Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Sacred Harp Convention

First Congregational Church, Ithaca, New York

October 18-19, 2008

Saturday, October 18

The 20th annual New York State Sacred Harp Convention was held at the First Congregational Church of Ithaca, Ithaca, New York, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Eric Bean called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 48t. George Seiler offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eric Bean; Assistant Chairperson—Ginny Huszagh; Secretaries—Thom Metzger, Eileen Metzger, Lucy Roberts, Sue Hengelsberg; Treasurer—Jennifer Cook.

Leaders: Scott Luscombe 291; Dan Hertzler 218; Lucy Roberts 105; Dennis Leipold 107; Guy Bankes 77b; Evelyn Lamb 328; Jim Ulrich 191; Bob Wheeler 171; Laura Densmore 101b; Ted Mercer 202; Thom Metzger 522; Sue Ulrich 474; George Seiler 159; Anne Kazlauskas 479; Jean Seiler 217; Melody Johnson 33b; Michael Heyerman 163t.


Eileen Metzger called the class back together leading 39b. Leaders: Sue Hengelsberg 282; Ian McGuliam 186; James Nugent 388; Joanne Fuller 129; Anna Nowogrodzki 318; Cuba Ray 68b; Jesse Karlsberg 436; Lauren Bock 112; Chris Haller 335; Ginny Huszagh 276; Scott Luscombe 195; Eric Bean 178; Dan Hertzler 556; Lucy Roberts 101t; Dennis Leipold 270; Evelyn Lamb 505; Thom Metzger 387; Jean Seiler 236; Jim Ulrich 273; Guy Bankes 384; Bob Wheeler 532; Sue Ulrich 198; Anna Nowogrodzki 179; Ted Mercer 36b; Ian McGuliam 215; Anne Kazlauskas 77t; Melody Johnson 315; Joanne Fuller 111b; Michael Heyerman 200; Sue Hengelsberg 504; James Nugent 274t; Lauren Bock 57. George Seiler offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was reconvened by Bob Wheeler leading 40. Leaders: Eileen Metzger 421; Cuba Ray 503; Jesse Karlsberg 428; Chris Haller 142; Laura Densmore 157; Scott Luscombe 430; Ginny Huszagh 189; Dan Hertzler 528; Eric Bean 285t; Lucy Roberts 448t; Evelyn Lamb 30b; Dennis Leipold 31t; Jean Seiler 454; Ted Mercer 521; Jim Ulrich 551; Thom Metzger 362; James Nugent 457; Guy Bankes 550; Bob Wheeler 268; Juanita Heyerman 70b.


James Nugent called the class back together leading 59. Leaders: Sue Ulrich 569t; Anne Kazlauskas 304; Sheila Nugent 455; Laura Densmore 333; Joanne Fuller 426 (t? b?); Chris Haller 254; Cuba Ray 86; Denise Morris 287; George Seiler 501; Melody Johnson 340; Michael Heyerman 43; Lauren Bock 155; Sue Hengelsberg 175; Scott Luscombe 481; Ginny Huszagh 122; Dan Hertzler 332; Eric Bean 324; Lucy Roberts 47t; Evelyn Lamb 542; Denise Morris 250; Dennis Leipold 89; Jean Seiler 299.

Announcements were made. The Secretary announced the number of singers attending from nine states and one province as follows: New York—39; Pennsylvania—3; Vermont—1; Virginia—2; Texas—1; California—1; Massachusetts—2; Illinois—1; North Carolina—1; Ontario—3.

The last session of the afternoon was called to order by Eric Bean leading 38t. Leaders: Thom Metzger 203; James Nugent 355; Guy Bankes 569b; Bob Wheeler 183; Juanita Heyerman 410t; Sheila Nugent 146; Laura Densmore 365; Joanne Fuller 131 (t? b?); Chris Haller 497; George Seiler 347; Melody Johnson 547; Michael Heyerman 440; Lauren Bock 442; Sue Hengelsberg 294; Eileen Metzger 30t; Jesse Karlsberg 435; Fred Henson 117; Scott Luscombe 284. George Seiler said grace for the evening meal.


