Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention

Tijeras, New Mexico

September 21-22, 2002

Saturday, September 21

The thirteenth session of the Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention was held in Tijeras, New Mexico on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in September. John Schaffer called the class to order and led song on page 31t. Daniel Davis offered the opening prayer.

Thanks were extended to Eric Morgan for the excellent job he did in teaching the singing school on Friday night.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David McPherson; Vice Chairman/Treasurer—Juliette Cunico; Secretary—Kay Sirco; Arranging Committee—Harlan Van Camp, Claire Singleton, Sally Gwylan, Allan Stavely, Ed Stevens, Kay Sirco, Marilyn Murata, Larry Matlock, and Daniel Davis; Chaplain—Daniel Davis; Memorial Committee—Carol Selleck; Resolutions Committee—John Schaffer.

Leaders: Mary Lou VanLaanen 515, 540; David McPherson 430, 282; Juliette Cunico 312b; Daniel Davis 300; Kay Sirco 143; Liz Bryant 475; Leon Ballinger 195; Shelbie Sheppard 183; Bob Goodman 551; Kshama Ananthapura 318; Norma Ruptier 479; Marilyn Murata 415; Jeff Sheppard 186; Carol Strayhorn 77t; LaRue Allen 426b; Harlan Van Camp 46.


The class was reassembled, and the following leaders were called: Sally Gwylan 106; Daniel Davis “La Luz”; Mike Hinton 373; Jeanne Schaffer 66; Donna Hand Sewell 171; Andrew Snyder 216; Janet Morgan 32t; Johanna Fabke 378b; Allan Stavely 64; Linda Shea 384; Eric Morgan 448t; Floy Wilder 142; Carol Selleck 75; Larry Matlock 71; Ed Stevens 294; Nancy Costeau 107; Daniel Davis and Linda Shortridge 91; John Schaffer 174; Mary Lou VanLaanen 454; Liz Bryant 542; Leon Ballinger 452; Shelbie Sheppard 105 (for the Roy Nelson family); Bob Goodman 34b; Kshama Ananthapura 340; David McPherson 128. Leon Ballinger offered prayer for the noon meal.


Sally Gwylan brought the afternoon session to order and led song on page 102. Leaders: Claire Singleton 178; Eric Morgan 567; Harlan Van Camp 86; Johanna Fabke 236; Norma Ruptier 148; Nancy Costeau 65; Jeff Sheppard 200 (for Rene Greene); Ed Stevens 417; Carol Strayhorn 35; LaRue Allen 222; Larry Matlock 59; Mike Hinton 146; Jeanne Schaffer 198; Donna Sewell 63; Juliette Cunico 332; Andrew Snyder 455.


Eric Morgan brought the class back to order and led song on page 145t. Leaders: Daniel Davis “Zia”; Linda Shea 203; Kay Sirco 480; Janet Morgan 400; Floy Wilder 224; Allen Stavely 58; Carol Selleck 56b; Carter Clary 535; Leon Ballinger 120; Jeff Sheppard 192 (for Pam Nunn); LaRue Allen 217; Harlan Van Camp 547; Shelbie Sheppard 556; Leighanna Sewell 401; Mike Hinton 448b; Carter Clary 452; Floy Wilder 297; David McPherson 214; Kshama Ananthapura 270; Norma Ruptier 84; Bob Goodman 99; Mary Lou VanLaanen 68b; Liz Bryant 347; John Schaffer 350.

Announcements were made, and Daniel Davis dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, September 22

David McPherson brought the class to order and led song on page 168. Daniel Davis offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Claire Singleton 155; Allan Stavely 61; Jeanne Schaffer 49b; Marilyn Murata 145b; Nancy Consteau 369; Johanna Fabke 475; Carol Strayhorn 58; Linda Shea 457; LaRue Allen 441; Kshama Ananthapura 445; Shelbie Sheppard 440; Leon Ballinger 269; Jeff Sheppard 217; Liz Bryant 172; Mike Hinton 347; David McPherson 133; Norma Ruptier 72b; Sally Gwylan 114; Floy Wilder 383; Eric Morgan 324.


Ed Stevens brought the class back to order and led song on page 40. Leaders: John Schaffer 150; Bob Goodman 36b; Andrew Snyder 299; Janet Morgan 82 (t? b?); Juliette Cunico 128; Carol Selleck 70t; Larry Matlock 135, 163b.

Carol Selleck conducted the memorial lesson and asked that the memorial be opened with prayer led by Chaplain Daniel Davis. Carol Selleck offered a very moving memorial, and shared her thoughts and comments about Sacred Harp Singers being a “family” whose religious beliefs are so diverse. She pointed out that our families have scattered out to different sections of the country, buried at different locations, but we are still joined together as a “family.” She spoke of comments made by Richard DeLong and of a 97 years old man at the Chattahoochee Convention, and what an impact those comments made on her.

Claire Singleton read the list of the sick and shut-ins. Leon Ballinger and Mike Hinton led song on page 480 especially for B.E. and Ophelia Matthews who were listed as sick.

Claire Singleton read the list of the deceased, and Allan Stavely led song on page 47b in their memory. Daniel Davis closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Kay Sirco 385b; Linda Shea 89; Claire Singleton 86; Marilyn Murata 411; Kshama Ananthapura 379; Shelbie Sheppard 385t; Eric Morgan 70b; Jeanne Schaffer 569b; Bob Goodman 497; David McPherson 163t.


Ed Stevens brought the afternoon session to order and led song on page 87. Leaders: John Schaffer 344; Leon Ballinger 490; Carol Strayhorn 39t; Juliette Cunico 277; Johanna Fabke 273; Anita Sanders 528; Andrew Snyder 504; Allan Stavely 112; Jeff Sheppard 224; Carol Selleck 460; Ed Stevens 323b; Floy Wilder 432; Sally Gwylan 32b; LaRue Allen 215; Kay Sirco 300; Mike Hinton 288; Liz Bryant 546; Janet Morgan 400; Larry Matlock 334; Claire Singleton “Ojo Caliente”; Linda Shea 406.


The class was called back to order and the following leaders were called: Claire Singleton 228; Marilyn Murata 456; Kshama Ananthapura 182; Shelbie Sheppard 418; Eric Morgan 319; Jeanne Schaffer 339; Bob Goodman 354b; David McPherson 189; Juliette Cunico 268; Anita Sanders 66; Andrew Snyder 117; Allan Stavely 341; Jeff Sheppard 225t; Carol Selleck 229; Ed Stevens 209.

A business session was held for the purpose of hearing reports from various committees.

The Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention will be held in Colorado next year. The place and time will be announced at a later date.

Announcements were made. David McPherson led song on page 62 as the closing song, Eric Morgan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David McPherson; Secretary—Kay Sirco.