Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention

The Old Historic San Isidro Church, Corrales, New Mexico

September 22-23, 2012

Saturday, September 22

The 23rd annual Rocky Mountain Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in September at The Old Historic San Isidro Church in Corrales, New Mexico. Claire Singleton called the class to order leading 107. The opening prayer was offered by Robert McKay.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairperson—Claire Singleton; Treasurer—Sally Gwylan; Secretary—Nancy Nortz.

Leaders: David McPherson 59; Norma Ruptier 40; Harlan Van Camp 34b; Allan Stavely 479; Carol Selleck 425; Sandy Klein 155; Karl Dise 353; Sally Gwylan 324; Pete Mathewson 565; Robert McKay 47b; Scott Kennedy 149; Janet Morgan 77t; Marilyn Murata 200; Erika Roush 455; Ken Hallock 65; Anita Landess 106; Donna Sewell 68b; Erik Mason 378b.


The morning session resumed with Karen Willard leading 30t. Leaders: Sharon Kermiet 327; David Hawes 50t; Larry Matlock 332; Paige Winslett 81t; Jeff Begley 503; Vicki Morgan 472; Judy Van Duzer 173; Jan Ketelle 168; Michael McKernan 49b; Mary Lou Van Laanen 540; Karen Willard 352; Corrie Van Duzer 117; Catie van Duzer 280; Susie Mathewson 145b; Paul Lindholm 187; Bonnie Dolan 317; Karl Dise 121; Pete Mathewson 354t; Scott Kennedy 162; Anita Sanders 528; Sharon Kermiet 385t; Jan Ketelle 430; Sandy Klein 496; Marilyn Murata 421; Erika Roush 504; Jeff Begley 501; Paul Lindholm 500.


David McPherson called the class back to order leading 128. Leaders: Claire Singleton 99; Carol Selleck 198; Anita Landess 314; Ken Hallock 370; Allan Stavely 112; Robert McKay 313b; Leslie Alperin 228; Eric Mason 133; Mary Lou Van Laanen 474; Paige Winslett 181; Marcy McKinley 192; Susie Mathewson 569b; Claire Singleton 124; Karen Willard 171; David McPherson 183; Judy Van Duzer 328; Corrie Van Duzer 102; Katy Van Duzer 201; Michael McKernan 66; David Hawes 260; Janet Morgan 76b; Donna Sewell 460.


Norma Ruptier led 46 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Vicki Morgan 178; Bonnie Dolan 432; Sally Gwylan 330b; Larry Matlock 385b; Anita Sanders 299; Leslie Alperin 86; Harlan Van Camp 362; Jan Ketelle 73t; Ken Hallock 373; Karen Willard 550; Scott Kennedy 276; Marilyn Murata 485; Jeff Begley 480; Erika Roush 383.

Sunday, September 23

The Sunday session of the Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Sharon Kermiet leading 48t.

Leaders: Eric Metzler 107; David McPherson 452; Allan Stavely 64; Janet Morgan 135; Donna Sewell 146; Carol Selleck and Marion Lewis 235; Leslie Alperin 163b; Robert McKay 379; Sally Gwylan 326; Sandy Klein 143; Anita Landess 297; Pete Mathewson 480; Mary Lou Van Laanen 489; Jeff Begley 556; Michael McKernan 56b; Paul Lindholm 131t; Larry Matlock 323b.


The class was called back to order by Corie Van Duzer leading 148. Leaders: Ken Halleck 26; Erika Roush 24b; Marilyn Murata 42; Judy Van Duzer 48b; Scott Kennedy 287; Paige Winslett 358; Karl Dise 379; Eric Mason 435; Carrie Van Duzer 74b; David Hawes 50 (t? b?).

Robert McKay conducted the memorial lesson and led 68b for the following deceased: Joyce Wood and Jeanne Schaffer—Colorado; Samuel E. Thomas, Joda Harington, and Phyllis Kelsey—California; Elizabeth Yeamans and John Taylor—New Mexico; Everett Metzler—Indiana.

Robert McKay led 494 for the following sick and shut-ins: Maria Topete, Shisue Sugimoto, Fumie Murata, Michael Wheeler, Fredy Ramirez, Joe Miller, Dick Prael, Art Sandoval, John Schaffer, and the autism class of Room 8, Darby Avenue School.

Leaders: Karen Willard 189; Sharon Kermiet 217; Jan Ketelle 368; Catie Van Duzer 365; Bonnie Dolan 318; Susie Mathewson 32t; Eric Metzler 65; Carol Selleck 319; Claire Singleton 344; Janet Morgan 448t; Donna Sewell 63; Jeff Begley 215; Scott Kennedy 454.


Paul Lindholm brought the class back for the afternoon session by leading 33b. Leaders: Mary Lou Van Laanen 441; Paige Winslett 42; Marilyn Murata 236; Allan Stavely 61; Pete Mathewson 35; Harlan Van Camp 32b; Michael McKernan 232; Erika Roush 551; Ken Hallock 216; Karen Willard 401; Jan Ketelle 212; Sharon Kermiet 400; Paul Lindholm 419; Judy Van Duzer 168; Corrie Van Duzer 198; Karl Dise 320; David Hawes 479; Bonnie Dolan 478.


Eric Mason brought the class to order by leading 38b. Leaders: Catie Van Duzer 151; Anita Landess 373; Sandy Klein 481; Eric Mason 192; Sally Gwylan 142; David McPherson 282; Leslie Alperin 268; Robert McKay 312b; Karen Willard 269; Claire Singleton 270.

Announcements were made. The 2013 Rocky Mountain Convention will meet next September in Colorado.

Claire Singleton thanked all who worked to make this convention possible. Robert McKay offered the closing prayer. Claire Singleton led 209 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Claire Singleton; Secretary—Nancy Nortz