Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Convention, Washington

Ballard Homestead, Seattle, Washington

February 16-17, 2019

Saturday, February 16

The Washington Session of the 28th annual Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Adam Morgan Berey leading 52t. Anne Huckins offered the opening prayer.

The convention held a business meeting, and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Wing Mui; Rising Chairman—Lu Zeng; Treasurer—Shannon McGuire; Secretary—Leland Ross; Arranging Committee—Bob Schinske, Kate Coxon, Laura McMurray, and Katie Mahoney; Chaplains—Anne Huckins and Marla Elliott; Memorial Committee—Karen Willard and Susan Helf. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Wing Mui 47t; Laura McMurray 32t; Anne Huckins 276; Yosef Trachtenberg 155; Destiny Woods 45t (in memory of Herbert Messinger); Lu Zeng 29b; Kathy Vlach 340; Jinx McGuire 351; Peter Schinske 273; Katie Mahoney 230; Scott Kennedy 178; Jean Murphy 380; Jim Van Horn 547; Clarissa Fetrow 309; Bruce Rowland 270; Reed Schilbach 318.


Betsy Jeronen called the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Julius Pasay 224; Shannon McGuire 569b; Wren Hyde 70t; Ruth Linehan 168; Pat Coghlan 299; Susan Helf 34b; Jim Friedrich 183; Erik Schwab 189; Jen Rymut 204; Karen Stingle 254; Kate Fine 228; Jake Hachey 448b; Nancy Novotny 392; Maggie Zhou 181; Ben Brown 268; Mryka Hall-Beyer 352; Shoya Itsuka 472; Melissa Stephenson 207 (dedicated to Anita Crawford); Jack Lofton 269.


Stephanie Fida called the class to order leading 52b. Leaders: Bob Schinske 65 (for John Wiens); Dorothy Probish 180; Mary Rose O’Reilley 500; Myles Alexander 191; Bob Hume 209; Steve Cackley 429; Caroline Helmeczi 562; Shannon McGuire 528; Jennifer Jones 186; Kevin Barrans 201; Cornelia Stanton 66; Betsy Jeronen 448t; Thom Fahrbach 422; AnnaLeigh Smith 400; Karen Willard 463. Anne Huckins offered thanks for the meal.


Kevin Barrans called the class to order leading 121. Leaders: David Wright 399t; Marie Brandis 362; Steven T. Schmidgall 473; Evelyn Lamb and Lance Kent 272; Rebecca Edwards 447; Jacob Kiakahi 215; Lindy Groening 383; Stacey Berkheimer 187; Sadhbh O’Flynn 419; Stephanie Fida 123t; Sophia Schinske 428; Chris Noren 377; Erika Wilson 123b; Kate Coxon and Anne Coxon 430; Lyle Lindsey 47b; Nicole Scott 546; Deb Koch 313b; Doug Hill 512; Elizabeth B. Riggs 479; Anne Cowling 344.


Peter Schinske called the class to order leading 312t. Leaders: Stacey Berkheimer 101t; Bob Hume and June Thomasson 455; AnnaLeigh Smith 30b; Myles Alexander 102; Idy Kiser 208; Maggie Zhou 213t; Rodman Campbell 112; Kelly Clare and Sadhbh O’Flynn 143; Steven T. Schmidgall 24b; Thom Fahrbach 192; Rebecca Edwards 460; Jacob Kiakahi 475; Erika Wilson 560; Stephanie Fida 137; Lindy Groening 498; Evelyn Lamb 534. Wing Mui led 48t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Anne Huckins.

Sunday, February 17

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Convention was called to order by Wing Mui leading 144. The opening prayer was offered by Bob Schinske. Leaders: Kathy Vlach 485; Peter Schinske 523; Laura McMurray 290; Jim Friedrich 347 (in memory of Anise Stevens); Jinx McGuire 148; Rodman Campbell 296; Lu Zeng 467; Ian Suchon 153; Karen Willard and Karen Craig 465; Katie Mahoney 399b; Anne Huckins 312b; Erik Schwab 501; Susan Helf and Joy Ong 68b; Wyatt Warner 38b; Deb Koch 354b; Marla Elliott 547; Hannah Field 56b.


Gillian Inksetter called the class to order leading 32t. Leaders: Yosef Trachtenberg 84; Kate Fortin 42; Melissa Stephenson 333; David Wright 193; Ben Brown 86; Bob Schinske 439; Marcia Cutler 510; Kevin Barrans 49b; Julius Pasay 229; Kate Fine and Ashlei Jiggetts 185; Karen Stingle 385b; Jennifer Jones 349; Chris Noren 369; Aubrey Hemminger 146; Reed Schilbach 324 (for John Carson); Lindy Groening 536.


The class was called to order by Kate Fine leading 37b. Leaders: Shannon McGuire 142; Marie Brandis 280; Lyle Lindsey 228; Thom Fahrbach 423.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Willard and Susan Helf. Susan Helf and Karen Willard led 472 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Leah Coffin, Kathy Thompson, Sheila Edwards, Billy Jack Dalton, Katie Holldber, Irma Rowland, Concetta Branson, Marilyn Murata, John Carson, Martie Hoadley Carson, Jenny Pipia, Lois Saue, Dan Fahrbach, Darlene Simpson-Brown, Anita Engiles, Walt Bingaman, Clare Paris, Michael Power, Susan Johnson Kotila, Jean Squires, Fred Kraai, Susan Cady, Judy Toole, Benedict Ho, Cheryl Leach, Dottie Pasay, Melanie Hauff, Claudene Townson, Kama Wilson. Karen Willard and Susan Helf led 498 in honor of the following deceased: Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard—Arizona; Anise Stevens, Jackie Hills, and Dorothy Cross—California; Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Linda Waterfall, Jacqueline Dupras, Raben Lidman, Herbert Messinger, Ernie Buckler, Corinne Wellfelt, and Laurie Julian—Washington; Jay Stimler, Tim Robert, Cindy Lashbaugh, and Jeannette Bates—Oregon; Elaine Zidek—Ohio; Melvin Rosenbaum, Adelaide Vaughn, and Doug Webb—Texas; Gary “Doc” Taylor and Barbara Losse—Utah; Barbara Schmidgall (09-16) and Sharon Waterman—Minnesota; Ramona Mason—Oklahoma; Jack Duncan—Maine; Sarah Kotila—Michigan; William Toole—Tennessee; Andy Worthington—Arkansas; Joanne Soliz—Georgia; Joel Sedgwick—Idaho; Bill Condon and Frances Girouard—Massachusetts; Glenna Castle—Hawaii. Prayer to close the memorial lesson was offered by Karen Willard.

Leaders: Clarissa Fetrow 330b; Cornelia Stanton 540; Gillian Inksetter 336; Bob Hume 159; Wren Hyde 67; Jake Hachey 128; Aisha Morgan, Adam Morgan Berey, and Boaz Allen-Berey 145t. Marla Elliott offered thanks for the meal.


Lindy Groening and Brad Knoke called the class to order leading 373. Leaders: Solomon Ossa 436; Dorothy Robinson 522; Maggie Zhou 384; Steven T. Schmidgall 496; Mryka Hall-Beyer 210; Stacey Berkheimer 200; Jack Lofton 528; Erika Wilson 542; Idy Kiser 217; Myles Alexander 538; AnnaLeigh Smith 319; Ruth Linehan and Lynn Hannah 426b; Shoya Itsuka 111b; Caroline Helmeczi 77t; Jacob Kiakahi 372; Evelyn Lamb 326; Sadhbh O’Flynn and Sophie Sokolov 160b; Pat Coghlan 550; Jen Rymut and Joy Ong 573.


Sophia Schinske called the class to order leading 29t. Leaders: Audrey Karabinus 183; Betsy Jeronen 440; Bonnie Stimler and Melissa Stephenson 117; Steve Cackley 72t; Shannon McGuire 565; Rebecca Edwards and Jojo 105; Virginia Arthur 332; Adam Morgan Berey and Boaz Allen-Berey 48t; Scott Kennedy 454; Destiny Woods 328; Nicole Scott 109; Sophia Schinske and Stephanie Fida 348t; Kate Coxon, Russell Cannon, Shannon Cannon, and James Cannon 36b.

A business meeting was held to hear committee reports. The Treasurer reported that expenses were met through the generosity of attendees and made a motion to remit the Convention’s purse to Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singers, Inc., which was carried. Evelyn Lamb and Rebecca Edwards submitted a resolution, which was adopted, thanking the officers, committees, and volunteers, and setting the 2020 session on the third Sunday and Saturday before in February. The Arranging Committee announced that there were one hundred sixty-three singers over both days, from three countries, ten states and three Canadian provinces, who sang one hundred seventy-five tunes.

Wing Mui and Lu Zeng led 62, while those who wished took the parting hand. Marla Elliott offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Wing Mui; Rising Chairman—Lu Zeng; Secretary—Leland Ross