Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 8-9, 2014

Saturday, March 8

The 29th annual Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by Lisa Bulawski leading 31t. Marcus Whitman offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Lisa Bulawski; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Rebecca Browne, Gary Gronau, and Daniel Gray; Memorial Committee—Judy Mincey and Roberta Strauss. Song selections were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition and The Missouri Harmony, 2005.

Leaders: Daniel Gray 36b; Rebecca Browne 344; Ann Leckie 327; Shirley Figura 361; John Uhlemann 411; Elizabeth Schultz 28b; Anne Drexler 277; Presley Barker 505; Barbara Uhlemann 66; Roberta Strauss 441; Patti Sontag 127 (MH); Mary Huffman135 (MH); Jeff Burlison 106; Karen Isbell 75 (MH); Carla Bermudez 117; Marcus Whitman 448t; Pattie Doss 216.


Stephen Huffman called the class to order by leading 276. Leaders: Les Sontag 474; Cindy Burlison 203; Tommy Schultz 284; Rhonda Machlan 178; Nathan Zweig 318; Lori Graber 549; John Huffman 51 (MH); Tullaia Powell 209; Jo Dell Albi 501; LaMar Schlabach 335; Stephen Huffman 13 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 373; Bob Borcherding 137; Jubal Schultz 47b; John Hoerr 112.


Charlie Derleth led 99 to call the class together. Leaders: Bill Rintz 268; Jairus Schultz 40; Sam Kleinman 475; Jedidiah Schultz 503; Jonathan Smith 110; Micah Bechard 38b; Jeff Bell 406; Debra Barford 269; Daniel Bearden 126 (MH); Aura Lee Furgason 142; Bill Caldwell 138 (MH); Ann Sleeva 415; Cory Winters 300; John Seaton 180 (MH). Daniel Gray offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Lisa Bulawski called the next session together by leading 515. Leaders: Julie Vea 419; Matt Wells 500; Gail Doss 547; David Carlton 424; Judy Caudle 272; Jim Herr 222; Martha Beverly 377; David Ivey 481; Evelyn Lamb 89 (MH); Dave Barford 162 (MH); Angela Myers 383; Sheila Patterson 56b; Nate Green and Norma Green 400; Melanie Hauff 421; Robert Raymond 442; Judy Mincey 177 (MH); Anne Missavage 556; Rochelle Lodder 14 (MH); Karen Ivey and Judy Hauff 430.


Dan Brittain began this session by leading 133 (MH). Leaders: James Page 84 (MH); Clara Herr 565; Grace Patterson and Jim Patterson 324; Dan Brittain 446; Darrell Swarens 189; Bertha Buttner 146; Bill Beverly 546; David Casenhiser 496; Jim Crawford 569b; Ben Crawford 107; Ray Rechenberg 426b; Ted Mercer 71 (MH); Nick Pasqual 114 (MH); Jan Ketelle 448b; Evangeline Schultz 396; Gary Gronau 384; Gigi Flynn and kitchen crew 348b; Charlie Derleth 39t; Lisa Bulawski 282. Announcements were made. Tommy Schultz closed the day with a prayer.

Sunday, March 9

The Sunday session of the Missouri State Convention was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Lisa Bulawski leading 350. Marcus Whitman offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Daniel Gray 73b; Penny Kujawinski and Jaison Ashbaugh 172 (MH); Dave Ressler 29t; Hollie Powell 564; Paul Figura 127 (MH); Lincoln Richardson 313b; Anne Drexler 34b; Jubal Schultz 338; Lou Kujawinski 151 (MH); Wendy Hofmann 159 (MH); Janet Fraembs 217; Bob Borcherding 34t; Mary E. Yeomans 551; Les Sontag 13 (MH); Adam Andres 268; Henry Schuman 532; Beverly Rose Enright 28b; Karen Ivey 432.


