Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Minnesota State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

The Landing (Formerly Murphy’s Landing), Shakopee, Minnesota

September 24-25, 2011

Saturday, September 24

The 22nd session of the Minnesota Convention was called to order by Jane Wells and Steven Levine leading 34b. Gordon Olsen offered the opening prayer.

After opening announcements, Kit Canright led 47t. Leaders: Nancy Koester 68b; Paul Wyatt 313t; Jim Pfau 171; Steve Luttinen 105; Stephen Parker 146; Angie Payne 276; Jenn Blair 84; Leslie Williamson White 503; Gordon (Pop) Wagner 99; Melissa Kelley 147t; Steve Copeland 117; Ann Sleeva 362; John Seaton 48t; Dick Levine 300; Denise Kania 442; Paul Landskroener 213b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairpersons—Jane Wells and Steven Levine; Arranging Committee—Steve Luttinen, Jim Pfau, and Kim Bahmer; Chaplain Coordination—Karen Swenson; Corresponding Secretary—James Pfau; Treasurer—Matt Wells; Recording Secretary—Stephen Parker.


Matt Wells brought the class back together by leading 29t. Leaders: Christine Stevens 114; Scott Schroeder 159; Gordon Olsen 163b; Rhonda Machlan 299; Myles Alexander 328; Leon Pulsinelle 224; Hans Guttmann 365; Rochelle Lodder 313b; Will Gilman 160b; Bethany Towne 272; Shirley Figura 361; Jeff Bell 192; Cecelia Kramer 39t; Barbara Swetman 383; Anne Drexler 282; Michael L. Moore 150; Stacey Berkheimer 501.


Steve Luttinen led 277 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: James Page 505; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 318; Elise delMas 270; Melanie Hauff 421; Paul Figura 448t; Nathan Berry 128; Eleanor Haase 384.

A business session was held. Finances were discussed, and next year’s officers were announced: for the 2012 convention, Paul Landskroener and Thea Johansen, and for the 2012 Cooper Book Convention in February, Steve Luttinen and Will Gilman. After the grace offered by Kit Canright, the class was then dismissed for lunch and rejoiced at the bounty of the table.


Paul Wyatt recalled the class leading 52t. Leaders: Keith Willard 297; Noelle Copeland 290; Karen Swenson 500; Michael Shewmaker 155; Daniel Hunter 326; Laura Densmore 304; Roberta Strauss 542; Jeanette Nelson 217; Evelyn Lamb 228; Martha Henderson 58; Kevin Bullock 287; Jan Ketelle 368; Midge Olsen 454; Ted Mercer 468; Johanna Fabke 350; Anna Pfau 532; Matt Wells 472; Judy Hauff 275t; John Kelso 376; Cathy Lutz 441; Lisa Grayson 419.


Kim Bahmer brought the class back to order leading 312b. Leaders: Francis Gurtz 186; Claudia Egelhoff 317; Colette Miller 348b; Nancy Koester 122; Lisa Bulansky 176b; Jenny Willard 145b; Carol Buche 143; Nate Green and Norma Green 196; Chandler Yorkhall 344; Carol Crawford 37b; Robin Fox 212; Aubrey Hemminger 142; Steven Levine 28b.

Jane Wells and Steven Levine led 473 to close. The class was then dismissed with prayer offered by Aubrey Hemminger.

Sunday, September 25

The Sunday session of the Minnesota State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Jane Wells and Steven Levine leading 31t. After initial announcements, Steven Schmidgall offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Stacey Berkheimer 100; Gordon Olsen 47b; Cathy Lutz 203; Gordon (Pop) Wagner 268; Jeanette Nelson 547; Angie Payne 76b; Hans Guttman 480; John Seaton 47t; Dick Levine 102; Anne Drexler 148; Carol Buche 171; Lisa Bulawsky 569b; Martha Henderson 64; Johanna Fabke 71; Noelle Copeland 236; Cecilia Kramer 430.


Steve Copeland brought the class back to order by leading 34b. Leaders: Christine Stevens 352; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 52t; Leslie White 65; Jenn Blair 186; Lisa Grayson 528; Eleanor Haase 373; Charlotte Baldwin 383; Midge Olsen 218; Myles Alexander 483; Nate Green and Norma Green 568; Matt Wells 183; James Page 193; Steven Schmidgall 496; Robin Fox 112.


Anna Pfau brought the class back together leading 106. Leaders: Paul Wyatt 189.

Jeanette Nelson conducted the memorial lesson, remembering her father’s passing, and reminding us not to feel empty in our grieving when we carry so much of each other’s presence with us. She led 318 in memory of the following deceased: Robert McKee, Joyce Anderson, Helen May Olsen, Vernon Stepp—Wisconsin; Clarence McCool, Travis Keeton, Christine Gandy, Marie Ivey, Ernestine Pipkin—Alabama; Dennis Murphy—Vermont; Leslie Dennis, Paul Streeter—Illinois; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Mike Waterson—U.K.; Tom Maher—Pennsylvania; Patty Cunningham—Missouri; Esther Lang—North Dakota; Pat Schneider, Tom Poole, Caroline Ehler, Bob Mattila, Cactus Stoehr, Minja Lausevic—Minnesota; Charles Gorder—Michigan.

Shirley Figura remembered those who are sick and shut-in today, recalling those who have preserved and spread this tradition of being together. She led 348b in honor of the following: Julie Vea, John Merritt, Jim Hearne, Veena Blilie, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Judith L. Kein, Karen Campbell, Steve Moe, Nancy Evert, Ken Kohnstamm, Verna Henke, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Harrison Creel, Dr. Julietta Haynes, Mike Crawford, Kirk Smigde, Betty Wright, Willard Wright, Julie Joerger, Connie Karduck, Jane Jasperson, Val Eng, Ken Rudee, and Nancy Cox. Keith Willard offered prayer to conclude the lesson.

Leaders: Stephen Parker 504; Steve Luttinen 387. After the grace, offered by Paul Landskroener, the class was dismissed for the noon meal.


Kim Bahmer led 129 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Steven Levine 475; Jeff Bell 288; Nathan Berry 377; Evelyn Lamb 215; Paul Figura 181; Judy Hauff 411; Daniel Hunter 200; Denise Kania 456; Ted Mercer 298; Annie Grieshop 168; Melissa Kelley 324; Will Gilman 70 (t? b?); John Kelso 397; Rhonda Machlan 178; Michael Moore 487; Jenny Willard 36b; Roberta Strauss 436.


Noelle Copeland brought the class back to order leading 32t. Leaders: Stacey Berkheimer 182; Shirley Figura 403; Ann Sleeva 269; Leon Pulsinelle 157; Jim Pfau 460; Bethany Towne 399t; Laura Densmore 201; Barbara Swetman 497; Scott Schroeder 344; Anna Pfau 274t; Karen Swenson 137; Steve Copeland 454; Paul Landskroener 250; Kim Bahmer 163b; Melanie Hauff 277; Meg Parsons and Jim Parsons 217.

Upcoming singings were announced. A business session was held for the purpose of hearing reports. It was announced that Minnesota would host the 2012 Young People’s Singing, co-chaired by Anna Pfau and Nathan Berry. The treasurer announced that collections were sufficient to support this convention as well as providing funds for the Young People’s Singing. For the weekend, 152 songs were lead, 80 (t? b?) on Saturday and 72 (t? b?) on Sunday. Singers came from Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and the Canadian Provinces of Alberta and Manitoba. Jane Wells and Steven Levine recognized many of the volunteers, and rendered kind and complete thanks for all the efforts that brought this convention together, including those who have gone before.

Jane Wells and Steven Levine led 62 as the closing song. Jim Pfau offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Jane Wells and Steven Levine; Secretary—Stephen Parker