Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

College Station, Texas

February 23-24, 2008

Saturday, February 23

The Texas State Convention was called to order by Kevin Powell leading 56t. The opening prayer was offered by Gary Rogan.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Kevin Powell; Vice Chairperson—Katie Mahoney; Secretary/Treasurer—Liz Owen.

Leaders: Kevin Powell 73b; Katie Mahoney 131b; Liz Owen 32t; Beverly Coates 460; Robert Vaughn 46; Chris Nicholson 63; Tom Owen 225t; Mike Moseley 350; Lela Crowder 171; Riley Owen 274t; Tammy Powell 454; Leon Ballinger 313b; Catherine Rogan 36b; Bill Bailey 37b; Sonny Erwin 480; Diane Ross 455; Sonny Huckaby 201; Gary Rogan 299; Don Barker 145b; Jonathan Pendleton and Stuart Ivey 354b; Donald Ross 456; Amanda Deardorff 143; Scott Curran 472; Evelyn Lamb 532; Olivia Powell 168.


The class was brought back together by Katie Mahoney leading 371. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 492; Bruce Coates 569t; Gaylon Powell 498; Vivian Rogan 163b; Jo Pendleton 24 (t? b?); Sarah Huckaby 183; Crystal Meadows 542; Ines Luttgen 142; Rich Lee 440; Amanda Owen 99; Anne Moseley 338; Larry Hall 315; Stuart Ivey 328; Alexa Gilmore 426b; Reed Coates 139; Janie Short 148; Jeb Owen and George Jones 30b; Robert Vaughn 383; Chris Nicholson 84. Mike Moseley offered the noon prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Kevin Powell leading 565. Leaders: Mike Moseley 284; Sonny Erwin 490; Evelyn Lamb 547; Cheryl Foreman 543; Jo Pendleton 72b; Crystal Meadows 481; Amanda Owen 503; Larry Hall 209; Janie Short 288; Sonny Huckaby 186; Reed Coates 273; Tom Owen 318; Lela Crowder 389; Beverly Coates 377; Tammy Powell 216; Leon Ballinger 217; Catherine Rogan 220; Bill Bailey 73t; Diane Ross 430; Gary Rogan 122; Don Barker 82t; Amanda Deardorff 128; Donald Ross 331.


The class was brought to order by Katie Mahoney leading 426t. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 491; Crystal Meadows 504; Evelyn Lamb 245; Chris Nicholson 178; Robert Vaughn 86; Mike Moseley 306; Reed Coates 65; Cheryl Foreman 475; Sonny Huckaby 332; Amanda Owen 39t; Larry Hall 162; Jo Pendleton 68b; Janie Short 47t; Jeb Owen 47b; Liz Owen 110; Gaylon Powell 380; Kevin Powell 39b.

The closing prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, February 24

Kevin Powell called the singing to order by leading 49b. The morning prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Kevin Powell 101t; Katie Mahoney 129; Liz Owen 283; Don Barker 452; Donald Ross 470; Olivia Powell 189; Alexa Gilmore 138b; Johanna Fabke 122; Jeb Owen 208; Bill Bailey 29b; Lela Crowder 203; Amanda Deardorff 270; Riley Owen 401; Bruce Coates 120; Catherine Rogan 182; Stuart Ivey 351; Linda Booker 490; Tom Owen 107; Sarah Huckaby 499; Gaylon Powell 538; Ines Luttgen 100; Mike Hinton 456; Beverly Coates 370; Gary Rogan 300.


Katie Mahoney brought the class together leading 89. Leaders: Tammy Powell 222; Rich Lee 181; Leon Ballinger 546; Scott Curran 384; Diane Ross 523; Vivian Rogan 535; Liz Owen 273; Lela Crowder 157; Amanda Deardorff 148; Jeb Owen 198; Johanna Fabke 163t; Bruce Coates 150; Stuart Ivey 200; Don Barker 59; Alexa Gilmore 58; Donald Ross 391; Linda Booker 34t; Bill Bailey 277; Tom Owen 500.

A memorial lesson was held. Amanda Deardorff led 76b for the following sick and shut-ins: Ophelia Matthews, Doris Hanks, Leland Owen, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Monnie Ross, Sylvia Ross, Myra Palmer, Myrl Jones, Junior Smith, Marie Smith, and Pauline Childers.

Donald Ross spoke about the people who sing sacred harp and how we are united as a family from all walks of life. Amanda Deardorff led 146 for the following deceased: Mary Ballinger, Charlie Vaughn, David Toller, Floyd Screws, Pete Baker-Texas; Amanda Denson Brady, LaRue Allen, Wilton Donaldson, and Richard Mauldin Sr.—Alabama; Jeannette Lowry—Missouri; and Minja Lausevic—Minnesota. Prayer was offered by Scott Curran.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 142 (for Myrl Jones); Ines Luttgen 302; Mike Hinton 436 (for Myra Palmer); Gary Rogan 448b; Rich Lee 410t; Sarah Huckaby 448t; Leon Ballinger 280; Scott Curran 112. Noon prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell.


Kevin Powell opened the afternoon session by leading 31t. Leaders: Beverly Coates 421 (for Billy Huckaby); Catherine Rogan 434; Tammy Powell 192; Vivian Rogan 282; Olivia Powell 137; Riley Owen 354b; Lela Crowder 145t; Stuart Ivey 196; Johanna Fabke 350.

The officers led 323t as the closing song. Closing prayer was offered by Jeb Owen, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kevin Powell; Vice Chairperson—Katie Mahoney; Secretary—Liz Owen