180, 324; Richard DeLong 319.


Sheri Taylor, Laura Frey, and Lisa Webb called the class together leading 178. Leaders: Megan Jennings 368; D.J. Hatfield 532; Susan Fetcho 203; Liz Bryant 272, 546; Laura Frey 163b, 142; Jeannette DePoy 385 (t? b?); Max Berueffy 386; Tommy McGraw 138t, 91; Lisa Webb 192, 133.

A move was made and seconded to go into a business session for the purpose of hearing various reports.

The Finance Committee reported a collection of $432; expenses of $60.00 for minutes; and the remaining funds will be given to Wilson’s Chapel.

The Resolutions Committee Report began with the reading of Psalms 96:1-2, “Sing to the Lord a new song; Sing to the Lord, all the earth. Sing to the Lord, praise His name; proclaim His salvation day after day.”

We resolve that we have met for the152nd session of the Chattahoochee Musical Convention on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August, 2004 to sing wonderful songs, hymns, odes, and anthems to our Lord who has richly blessed us with the treasure of Sacred Harp music, and the greatest of all nations that lets us meet without interference to sing and fellowship together. In honor of His greatness we submit the following resolutions:

  • To thank God for His divine inspiration to the composers of these tunes, the writers of the poetry, and those who have preserved this music and promoted its existence through their voices and leadership.
  • We also thank Matthew Wilson whose love and appreciation of Sacred Harp music gave him vision and foresight, and to the Wilson Family for their continued support of this vision, and the upkeep of the building.
  • We would acknowledge all that have given of their time, talents, and efforts to promote and support Sacred Harp music.
  • To thank each person in attendance these two special days who came from near and far.
  • We would thank those that prepared the bounteous feasts each day; those who came to listen; the officers, the committees, and all supporters.
  • To pray for our sick and shut-ins for healing and their swift return to our fellowship and this singing, and we extend our condolences to all those who have lost loved ones.
  • Lastly, we enter our continuing resolve to meet again the first Sunday and Saturday before in August, 2005.

This report is respectfully submitted by Lori Goode and Richard Mauldin, Resolutions Committee.

A motion was made and carried that the reports be accepted. The business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Sheri Taylor and John Plunkett led song 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Chaplain Lonnie Rogers.

Chairlady—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Donna Duke.