Dan Gray led 63 to call the class back together. Leaders: Nick Pasqual 29 (MH); David Carlton 332; Bill Rintz 45 (MH); Anne Missavage 71; Judy Mincey 8 (MH); Darrell Swarens 507; David Ivey 19 (MH); Dan Brittain 175 (MH); Patti Sontag 86.


Evelyn Lamb began the next session of singing by leading 81t. Leaders: John Uhlemann 212; Bill Beverly 348t; Ray Rechenberg 277; Martha Beverly 171 (MH).

Judy Mincey and Roberta Strauss conducted the memorial lesson. Judy spoke and read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Bill Aplin, Ruth Daniels, Evelyn Harris, Hobert Ivey, Mike Nunn, S.T. Reed, Nellie Mae White, Betty Wright, Lloyd Caldwell, Daniel Cortez, B. M. Smith, Margie Smith, Berkley Moore, Dorothy Glauzer, David Rust, Jennifer Whitman, Sharon Kellam, Loraine Bayer, Joe Fothergill, Jeff Fyffe, Lora Benedetti, Johanna Fabke, Bob Scorgie, and Zdzislaw Grysko. Judy led 50b in their honor.

Roberta Strauss then read the following list of names of those deceased since the last convention: Tat Bailey, Lou Cotney, Bufrey Dean, Josie Hyde, Bud Oliver, Voncile Nall, Lessie Reed, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Genny Whitworth, C.T. Williams, Willard Wright—Alabama; Don Buswell—Arkansas; Helen Krumboltz and Carroll Lunsford—California; Eva Padgett—Florida; Reuben Ball, Nick Griffin, Carlene Griffin, and Teenie Moody—Georgia; Owen Doss and Harold Ramis—Illinois; Kelly Day—Indiana; Judy Dellanbach—Minnesota; Hugh Bill McGuire—Mississippi; Jim Hearne, Anna Mae Stone, Dave Markovitz, Agnes Markovitz, and Trebor Tichenor—Missouri; Diane Mennella, Pete Seeger, and Terry Yeomans—New York; Martha “Marky” Aden and Amy Caroline Walton Phillips—Ohio; Clayton Ezell—Tennessee; Somen Goodman and Cheryl Stroud—Quebec. Roberta read from “The Beautiful Land”, and made comments. She shared her memories of Clayton Ezell, Bud Oliver, and Jim Hearne. She led 498 in memory of the deceased, and closed the lesson with a prayer.

Singing then continued with Jo Dell Albi leading 139 (MH). Charlie Derleth, Karen Ivey, and David Ivey led 384. Presley Barker led 164 (MH), and offered the blessing before lunch.


Marcus Whitman led 124 (MH) to open the afternoon session. Leaders: Ted Mercer 189; Judy Caudle 187; Sam Kleinman 297; Ann Sleeva 66; David Casenhiser 59; Peggy Brayfield 152 (MH); Debra Barford 149; Jeff Bell 171; Jim Herr 122; Grace Patterson, Jim Patterson, and Sheila Patterson 278t; Cory Winters 159; Nate Green and Norma Green 568; Matt Wells 472; Evelyn Lamb 62 (MH); Gail Doss and Presley Barker 147 (MH); Angela Myers 436; James Page 81 (MH); Bill Caldwell 353; Aura Lee Furgason 236; Melanie Hauff 306; Jan Ketelle 368.


The final session began with Lisa Bulawski leading 299. Leaders: Rochelle Lodder 135 (MH); John Seaton 47t; Bertha Buttner 312b; Jim Crawford 569t; Clara Herr 49b; LaMar Schlabach 131b; Ben Crawford 155; Dave Barford 274t; Julie Vea 385t; Judy Hauff 148 (MH); Daniel Bearden 141 (MH); Karen Isbell and Rebecca Browne 276.

The Arranging Committee reported that eighty-eight songs were led on Saturday and seventy-four on Sunday, and that seventeen states were represented by singers at this convention. Announcements were made.

Anne Drexler offered the closing prayer, and the class sang 347.

Chairman—Lisa Bulawski; Secretary—Dave Ressler