Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Richmond, Virginia

November 8-9, 2003

Saturday, November 8

The twelfth annual James River Convention was held on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November at the Varina Masonic Lodge in Richmond, Virginia.

The class was called to order by Blake Morris leading 274t. Sandra Hack Polaski offered the morning prayer. Sandra Hack Polaski led 354b; Mary Wright 145b; and Lois Badey 117.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Gail Doss; Vice Chairman—Blake Morris; Treasurer—Lois Badey; Secretary—Mary Wright; Chaplains—Sandra Hack Polaski, Don Polaski, Craig Baughan, and Henry Bizzell; Memorial—Kathy Manning; Arrangements—Stephen McMaster and Bev Oneida; Pitching—Blake Morris, Doron Henkin, John delRe, and John Feddersen; Kitchen—Pat Temple and Bev Oneida; Flyers and Forms—Judy North; Registration—Norma Morris.

Leaders: Pat Temple 318; Gail Doss 142; Brian Sears 217; Bev Oneida 362; Blake Morris 415; Kat Kinkade 277; Frank Evans 229; Stephen McMaster 171; Kelly Macklin 377; Elizabeth Cusick 178; Tom Ivey 146; Sue Hanson 209; Leyland delRe 297; Doron Henkin 192; Joan Aldridge 189; Don Polaski 351; Henry Bizzell 34b; John delRe 448b; D.J. Hatfield 296; Hal Kunkel 59; Kathy Manning 87.


The class was called together by Kelly Macklin leading 452. Leaders: Gail Doss 222; Dan Raessler 567 (led by Doron Henkin); Mary Wright 405; Lois Badey 159; Pat Temple 232; Sandra Hack Polaski 475; Brian Sears 313b; Bev Oneida 448t; Blake Morris 228; John Daniel delRe 180; Kat Kinkade 383; Frank Evans 191; Stephen McMaster 347; Kelly Macklin 408; Elizabeth Cusick 86; Leyland delRe 98; Tom Ivey 195; Don Polaski 477; Sue Hanson 473; Doron Henkin 94. Sandra Hack Polaski offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Gail Doss called the afternoon session together with 99. Leaders: John delRe 78; Kathy Manning 352; Henry Bizzell 127; Joan Aldridge 150; D.J. Hatfield 79; Hal Kunkel 550; Ina Henkin 160b; Gail Doss 124; Mary Wright 324; Lois Badey 148; Pat Temple 400; Sandra Hack Polaski 446; Brian Sears 267; Bev Oneida 266; Blake Morris 370; Frank Evans 38b; Stephen McMaster 112; Kelly Macklin 468; Elizabeth Cusick 481; Tom Ivey 84; Leyland delRe 172.


The singing resumed with Gail Doss leading 128. Leaders: Sue Hanson 332; Doron Henkin 300; Henry Bizzell 163b; Joan Aldridge 474; John delRe, Kelly Macklin, John Daniel delRe, and Leyland delRe 181; D.J. Hatfield 376; Hal Kunkel 302; Ina Henkin 398; Sandra Hack Polaski 455; Brian Sears 288; Kathy Manning 153; Don Polaski 436; Doron Henkin 573; Tom Ivey 186; Sue Hanson 203; John delRe 333; D.J. Hatfield 201; Stephen McMaster 282; Blake Morris 214.

Don Polaski dismissed the class with prayer.

A late afternoon session, organized by Blake Morris, featured new music and music from sources other than “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

Sunday, November 9

The Sunday session was called to order by Blake Morris leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Don Polaski.

Leaders: Mary Wright 421; Pat Temple 27; Guy Bankes 77b; Bev Oneida 284; Don Polaski 73b; Joan Aldridge 63; Tom Ivey 501; Sue Hanson 49t; Blake Morris 503; Mary Wright 108t; Pat Temple 566; Guy Bankes 556; Bev Oneida 547; Don Polaski 515; Lynda Hambourger 318; Frank Evans 284; Joan Aldridge 535; Tom Ivey 335; Craig Baughan 324; Sue Hanson 82 (t? b?); John Feddersen 378b; Gail Doss 212; Blake Morris 103; Guy Bankes 151.


Blake Morris brought the class together leading 141. Leaders: Kathy Manning 75; Hal Kunkel 224; Lynda Hambourger 348t; Frank Evans 269 (led by Blake Morris); Craig Baughan 390; John Feddersen 550; Joan Aldridge 546; Don Polaski 441; Tom Ivey 254; Sue Hanson 430; Gail Doss 162; Hal Kunkel 534; Bev Oneida 213 (t? b?); Mary Wright 510; Pat Temple 137; Guy Bankes 391; Lynda Hambourger 106; Frank Evans 110.

Kathy Manning conducted the memorial lesson. She discussed transitions in life, the links between mind and body and acceptance with grace, and then led 229 for the deceased. Those remembered were: Allie Aldridge, Lucille Burkes, and Elder Donald Smith—Alabama; Hugh Anderson—New York; Rosemary Johnson—Virginia; George Clements—Nova Scotia; Dorothy Blake—Canada.

Kathy Manning led 129 in honor of the sick and shut-ins: George Bryan, Carol Cauthorne, Miriam Kilmer, Judy Peery, Margaret Rennie, and Carole Vance—Virginia; Jane Roman and Martha Von Herman—Maryland; Marilyn Darch—California; Margaret Peckman—Florida. Craig Baughan concluded the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Craig Baughan 126; John Feddersen 477; Gail Doss 150; Hal Kunkel 500; Tom Ivey 504; Don Polaski 198; Sue Hanson 142; Bev Oneida 440; Mary Wright 42; Guy Bankes 65; Lynda Hambourger 302; Frank Evans 268; Kathy Manning 304.


The afternoon session was brought together by Blake Morris leading 35. Leaders: Hannah Polaski 299; Craig Baughan 178; John Feddersen 189; Gail Doss 505; Hal Kunkel 280; Tom Ivey 66; Pat Temple 220; Joan Aldridge 222; Don Polaski 480; Sue Hanson 497; Mary Wright 173; Guy Bankes 486; Lynda Hambourger 112; Frank Evans 344; Craig Baughan 347; John Feddersen 536; Pat Temple 323 (t? b?); Gail Doss 543; Blake Morris 442; Hal Kunkel 565; Tom Ivey 334; Don Polaski 454; Sue Hanson 163t; John Feddersen 236 (for George Tutwiler).

A business session was held for the purpose of hearing reports from various committees. The Treasurer’s report was given by Blake Morris.

Sue Hanson gave the Resolutions report thanking all of those without whom the convention would not have been a success. Thanks were extended to all officers and committees; those who made arrangements; pitching; who worked in the kitchen and those who brought food; who handled the flyers, forms, and registration; those who opened their homes to visitors; and thanks to God for the good weather, fine fellowship, and glorious music.

Announcements were made. The James River Convention will meet next year on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November (November 13-14, 2004).

Song on page 62, and a closing prayer concluded the convention.

Chairman—Gail Doss; Vice Chairman—Blake Morris; Secretary—Mary Wright.