Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Holly Springs Church

Near Bremen, Georgia, I-20 & U.S. 27 South

June 6-7, 1998

Saturday, June 6

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held the first Sunday in June and Saturday before at Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church. The singing was called together at 9:30 a.m. by Charlene Wallace leading song on page 59. Elder Homer Benefield led the morning prayer.

Charlene Wallace led song on page 453. Leaders: Carlene Griffin 85; Mary Florence Smith 421; Geneva Prichard 146; Teenie Moody 144; Danny Griffin 318; S. T. Reed 176b; Henry Zittrouer 270; Tokay Shumake 35; Curtis Owen 30 (t? b?); Lucile Gunnels 218; Don Bowen 283; Helen Bryson 522; Bud Oliver 145 (t? b?); Leola Smith 234; John Plunkett 284; Henry Johnson 56 (t? b?); Jeannette DePoy 448 (t? b?); Frances Mary D’Andrea 203; Louis Hughes, Sr. 565.


The class was called together with Phillip Langley leading song on page 142. Leaders: Jackie Tanner 299; Cathy White 84; Bryan Black 442; Dollie Hudgins and Richard DeLong 278b (Mrs. Dollie Hudgins, Mrs. Myrtle Smith, and Judy Mincey celebrated their birthdays); Amanda Denson 276; Florice Akin 277; Kenneth DeLong 572; Flarce Creel 475; Karen Morris 383; Reba Windom 216; Linda Sides 148; Cassie Franklin 215; Tim Cook 474; Alice Watkins 415; Sandy Scott 128; Susan Posey 58; Jack Smith 192; Coy Ivey 384.

A motion was made and seconded to go into the business session. Officers elected or appointed were: Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairman—Carlene Griffin; Secretary—Judy Henry; Arranging Committee—Hugh McGraw and Judy Henry; Memorial Committee—Florice Akin, Mary F. Smith, and Debra Langley.

Leaders: Cindy Franklin 362; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Jennifer Kearns 358; Kelly Morris 38b; M.H. Creel 530; Edith Owen 490; Bobby Jackson 388; Ann Jett 327; Felton Denney 155.


The class resumed singing with Earlis McGraw and Tommy McGraw leading song on page 324. Leaders: B.M. Smith 28b; Marie Aldridge 304; Debra Langley and Vicki Lopaz 45t; J.C. Denney 143; Buell Cobb 131b; Becky Hafner Camp 373; Ted Mercer 302; Michele Rogan 236; John Feddersen 569b; Elene Stovall 556; Josh Rogan 280; Henry Schuman 498; Reed Coates 551; Lynda Hambourger 472; Elder Marshall Avery 53; Shelbie Sheppard 183; Jerilyn Schumacher 344; Eloise Avery 426 (t? b?); Gary Rogan 480; Nancy Newell 163 (t? b?); Jeb Owen 548.


Robert Rivers, II and Judy Henry called the class together leading song on page 212. Leaders: Katharine Manning 500; Bruce Coates 31b; Matt Wells 29 (t? b?); Jon Giles 250; Judy Mincey 540; Jerry Schreiber 550; Kathy Williams 208; Laura Clauson 228; Sharona Nelson 36b; Vivian Rogan 535; Beverly Coates 492; Peggy Loddengaard 61; Tim Gee 191; Liz Bryant 377; David McGukin 326; Diane Avery 145 (t? b?); Scott DePoy, Tom Edwards, and Richard DeLong 224; John Garst 338.

After announcements, Charlene Wallace, Marcia Tucker, and Betty Harris led page 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Harrison Creel.

Sunday, June 7

The class was called together by Charlene Wallace at 9:30 a.m. leading song on page 60. The morning prayer was led by Rev. Henry Bizzell. Charlene Wallace then led song on page 105 for Kelly Beard (who was unable to attend). Leaders: Carlene Griffin 63; Mildred Patterson 274 (t? b?); Katherine Benefield 378 (t? b?); Tommy McGraw 268; Elder Homer Benefield 56t; Jeannette DePoy 569b; Louis Hughes, Jr. 208; Daphene Causey 391; John Hollingsworth 77b; Jon Patrick Gregg 94; Reed Coates 358; Charles Woods 59; Josh Rogan 110; Raymond Hamrick 350; Robby Rivers, II 454; Beverly Coates 313b; Laura Clauson 367; Sharona Nelson 107; Edith Tate 532; B.J. Harris 503.


The class was called together by Don Bowen leading song on page 171. Leaders: Michelle Rogan 40; Jim Ballinger 84; Kathy Williams 273; Marie Aldridge 217; Richard DeLong 507; David Carlton 48 (t? b?); Timothy Haley 384; Larry Ballinger 119; Vivian Rogan 282; Katharine Manning 434; Rita Haley 128; Sheri Taylor 306; Curtis Owen 441; Wesley Haley 198.

Memorial Lesson: Florice Akin led song on page 48 (t? b?) in memory of Reynold Akin and Barney Akin. Richard DeLong led song on page 390 in memory of Kimzy Cagle. Kathy Williams led song on page 213 (t? b?) for the following deceased: Veenie Faith, Anne Block, Susan Wantland, Willa Mae Holt, Hadyn Creel, Josie McAlpin, Willie Mae McClendon, Gertrude Bateman, John Forman, Seldon Creel, Vernice Calvert; Ila McGhee, Mamie Creel, Ozetta Gilliland, Keterina Sanders, Lewis Smith, Louise Shaddinger, and Ferrell League.

For all the sick and shut-ins, Judy Mincey led song on page 50b and Lonnie Rogers led song on page 348 (t? b?). The memorial was closed with prayer by Mary Florence Smith.

Leaders: Jeb Owen 475; Ted Mercer 349; Henry Schuman 432.


The afternoon session resumed with Louis Hughes, Sr. leading songs on pages 31 (t? b?) and 146. Leaders: Noel Rush 479; Lynda Hambourger 122; Jon Giles 182; Matt Wells 300; Jerilyn Schumacher 269; Nancy Newell 178; Jerry Schreiber 446; Shelbie Sheppard 263; Gary Rogan 285 (t? b?); Edith Owen 34b; Bruce Coates 49b; Peggy Loddengaard 445; Tim Gee 210; Helen Bryson 462; B.M. Smith and Margie Smith 499; Laura Akerman 111b; Estelle Flowers 338; Liz Bryant 32b; Jeff Sheppard 176 (t? b?); Rev. Henry Bizzell 452; Richard DeLong and Charlene Wallace 149.


The class was called together by Debra Langley and Phillip Langley leading songs on pages 222 and 215. Leaders: Lori Goode 369; Bonnie Flowers 56b; Teenie Moody and Tommy McGraw 99; Mary Florence Smith 430; Louise Holland 147 (t? b?) (for Robert Rivers, III); Earlis McGraw 76b; Lonnie Rogers 97 (by request).

Announcements were made. Charlene Wallace, Carlene Griffin, and Elder Homer Benefield led page 62, “Parting Hand”, as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Elder Homer Benefield.

Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairman—Carlene Griffin; Secretary—Judy Henry.