Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Singing Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 8-9, 2006

Saturday, July 8

The annual Cullman County Singing Convention was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 32t. Sam Sommers offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairlady—Jennifer Allred; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Arranging Committee—Rachel Allred. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Corene White 97; Jennifer Allred 430; Eldagene Roberson 142; Elizabeth Keeton 144; Ed Thacker 212; John Hyde 297; Will Kirby 282; Bridgett Hill 276; Marie Guthrie 25 (JB); Delone Cobbs 52t; John Merritt 240; Caleb Allred 124; Sandie Scott 231; Buell Cobb 425; Darrell Swarens 198; James M. Wagner and James S. Wagner 490; Robert Walker 84; Steve Adams 401; Roselynde Farless 378t; Henry Guthery III 392.


Jennifer Allred called the convention back to order leading 371. Leaders: Aubrey Hemminger 503; Wilton Donaldson 145b; Juanita Beasley 61; Karen Swenson 224; Leta Bledsoe 335; Seth Allred 30b; Sam Sommers 426b.


Glenn Keeton called the convention back to order leading 46. Glenn welcomed all the visitors and listeners to the convention, and asked the class to recognize those who had attended Camp FASOLA the previous week.

Leaders: Sonja Sipe and Garrett Sipe 77t; Gene Forbes 308; Mary Holcombe, Christie Holcombe, and Emily Holcombe 30t; Pamela Gilmore 192; Mike Thompson and Marlene Marshal 480, 159; Henry Johnson 230; Bea Carnathan 496; Uel Freeman 388; Jimmie Gilmore 68b; Glenn Keeton and Will Mezick 45t; Richard Mauldin and Dick Mauldin 358; Jesse Pearlman Karlsburg 217; Susan Allred and Zack Allred 399b; Blake Sisemore 186; Harrison Creel and Wanda Capps 512; Christy Hargrove 278b, 99; Bud Oliver 73t; Connie Stanton 171; Will Allred 87; Loyd Ivey 438; Aldo Ceresa 320; Charlotte McCarn 143; Marlin Beasley 318; David Roberson 34b; Amanda Denson and Margaret Keeton 328; Charles McCravey 176b; Gordon Wilkinson 434; Will Allred and Brenda Merritt 274t; Butch White 31t; Geraldine Sharpton 66; Kermit Adams 288; Oleta Stuart and Juanita Newman 405; Scott Kennedy 163b; Betty Shavers 454; Hugh B. McGuire 445; David Carlton 216; Charles McCravey 28b; Terry Barber 87; Bridgett Hill 128; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 34b; Clayton Ezell 30b; Josie Hyde 503.

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton and Jennifer Allred led 296 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, July 9

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Singing Convention was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 59. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 278t; Jennifer Allred 391; Eldagene Roberson 138t, 139; Rachel Allred 106, 215; John Plunkett 467, 499; Tyler Newman 119; Ruth Wyers 206, 490; Bea Carnathan 354b, 145t; Henry Guthery III 530, 434; Elizabeth Keeton 535, 504; Bill Hogan 48t, 220; Samantha Spiller 384, 146; Milton Oliver 321, 314; Guy Bankes 189, 193; Corene White 379; Corene White and Henry Guthery 37b; Brenda Merritt 568, 542.


Jennifer Allred called the class back to order leading 349. Leaders: Sarah Smith 406; Charlotte McCarn 30t, Wanda Capps and Richard Mauldin 124; Sonja Sipe and Garrett Sipe 274t, 68b; Marlin Beasley 171, 324; James M. Wagner 323b, 275t (for Amanda Denson); Linda Thomas 123t; John Hyde 313t; 43.


Glenn Keeton called the afternoon session to order leading 117. David Knight, a local attorney, welcomed all who had attended the convention. Leaders: Clarence McCool 77t, 203; Aaron Wooten 39t, 480; Larry Ballinger 98, 163b; Judy Caudle 272, 191; Harrison Creel 342, 111b; Marie Guthrie 411, 402; John Merritt and Caleb Allred 392 (CB), “Maitland”; Susan Allred 457, 183; Bud Oliver 343, 345t; Kermit Adams 196, 99; Lisa Geist 304; Travis Keeton 388, 73t; Elene Stovall 182, 430; Gary Smith 225t, 565; Seth Allred 72b, 440.


Jennifer Allred and George Baggett led 29t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Adam Hale, Seth Allred, and grandfather, Kenneth Fannin 87; Billy Thompson 335; Hugh B. McGuire 528, Wilton Donaldson 229; Terry Humphries 282; Manila Hudson 358; Gennie Nelms 446; Velton Chafin 463; Michael Thompson 81t; Terry Barber 29t; Amanda Denson, David Knight, and Elene Stovall 273; Robert Walker 477; James S. Wagner 34b; Billy Williams 445; Billy Williams and Glenn Keeton 294.

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton and Jennifer Allred led 269 as the closing song. John Merritt dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairlady—Jennifer Allred; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.