Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention

Rock Springs, Georgia

March 21-22, 2009

Saturday, March 21

The 48th session of the Georgia State Convention was held at the Walker County Civic Center Complex the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March. The convention was called to order by Richard DeLong leading 60. The morning prayer was offered by Joel Jenkins. Richard DeLong led 57.

Leaders: Phillip Langley 32t; Sarah Jenkins 30b; Charlene Wallace 171; Lela Crowder 82t; Scott DePoy 277; Michael Thompson 318; Jeannette DePoy 47t; Karen Rollins 327; Blake Sisemore 142; Henry Johnson 69t; Jennie Brown 317; Jeff Sheppard 250; Phil Summerlin 64; Julietta Haynes 430; B.M. Smith 273.


The class was called together by Richard DeLong leading 135. Leaders: Nate Green and Norma Green 43: Michael Walker 322; Gail Doss 217; Bud Oliver 145t; Pat Temple 72b; Judy Mincey 538; Deidra Montgomery 548; Loyd Ivey 560; Holly Mixon 388; Julian Damashek 192; Joyce Walton 439.

A business session was held with the following officers and committee members elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sarah Jenkins; Vice Chairman—Michael Thompson; Secretary/Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Joel Jenkins; Arranging Committee—Richard DeLong, Nathan Rees; Memorial Committee—Jonathan Smith, Jenna Strizak; Resolutions Committee—Ben Bath, Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Kelsey Sunderland; Locating Committee—Phillip Langley, Oscar McGuire, John Plunkett; Finance Committee—Stanley Edwards, Bentley McGuire.


Sarah Jenkins called the class together leading 203. Leaders: Jackson Harcrow 348t; Reba Windom 328; Shane Wootten and Marlon Wootten 448t; Roberta Strauss 112; Kelsey Sunderland 422; Judy Chambless 129; Lauren Bock 131b; Dave Richardson 80b; Mary Wright 35; Jeff Breting 47t; Tim Russell 565; Andy Morse 313b; Mary Gowins 224; Stanley Edwards 436; Charles Woods 483; Tim Reynolds 571; David Carlton 278b; Sandie Scott 46; Ron Harper 168; Kelly Smith 288; Jeremy Shipp 210; Sandra Wilkinson 482; Oscar McGuire 573; Linton Ballinger 144; Irene Lawrence 442; Karen Clark 234.


The afternoon session was called together by Joel Jenkins and Rodney Ivey leading 77t. Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 389; Darlene Dalton and Molly Ellis 454; Leyland delRe 542; Ben Bath 421; Bridgett Hill 522; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 521; Cassie Allen 383; Steve Kick 270; David Ivey 528; Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas 492; Michael Thompson and Bill Murchison 182; Judy Caudle 500; Ted Mercer 296; Jonathan Smith 189; Karen Ivey 283; Don Clark 174; Eddie Mash 377; Shelbie Sheppard 245; Sharon DuPriest 186; Bill Hogan 220.


Sarah Jenkins and Susan Harcrow called the class together leading 218. Leaders: Joel Jenkins, Shane Wootten, and Maurice Laster 45t; Max Berueffy and Karin Covi 164; Daphene Causey 236; Steve Hoyt 68b; Jenna Strizak 274t; Bentley McGuire 240; Kevin Lawrence 114; Floy Wilder 120; Betty Wright 97; Robert Chambless 84; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 433; Rosemarie Yntema 183; Duane Chesney and Daryl Chesney 503; Pierce Phillips 49b; Coy Ivey and Carol Mears 384; Nathan Rees 56t.

Announcements were made. Michael Thompson, Sarah Jenkins, and Joel Jenkins led 45b as the closing song. Joel Jenkins offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, March 22

The Sunday session of the convention was called to order by Sarah Jenkins leading 101t. The morning prayer was offered by Joel Jenkins.

Leaders: Sarah Jenkins 37b; Michael Thompson 59; Charlene Wallace 63; Shannon Primm 410b; Jeremy Shipp 448b; Malinda Snow 472; Robert Chambliss 354t; Judy Mincey 468; John Plunkett 227; Jeannette DePoy 392 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Judy Chambless 501; Matt Hinton 27; Jane Spencer 32b; Gail Doss 79; Bud Oliver 421; Rachael Rudy 521; Eddie Mash 193; David Ivey 502; Linda Sides 328; Bentley McGuire 505; Sandie Scott and Charlene Wallace 77b; Loyd Ivey and Sarah Jenkins 424; Marilyn Burchett 551.


Nathan Rees called the class back together leading 72b. Leaders: Molly Ellis and Jenna Strizak 67; B.M. Smith 284; Jackie Tanner 73t; Mary Wright 446; Nate Green and Norma Green 403; Karen Ivey 440; Stanley Edwards and Marilyn Bradley 340; Cheyenne Ivey and Jessica Ivey 82t; Holly Mixon 99; Steve Kick 208; Shelbie Sheppard 269; Ted Mercer 202; Sharon DuPriest 216; Judy Caudle 507. Sarah Jenkins introduced visitors from Paste Magazine, who were videotaping the singing, and led 142.

Jonathan Smith and Jenna Strizak conducted the memorial lesson. Jonathon Smith led 54 for the following sick and shut-ins: Violet Thomason, Frank Block, Louis Hughes, Margaret DeBolt, Eugene Forbes, Harrison Creel, Vel Freeman, Jane Bruner, Paul Figura, and Bill Ellason.

Jenna Strizak spoke and led 176t for the following deceased: Myrtle Smith, Lee Rogers—Georgia; Mattie Townsel, Frank Hataway, Milton Oliver, Allen Rosser—Alabama; John Etheridge—Florida; Pauline Childers—Michigan. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Bridgett Hill 504; Steve Hoyt 335; Pat Temple 34b; Ben Bath 362; Jeff Breting 106; Scott DePoy 179.


The afternoon session was called together by Shane Wootten and Joel Jenkins leading 496. Leaders: Terry Wootten and Linda Thomas 47t; Donna Wootten 314; Dave Richardson 473; Oscar McGuire 344; Dennis George 215; Joyce Walton 456; Lauren Bock 398; Michael Thompson 56b; Kathy Williams 180; Shane Wootten and Eloise Wootten 411; Kelsey Sunderland 197; Jeff Sheppard 439; Mary Gowins 300; Reba Windom 546; Julian Damashek 290; Cindy Tanner 436; Deidra Montgomery 146; Rodney Ivey 534; Henry Johnson 113; Jennie Brown 426b; David Lee 77t; Elene Stovall 564; Joel Jenkins and Sarah Jenkins 542; Mary Gowins and Abbey Minor 129; Daphene Causey 434; Phil Summerlin 350; Jordan Ratliff and Jackson Harcrow 448t; Jeff Breting 448b; Laura Akerman 532; Eschol Hughes 162; Erica Hinton and Josh Jackson 157; Susan Harcrow 230; Coy Ivey 486t (WB).

The convention went into a business session to hear reports from the various committees. The Finance Report was given by Charlene Wallace. The Resolutions Committee (Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Kelsey Sunderland, and Benjamin Bath) submitted their report that thanked everyone involved in making this a successful convention. The Locating Committee (Phillip Langley, Oscar McGuire, and John Plunkett) reported that the 2010 session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention will be held at Sweetwater Chapel in Lawrenceville, Georgia. All reports were approved as given. Announcements were made, and the business session was closed.

Sarah Jenkins, Joel Jenkins, and Michael Thompson led 62 as the closing song. Joel Jenkins offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Sarah Jenkins; Vice Chairman—Michael Thompson; Secretary/ Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder