Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

Coker United Methodist Church, San Antonio, Texas

February 23-24, 2019

Saturday, February 23

The 27th annual Texas State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Coker United Methodist Church in San Antonio, Texas. Don Ross called the class to order leading 171. Jeb Owen offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Michele Curran 33b; Tammy Powell 503; Jeb Owen 338; Robert Vaughn 153; Mike Hinton 61; Carter Cook 430; Janie Short 107; Riley Owen 176b; Ted Mercer 353; Vickie Cook 335; Earl Ballinger 177; Kristie Powell 442; Jackson Owen 186; Nicholas Thompson 436; Liz Owen 273; Abby Huckaby 99; David Brodeur 394; Michele Curran, Ellee Curran, and Abigail 146; Lisa Geist 228; Amber Davis 142; Silas Huckaby 218.


Don Ross called the class back together leading 274t. Leaders: Tom Owen 512; Lauren Owen 47b; Donna Sewell 63; Clarissa Fetrow 504; Gaylon Powell 448t; Hoss Curran 388; Larry Ballinger 448b; Reba Windom 542; Catherine Rogan 454; Andy Ditzler 354t; Ellen Ray 37b; Isaac Green 395; Lisa Matt 163b; Kevin Powell 200; Janet Morgan 76b; Leon Ballinger 313b; Diane Ross 524 (for Sarah Huckaby); Scott Curran 472; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Bill Bailey 121; Olivia Powell and Abby Huckaby 532; Gary Rogan 30b; Amy Peveto 129; Chris Nicholson 212; Linda Booker 569b; Gail Doss 270. The following committees were appointed: Memorial Committee—Janie Short, Carter Cook, and Linda Booker. Nominating Committee—Mike Hinton, Mary Ann Owen, and Amy Peveto. Chris Nicholson offered the noon prayer.


Don Ross called the class back to order leading 30t. Leaders: Jeb Owen 490; Ted Mercer 202; Vivian Rogan 215; Lori Rogers 112; Erin Zander 133; Riley Owen 31t; Nicholas Thompson 411; Robert Vaughn 545; Clarissa Fetrow 108b; Jackson Owen 155; Isaac Green 419; Lauren Owen, Abby Huckaby, and Olivia Powell 159; Earl Ballinger 439; Liz Owen 383; Larry Ballinger 528; Silas Huckaby 278b; Reba Windom 434; Ellen Ray 426b; Andy Ditzler 495; Michele Curran 269.

Don Ross gave some history on the Texas State Singing Convention in lieu of afternoon recess. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 110; Donna Sewell 312b; Bill Bailey 95; Gail Doss 178; Amy Peveto 168; David Brodeur 390; Lisa Geist 546; Janet Morgan 480; Gary Rogan 418; Kristie Powell 440; Chris Nicholson 473; Catherine Rogan 460; Kevin Powell 300; Linda Booker 452; Scott Curran 196; Diane Ross 455; Tom Owen 500; Carter Cook 117; Janie Short 344; Vickie Cook 365; Mike Hinton 373. Don Ross led 347 as the closing song. Sonny Huckaby offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, February 24

The Sunday session of the Texas State Convention was called to order by Don Ross leading 59. Amy Peveto offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Michele Curran 503; Tammy Powell 542; David Brodeur 400; Diane Ross 489 (for Sonny Erwin); Mike Hinton 527 (for Karen Rollins); Amber Davis 192; Claire Steinman 472; Bill Bailey 451; Annie Kinzer and Tammy Powell 274t; Linda Booker 494; Ted Mercer 275t; Ellen Ray 67; Mike Hinton and Mark Humphrey 373; Nicholas Thompson 189; Amy Peveto 36b; Andy Ditzler 235; Clarissa Fetrow 234; Larry Ballinger 540; Carter Cook 34b; Ellee Curran and Cheyenne Ivey 146.


Don Ross led 501 to bring the class together. Leaders: Tom Owen 481; Hoss Curran 388; Cheyenne Ivey 222; Janie Short 276; Chris Nicholson 162; Gail Doss 191; Vickie Cook 479; Isaac Green 488; Scott Curran 163b; Olivia Powell 236; Catherine Rogan 441; Reba Windom, Nicholas Thompson, and Tammy Powell 216; Lisa Geist 304.

A memorial lesson was held. Janie short said a few words. Carter Cook led 70t and read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Velton Chafin, Ottis Sides, Carolyn Thompson, Bea Aaron, Karen Rogers, Charlene Wallace, Karen Rollins, Norma Mincey, Judy Mincey, Concetta Branson, Sarah Huckaby, Sonny Erwin, Vivian Rogan, Curtis Owen, Myrl Jones, and Azalea Barnett.

Linda Booker led 490 and read the following list of names of the deceased: Lily Hopper, Glenda Hopper, Willodean Barton, and Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Louise Holland—Georgia; Jim Windson—Michigan; Jerald Peveto and Doug Webb—Texas. Mike Hinton offered the closing prayer for the memorial service.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 218; Earl Ballinger 217; Lisa Matt 290; Michele Curran and Abigail 354b; Kevin Powell 36t; Leon Ballinger 269; Kristie Powell 277; Kit Alderson 148; Clarissa Fetrow 285t; Claire Steinman 209; Amber Davis 224; Isaac Green 422; Gail Doss 66; Nicholas Thompson 120; Earl Ballinger 179; Don Ross 331. Bill Bailey offered the noon prayer.


Don Ross called the class back together leading 275b. Leaders: Carter Cook and the BBQ cooks 313b; David Brodeur 165; Ted Mercer 137; Ellen Ray 426t; Catherine Rogan 192; Andy Ditzler 193; Reba Windom 384; Michele Curran 95; Tom Owen 283; Lisa Matt 282; Bill Bailey 72b; Lori Rodgers 47t; Scott Curran 203; Kristie Powell 272; Kit Alderman 117; Kevin Powell 240; Chris Nicholson 63; Diane Ross 299; Olivia Powell and Hoss Curran 274t; Amy Peveto 377; Gaylon Powell 564; Becca Short 47b; Vickie Cook 46; Janie Short 280; Lori Rodgers, Donna Sewell, Janet Morgan, and Ellee Curran 31t.

A business meeting was held. The following officers were elected to serve for next year: Chairman—Michele Curran; Vice Chairman—Vickie Cook; Secretary—Tammy Powell. Announcements were made.

Don Ross, led 531 as the closing song. He offered the closing prayer, and class was dismissed.

Chairman—Don Ross; Vice Chairman—Michele Curran; Secretary—Tammy Powell