Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama

August 27-28, 2005

Saturday, August 27

The one hundred-second session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August at Pine Grove Church near Collinsville, Alabama. The class was called to order by Bud Oliver leading 32t. Wayne Reed offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 82t; S.T. Reed 85; Milton Oliver 314; Randall Smith and Ansley Whitaker 76b; Wayne Reed 59; Henry Johnson 390; Boyd Scott 58; Robert Chambless 452; Mary Wright 154; Stanley Edwards 42; Ernestine Pipkin 171; Jerry Enright 300; Nate Green and Norma Green 176b; James S. Wagner 124.


The class was brought back to order by Bud Oliver leading 145b; Shane Wootten 345b.

A business session was held for the purpose of electing officers. The following were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith; Arranging Committee—Bud Oliver and Wayne Reed; Memorial Committee—Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Hubert Nall 212; Sandra Wilkinson 186; Becky Browne 362; David Carlton 272; Martha Johnson 532; Dave Richardson 473; Ron Harper 77t; Liz Meitzler 148; Richard Ivey 411; Aubrey Barfield 200; Bob Parr 224; Drew Smith 56b; Karen Freund 440; Eunice Webb 436; Jennifer Allred 426b; Daphene Causey, April DuPriest, and Sharon DuPriest 434; Rebecca Edwards 105.


The class resumed singing with Rodney Ivey leading 67. Leaders: Laura Clawson 542; Sharon DuPriest 189; Karen Swenson 442; Syble Adams 448t; Jackson Harcrow 47b; Flarce Creel, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner 475; James M. Wagner 101t; Linda Shea 168; Buell Cobb 69b; J.C. Smith and Bud Oliver 282; Blake Sisemore 113; Glenn Keeton “Joshua”; Linton Ballinger, Lomax Ballinger, and Jimmy Ballinger 142; LaRue Allen 328; Marlon Wootten 201; Loyd Ivey 340; Evelyn Harris 47t; the class sang “Happy Birthday” to Evelyn Harris.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Bud Oliver leading 170. Leaders: Stuart Ivey 183; John Plunkett 131b; Judith Green 384; Betty Wright 410t; Samuel Sommers 386; Cheyenne Ivey and Jessica Ivey 354b; Judy Caudle 94; Andy Anderson 137; Mel Kersey 354t; Jenna Strizak 335; Brittany Lea 63; Charlene Wallace 392; Bob Simmons 229; Allison Ivey 215; Wayne Jones 36b; Lynne deBenedette 430; Judy Chambless 157; Dana Borrelli 29t; Doug Conn 35.


Henry Johnson led 406 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Sand Mountain boys—Blake Sisemore, Jackson Harcrow, Drew Smith, Aaron Wootten, and Travis Peek 74b; Andy Morse 280; Jeff Adcock 72b; J.L. Hopper 187; Elene Stovall 182; Reba Windom and Pam Nunn 192; Jeannette DePoy 101b; Tim Jones 565; Gary Gronau 112; David Ivey 298; Paul Figura 501; Jeff Sheppard 468; Pat Temple 195; Michael Thompson 424; Martha Johnson and Johnny Johnson 270.

Announcements were made. Bud Oliver led 46 as the closing song. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 28

Bud Oliver called the class to order leading 32t. Wayne Reed offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 36b; S.T. Reed 82t; Alanna Blanks and Milton Oliver 176t; Amber Davis 142; Michael Thompson 163b; LaRue Allen 222; Hubert Nall 217; Linda Sides 277; Chris Ballinger 339; Liz Meitzler 319; Blake Sisemore 230; Bridgett Hill 133; Robert Walker 510; Rex Wilks 480; Gravis Ballinger 112; Eloise Wootten 186; Bobby Watkins 448t; Jackie Tanner 101t.


The class resumed singing with Bud Oliver leading 73t. Leaders: Dennis George 318; Larry Brasher 332; Joan Aldridge 228; Ed Thacker 556; Scott Ivey 460; Pam Wilkerson and Carie Ann Wilkerson 159; Berk Meitzler, Liz Meitzler, and Aliva Taylor 496; Brittany Lea 313t; Jackson Harcrow 76b; Phil Summerlin 270; David Light 200; Mary Wright 180.


Milton Oliver brought the class to order leading 48t. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 568; Alanna Blanks, Paula Oliver, Bryant Beard, and Arleigh Beard 405; Randall Smith and Ansley Whitaker 501 (CB); Mark Carroll 282; Pat Temple 373; Stanley Edwards 129; Judy Chambless 490; Nate Green and Norma Green 84; Mel Kersey 523; Brenda Carroll 299; Paul Figura 146; Daphene Causey and April DuPriest 269; Karen Swenson 344; Jennifer Allred 500; Larry Ballinger 215; Henry Johnson 111t.


Bud Oliver led 39t to bring the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Jessica Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 354b; Jackson Harcrow and Blake Sisemore 59; Lela Crowder 542; Samuel Sommers 528.

Henry Johnson conducted the memorial lesson and led 425 for the deceased and sick and shut-ins. The following deceased were remembered: Kelly Beard—Texas; Jap Walton, Ivalene Donaldson, John Hocutt, Hershell King, Ronnie Meadows, Gerald Wootten, Floyd Peters, and Russell Smith—Alabama; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Al Frank—Illinois; Phil Alderman—Missouri; Laurette Elizabeth Wojcik—Vermont; Bill Jordan and Effie Windom—Michigan; Darlene McDonough—Minnesota; Tom Gibney—New Jersey; Burkhardt Josh—Germany.

The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Jeanette Lowry—Missouri; Sherrie Edwards and Janice Hughes—Georgia; Kat Kincaid—Virginia; Bill Thomas and Delene Thomas—Tennessee; Regina Pigeon—Massachusetts; Homer Whitworth, Bill Green, Beufa Green, Sharon Wootten, Edith Tate, Shelbie Sheppard, Lam Townson, and Aunt Bob Greeson—Alabama. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Jerry Enright 77t; Rebecca Edwards 114; Rodney Ivey and Jackie Tanner 30b; Jenna Strizak 564; Cindy Tanner 436; Lynne deBenedette 220; Ken Tate 56t; Laura Clawson 203; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 273; Reba Windom 216; Karen Freund 302; Coy Ivey 486t (WB); Judy Caudle 456; Elene Stovall and Coy Ivey 384; Gary Gronau 163t; Bob Parr 304; Becky Browne 99; Linda Shea 274t; Dave Richardson 278t; Dana Borrelli 87.


The class was called back to order by Jerry Enright leading 312b. Leaders: Allison Ivey 495; Lisa Geist 532; Wilton Donaldson 30t; Chita Blakeley 378t; Kyle Blakeley and Waylon Blakeley 37t; Charles Stiefel and Melvin Stiefel 47b; Hobert Ivey and Jessica Ivey 47t; Verlon Stiefel and Mary Ruth Stiefel 288.

Announcements were made. The convention wishes to thank all who helped in any way to make the singing possible, and extended an invitation to come back again next year. Bud Oliver, S.T. Reed, Wayne Reed, Milton Oliver, Scot Oliver, and Randall Smith led 146 as the closing song while those who wished took the parting hand. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith.