Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Germany Sacred Harp Convention

Zwölf-Apostel Kirche Parish Hall, Berlin, Germany

May 21-22, 2016

Saturday, May 21

The 3rd annual Germany Sacred Harp Convention was held in the parish hall of the Zwölf-Apostel Kirche in Berlin, Germany. The class was called to order by Andreas Manz leading 144. The opening prayer was offered by Yotin Tiewtrakul. Andreas Manz and Caro Stamm-Reusch welcomed the class and made announcements. Caro Stamm-Reusch led 28b.

Leaders: Christopher Schuller 229 (for the 764,038 people who walked the Balkan route last year); Cherilyn Neilson 288; Evelyn Saylor 131b; James Schuller and Yotin Tiewtrakul 277; Jasmina Graf 505; Nina Riegler 34b; Rowan Coupland 31t; Ulrike Tietjen 309; Eckehard Neugebauer and Corinna Frische 49b; Magdalena Osthaus 432; Tobias Saalmann 566; Christian Saupe-Wüst and Tobias Saalmann 178; Corinna Frische 142; Yotin Tiewtrakul 228; Dominik Fraune 163t; Amelie Krüger 111b; Naomi Kaye Honova 215; Harald Grundner 201; Geoff Grainger 313b (for Colleen Jones); Peter Kocher 312b; Andreas Manz 37b.


The class was called back to order by Eva Striebeck leading 159. Leaders: Stefan Swat 106; Patrick DeDauw 81t; Marcos Sullivan 377; Emma Rock 372; Georges Boboé and Yotin Tiewtrakul 448b; Ed Johnson-Williams 222; Zack Lindahl 189; Fynn Titford-Mock 179; Anna Spruch 191; Cath Saunt 306; Cornelia van den Doel 148; Camilla Marie Widholm 440; Ross Harbison 383; Kuba Choinski 112; Rachel Wemyss 56b; Hauke Grünefeld 42; Marielle Minutella 320; Heather Thompson and family 146; Joy Spreadborough and Chloë Spreadborough 354b; Ciske Boekelo and Fynn Titford-Mock 300; Joanna Bennett 456; Jan Kaye Hon 32b; Ann Chesterton and Andreas Manz 133; Andreas Manz and Caro Stamm-Reusch 99 (for Don Bowen). Christopher Schuller offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Magdalena Osthaus leading 114. Leaders: Johannes Sauer 84; Ophir Ilzetzki 198; Justyna Orlikowska 328; Joel Igli 236; Nimrod Weißlöwe and Adi Rosen 268; Erin Johnson-Williams 475; Francis Gaskin 567; Kate Coxon 500; Jantje Wilken and Tobias Saalmann 535; Nathan Bowler 504; Magdalena Gryszko 480; Steve Brett 434; Christopher Lyons 344 (for Colleen Jones); Sarah West 568; Christopher Schuller 397; Eli Petzold 203; David Gordon 282; Mary Helen Dupree 474; Laura Eisen 225t; Claudia Jansen 481; Andreas Manz 85.


The class was called back to order by Nina Riegler leading 29t. Leaders: Boyan Pohl 497; Lari Jalbert 210; Daphna Naparstek and Ophir Ilzetzki 447; Will Fesperman 217; Sally Wandrey and Yotin Tiewtrakul 551; Constantin Dorsch 26; Peter Sabel 126; Silke Kunow-Koch and Caro Stamm-Reusch 122; Franziska Schmidt 542; Eva Striebeck 454 (for Hannah Land and Ruth Steggles); Heather Thompson 86; Joy Spreadborough and Chloë Spreadborough 163b; Jan Kaye Hon and Naomi Kaye Honova 227; Magdalena Gryszko 176t; Erin Johnson-Williams and Ed Johnson-Williams 276; Ophir Ilzetzki and Cath Saunt 290.

Andreas Manz and Caro Stamm-Reusch led 523 as the closing song. Yotin Tiewtrakul offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, May 22

The Sunday session of the Germany Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Andreas Manz leading 448b. The opening prayer was offered by Yotin Tiewtrakul. The chairmen made announcements, and Caro Stamm-Reusch led 171.

