Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention

Lakewood, Colorado

September 26-27, 2009

Saturday, September 26

The 20th session of the Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 565. The opening prayer was offered by Lance Lloyd.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Sharon Kermiet; Food oversight—Bonnie Dolan, Dani Lindholm, Judy Van Duzer; Hospitality Coordinator—Penny Thome; Registration and Signage—Wynonia Horn; Treasurer—Bill Howe; Arranging/Secretary—Paul Lindholm.

Leaders: David McPherson 59; Sally Gwylan 77t; Mary Lou Van Laanen 48t; Nancy Nortz 350; Pete Mathewson 480; Claire Singleton 405; John Schaffer 66; Mike Hinton 178; Bonnie Dolan 447; Carol Selleck 73t; Ginnie Ely 546; Kathryn Eastburn with her friend Ann 49t; Steve Kick 560; Isaac Lloyd 139; Eric Metzler 34b; Erik Mason 313b; Janie Short 328.


The class resumed singing with Steve Kick leading 32t. Leaders: Catie Van Duzer 354t; Sandy Klein 280; Corrie Van Duzer 179; Gaylon Powell 365; Karl Dise 380; Courtney Lawton and Corrie Van Duzer 479; Dani Lindholm 278t; Leon Ballinger 195; Marilyn Murata 277; Donald Klein 412; Elyssa Lloyd 535; Mia Alvarado 452; Sally Gwylan 216; Chris Kermiet 74b; David McPherson 421; Sharon Kermiet 327; Paul Lindholm 187; Mary Lou Van Laanen 564; Nancy Nortz 183; Pete Mathewson 501; Claire Singleton 82t; John Schaffer 143; Mike Hinton 146; Bonnie Dolan 296; Carol Selleck 68b; Ginnie Ely 313t; Kathryn Eastburn 84; Steve Kick 373; Isaac Lloyd 282.


The afternoon session was called to order by Karl Dise leading 29t. Leaders: Eric Metzler 107; Erick Mason 163b; Janie Short 192; Deborah Johnson 504; Catie Van Duzer 503; Sandy Klein 385b; Corrie Van Duzer 254; Gaylon Powell 240; Karl Dise 379; Toby Tenenbaum 362; Dani Lindholm 456; Leon Ballinger 269; Marilyn Murata 218; Donald Klein 556; Elyssa Lloyd 148; Mia Alvarado 147 (t? b?); Sally Gwylan 65; Judy Van Duzer 419; Sharon Kermiet 217; David McPherson 430; Paul Lindholm 115.


The class resumed singing with Mary Lou Van Laanen leading 474. Leaders: Nancy Nortz 71; Pete Mathewson 496; Claire Singleton 228; John Schaffer 515; Mike Hinton 527; Toby Tenenbaum 528; Bonnie Dolan 512; Carol Selleck 524; Ginnie Ely 454; Kathryn Eastburn 99; Isaac Lloyd 45t; Eric Metzler 86.

Sharon Kermiet led 276 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 27

The Sunday session of the Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 47t. John Schaffer gave a brief history of the beginnings of the Rocky Mountain Convention, including Hugh McGraw’s role in encouraging the convention. Sharon Kermiet led 549 in honor of Hugh McGraw.

Leaders: Erik Mason 315; Karl Dise 121; Judy Van Duzer 48t; Gaylon Powell 542; Steve Kick 475; Marilyn Murata 506; Donald Klein 344; Janie Short 168; Catie Van Duzer 147t; David McPherson 300; Sandy Klein 155; Sally Gwylan 334; Mallie Kermiet 189; Courtney Lawton 178; Corrie Van Duzer and John Van Duzer 107; Leon Ballinger 297; Carol Selleck 198; Ginnie Ely 196.


The class resumed singing with Gaylon Powell leading 119. Leaders: Susie Mathewson 145b; Claire Singleton 299; Bonnie Dolan 501; Kathryn Eastburn 47b; Mary Lou Van Laanen 150; Eric Metzler 106; Pete Mathewson 497; Nancy Nortz 547; John Schaffer 569b; Mike Hinton 340; Sharon Kermiet 162; Erik Mason 282; Marilyn Murata 492; Steve Kick 507; David McPherson 133.

Pete Mathewson conducted the memorial lesson. Sharon Kermit led 34t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Myra Palmer, Victoria Bolles, Fumie Murata, and Suzi Moto.

Carol Selleck led “Sweet Reunion”, by Mary Whitehurst, in memory of the following deceased: Paul King—Alabama; John Etheridge—Florida; Ophelia Matthews, Dutch Owen, Adele Reed, Dick Steil—Texas; William Reynolds—Tennessee; Jane Dise—North Carolina; Lois Barkey, Janie Corbill Briton—Colorado; Mary Barkey—Ohio; Enis Kelly—Oklahoma; Elder Gerald Hand, Nita Taylor—New Mexico; Mary Elizabeth Smith—Wyoming; Clara Redfield—Montana. Mike Hinton offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Mary Lou Van Laanen 540; Judy Van Duzer 193; Sally Gwylan 330b; Ginnie Ely 373; Sandy Klein 142; Courtney Lawton 209; Donald Klein 571; Janie Short 312b; Catie Van Duzer 288; Eric Metzler 85; John Schaffer 38b.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 27. Leaders: Paul Lindholm 426b; Toby Tenenbaum 31t; Carol Selleck 70b; Dani Lindholm 222; Karl Dise 320; Nancy Nortz 89; Chris Kermiet 33t; Corrie Van Duzer 273; Leon Ballinger 424; Bonnie Dolan 441; Claire Singleton 455; Deborah Johnson 277; Mike Hinton 532; Pete Mathewson 39t; Mary Lou Van Laanen 128.


The class resumed singing with Steve Kick leading 101t. Leaders: John Schaffer 236; Carol Selleck 425; Claire Singleton 270; David McPherson 440; Eric Metzler 159; Sally Gwylan 61; Nancy Nortz 122; Marilyn Murata 351; Leon Ballinger and Carol Selleck 329 (in memory of Elder Gerald Hand); Gaylon Powell 500; Janie Short 229; Mike Hinton 434; Toby Tenenbaum 131t; Ginnie Ely 349; Pete Mathewson 39b; Karl Dise 411; Judy Van Duzer and Catie Van Duzer 173; Catie Van Duzer 203; Corrie Van Duzer 535.

Sharon Kermiet led 267 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Sharon Kermiet; Arranging/Secretary—Paul Lindholm