Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

College Station, Texas

February 27-28, 2010

Saturday, February 27

The Texas State Convention was called to order by Crystal Meadows leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Sonny Huckaby.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin 171; Liz Owen 32t; Bruce Coates 37b; Baron Powers 268; Gary Rogan 308; Amanda Bowles 503; Tammy Powell 454; Ron Ryan 313t; Amanda Deardorff 270; Janie Short 269; Sonny Huckaby 472; Jo Pendleton 31t; Kevin Powell 442; Silas Huckaby 401; Tom Owen 477; Evelyn Lamb 456; Jonathan Pendleton 97; Linda Booker 490; Jeb Owen 542; Cheryl Foreman 180; Riley Owen and Jackson Owen 274t; Larry Hall 168.


The class was brought back together by Sonny Erwin leading 501. Leaders: Greg Bowles 36b; Owen Ross 380; Mike Hinton 532; Billy Huckaby 424; Lindsey Wiggins 528; Robert Vaughn 491; Diane Ross 133; Mike Moseley 406; Gaylon Powell 500; Leon Ballinger 327; Beverly Coates 504; Michele Rogan 47b; Tollie Lee 68b; Chloe Webb 35; Don Barker 82t; Reed Coates 492; Zach Rogan 159; Scott Curran 568; Donald Ross 499; Daniel Allcock 117. Tom Owen offered the noon prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Crystal Meadows leading 99. Leaders: Vivian Rogan 163b; Elizabeth Rollins 107; Evelyn Lamb 538; Robert Vaughn 224; Owen Ross 377; Jo Pendleton 34t; Sonny Huckaby 70b; Larry Hall 142; Ron Ryan 556; Daniel Allcock 126; Reed Coates 106; Olivia Powell 146; Chloe Webb 87; Mike Moseley 350; Jonathan Pendleton 354b; Amanda Deardorff 143; Bruce Coates 535; Baron Powers 79; Janie Short 480; Gary Rogan 299; Tammy Powell 189.


The class was brought to order by Sonny Erwin leading 441. Leaders: Amanda Bowles 285 (t? b?); Rick Foreman 289; Kayleigh Moseley 45t; Kevin Powell 200; Tom Owen 338; Linda Booker 147t; Cheryl Foreman 434; Jeb Owen 328; Mike Hinton 426b; Greg Bowles 34b; Lindsey Wiggins 569b; Tollie Lee 448b; Billy Huckaby 208; Diane Ross 523; Gaylon Powell 438; Beverly Coates 278 (t? b?); Crystal Meadows 288.

The closing prayer was offered by Owen Ross, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, February 28

Crystal Meadows called the singing to order by leading 34b. The morning prayer was offered by Kevin Powell.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin 66; Liz Owen 344; Leon Ballinger 195; Sarah Huckaby 460; Donald Ross 475; Vivian Rogan 341; Olivia Powell 148; Bruce Coates 150; Janie Short 183; Baron Powers 85; Silas Huckaby 146; Tollie Lee 33b; Gary Rogan 319; Scott Curran 481; Tammy Powell 217; Amanda Bowles 56b; Michele Rogan 178; Kevin Powell 29t; Tom Owen 309; Linda Booker 66; Zach Rogan 39t; Cheryl Foreman.


Sonny Erwin brought the class together leading 74b. Leaders: Jeb Owen 74b; Mike Hinton 373; Riley Owen 119; Greg Bowles 38b; Lindsey Wiggins 377; Diane Ross 497; Gaylon Powell 86; Beverly Coates 318; Leon Ballinger 99; Billy Huckaby 198; Donald Ross 546; Vivian Rogan 235; Olivia Powell 36b; Bruce Coates 143; Janie Short 312b; Sarah Huckaby 432.

A memorial lesson was held. Cheryl Foreman led 70t for the following sick and shut-ins: Lawson Smith, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Leland Owen, Doris Hanks, Xaris Martinez, Sallie Foreman, Dan Brittain, and Don Huckaby.

Mike Hinton led 527 for the following deceased: Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Martha Riley, Linda Henthorne, Odis “Dutch” Owen, Dick Steil, and Marjorie Russell—Texas; Cindy Kissee—Minnesota; Uel Freeman, Willie Mae Moon, and Thurman Nall—Alabama. Prayer was offered by Jeb Owen.

Leaders: Baron Powers 457; Tollie Lee 104; Gary Rogan 155; Scott Curran 30b; Amanda Bowles 129; Michele Rogan 507. The noon prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell.


Crystal Meadows opened the afternoon session by leading 384. Leaders: Tom Owen 347.

A business meeting was held, and Vice Chairman Sonny Erwin was promoted to Chairman, Sarah Huckaby was elected Vice Chairman, and Cheryl Foreman was elected as Secretary. The Treasurer’s report was read and accepted.

Leaders: Don Barker 145b; Zach Rogan 294; Cheryl Foreman 455; Jeb Owen and Liz Owen 273; Linda Booker 32t; Mike Hinton 340; Kevin Powell 376; Greg Bowles 348b; Tammy Powell 542; Lindsey Wiggins 216; Beverly Coates 448t; Gaylon Powell 513.


Announcements were made. Leaders: Billy Huckaby 400; Olivia Powell 236; Vivian Rogan 84; Bruce Coates 566; Janie Short 72b; Sarah Huckaby 500; Tollie Lee 30t; Gary Rogan 56t; Scott Curran 228; Amanda Bowles 47t; Michele Rogan 48b; Tom Owen 49b; Don Barker 354b; Zach Rogan 49t; Cheryl Foreman 354t.

The officers led 62 as the closing song. A closing prayer was offered, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Crystal Meadows; Vice Chairman—Sonny Erwin; Secretary/Treasurer—Liz Owen