Leaders: Evelyn Saylor 30b; Franka Sprzagala 370; Boyan Pohl 287; Heather Thompson and family 31t; Franziska Schmidt 339; Harald Grundner 74t; Zack Lindahl 506; Cherilyn Neilson 186; Inga Hübner and Ophir Ilzetzki 94; David Gordon and Ophir Ilzetzki 455; Kuba Choinski 40; Ariane Schlesinger and Hyke Sakaras 457; Camilla Marie Widholm 444; Justyna Orlikowska 411; Georges Boboé and Tobias Saalmann 448t; Joanna Bennett 532; Hauke Grünefeld 113.


The class was called back to order by Jessica Sligter leading 400. Leaders: Marielle Minutella 47t; Joanna Mankiewicz 148; Joy Spreadborough and Chloë Spreadborough 274t; Ulrike Tietjen 224 (for Bruce Rye); Daphna Naparstek 209; Tobias Saalmann 66.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Ophir Ilzetzki, who led 183 in memory of the following: William Tannenbaum—New York City, USA; Yeakov Rosen and Arie Shapira—Israel; Robert Dupree—Alabama, USA; Dawn Smith and Gillian Woodward—United Kingdom; Neva Rubenstein—California, USA; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania, USA; Gian Luca DiBari McCallum, Gertrud Koch, Günter Koch, Brunhold Schlesinger, Gerd Schlesinger, Birgit Hoffmeister, and Gisela Sakaras—Germany; Mary Kennedy—Ireland.

The sick and housebound lesson was conducted by Harald Grundner, who led 185 for the following: Maciej Gryszko, Ruth Steggles, Hannah Land, Karen Turner, Herbert Fechner, Olivia Powell, Becky Hendricks Cooper, Susan Bernucho, Kirsty Grainger, Reginald Brett, Tatiana Cichocka, Franz-Josef Fraune, Blake Weston, Janelle Davis, and Bruce Rye.

Leaders: Cath Saunt 235; Yotin Tiewtrakul 492; Nimrod Weißlöwe and Daphna Naparstek 267; Magdalena Gryszko 76b; Peter Kocher 421; Dominik Fraune 125; Naomi Kaye Honova 384; Corinna Frische 216; Meike Hoffmeister and Magdalena Gryszko 385b; Stefan Swat 278t; Patrick DeDauw 390. Patrick DeDauw offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Boyan Pohl leading 81t. Leaders: Kate Coxon 302; Bianca Geburek, Alma Geburek, and Evelyn Saylor 146; Fynn Titford-Mock 154; Sarah West 483; Eli Petzold 442; Erin Johnson-Williams 534; Christopher Lyons and Caro Stamm-Reusch 245; Francis Gaskin and Cath Saunt 408; Ross Harbison 82t; Ophir Ilzetzki and Nimrod Weißlöwe 269; Steve Brett 406; Ed Johnson-Williams 196; Mary Helen Dupree 296; Emma Rock 181; Rachel Wemyss 105; Christopher Schuller 93; Olgierd Orlikowski 70b; Tobias Ullersperger and Andreas Manz 128; Magdalena Osthaus 392; Cornelia van den Doel 84; Anna Spruch 377; Honorata Pawlicka-Zurakowska, Bradd Libby, and Zack Lindahl 213t; Ann Chesterton 210.


The class was called back to order by Justyna Orlikowska leading 27. Leaders: Christopher Schuller and James Schuller 64; Kama Dembinska 522; Geoff Grainger 503; Laura Eisen 547; Klaus Kringels and Tobias Saalmann 38t; Johannes Sauer 285t; Nina Riegler 473; Amelie Krüger 282; Jasmina Graf 102; the singers from the Netherlands and France 477; the singers from Ireland 436; the singers from Israel 162; the singers from Poland 347; the singers from Scandinavia 452; the singers from the United Kingdom 401; the singers from Cologne 472; the singers from Bremen 564; the singers from Hamburg 34b; the singers from Munich, Frankfurt, and Tübingen 481; the singers from all places not already called 32t; the singers from Berlin 159.

The Chairmen thanked all those involved in the organization and thanked visiting singers. The Secretary reported 136 total attendees from seventeen countries, and 174 songs called. The Treasurer, Christopher Schuller, reported that all expenses had been met. Announcements were made.

Andreas Manz and Caro Stamm-Reusch led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Yotin Tiewtrakul, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Andreas Manz and Caro Stamm-Reusch; Secretary—Evelyn Saylor