The singing for the last session of the day resumed with Dennis Leipold leading 114. Leaders: Scott Luscombe “Invitation”; Bob Wheeler 228; Denise Morris 143; Melody Johnson 95; Ginny Huszagh 29t; Kathy Collett 84; Sue Hengelsberg “Millbrook” (EH1); Scott Luscombe 415; Dennis Leipold 405; Michael Heyerman 188; Anne Kazlauskas 327; George Seiler 473; Bob Wheeler 452; Juanita Heyerman 472; Lucy Roberts 495; Melody Johnson 478; James Nugent 346; Joanne Fuller 168; Mary Skidmore 105; Jesse Karlsberg 275t; Lauren Bock 48b; Sheila Nugent 245; Laura Densmore 501; Ginny Huszagh 268; Sheila Nugent 24b; Kathy Collett 547; Sue Hengelsberg 496; Anne Kazlauskas 36b; James Nugent 209; Mary Skidmore 178. Jesse Karlsberg led 549 as the last lesson of the evening, and the class was dismissed for the night.

Sunday, October 19

The Sunday session of the New York State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Eric Bean leading 46. George Seiler offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Dennis Leipold 47b; Jean Seiler 47t; Sue Hengelsberg 306; Michael Heyerman 147t; George Seiler 183; Guy Bankes 467; Ginny Huszagh 344; Anne Kazlauskas 500; Crystal Burnham 335; Juanita Heyerman 501; James Nugent 85; Eric Bean 148; Lucy Roberts 29t; Dan Hertzler 445; Sheila Nugent 31t; Bob Wheeler 350; Melody Johnson 143; Scott Luscombe 353; Lauren Bock 516; Jesse Karlsberg 464; Evelyn Lamb 36b; Denise Morris 540.


The class was called back together by Dennis Leipold leading 145t. Leaders: Jean Seiler 448t; Sue Hengelsberg 127; Michael Heyerman 215; George Seiler 480; Guy Bankes 546; Ginny Huszagh 56b; Anne Kazlauskas 210; Crystal Burnham 271t; Juanita Heyerman 147b.

Bob Wheeler conducted the memorial lesson. He led 68b for the following sick and shut-ins: John Etheridge, Eugene Forbes, Ron Bornick, Thom Metzger, Virginia Luscombe, and David Bornick.

Bob Wheeler also spoke for the deceased and led 384 in memory of the following: Marilyn Darch—California; Bonnie Rogers—Massachusetts; John Copeland—New Jersey; Katherine Benefield, Loy Garrison, Lee Rogers, Reby Stanford, Gladys McGraw—Georgia; Amanda Denson, Milton Oliver, Edith Tate—Alabama; Kathleen (Kat) Kinkade—Virginia; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Wendy Karlsberg Meltzer—Connecticut; Charles Vaughn—Texas; Jane Krainin, Melissa Mueller—New York. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: James Nugent 277; Eric Bean 260; Lucy Roberts 28b; Dan Hertzler 475; Sheila Nugent 455.


The class was reconvened by Guy Bankes leading 535. Announcements of upcoming singings were made. Leaders: Bob Wheeler 503; Melody Johnson 216; Scott Luscombe 334; Lauren Bock and Jesse Karlsberg 361; Jesse Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 325; Evelyn Lamb 220; Denise Morris 524; Dennis Leipold 477; Jean Seiler 65; Sue Hengelsberg 566; Michael Heyerman 392; George Seiler 77b; Guy Bankes 556.

Eric Bean thanked those who helped to make the convention a success, and led 62 as the closing song. George Seiler offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eric Bean; Assistant Chairperson—Ginny Huszagh; Secretaries—Thom Metzger, Eileen Metzger, Lucy Roberts, and Sue Hengelsberg