Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Convention (Oregon)

The Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon

October 18-19, 2008

Saturday, October 18

The 18th annual Pacific Northwest Convention was held at The Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Marie Brandis called the class to order leading 448b at 9:00 a.m. Dan Thoma led the invocation.

Marie Brandis welcomed all and called a brief business meeting to accept officers: Chairlady—Marie Brandis; Treasurer—Heather Ikeler; Chaplains—Dan Thoma and Thom Fahrbach; Secretary—Lyle Lindsey. After a few announcements and guidelines, Judy Caudle was introduced as the singing school teacher.

Judy shared with the class the traditions she grew up with, in a family with three generations of shape note singing school masters. She spoke of the old time necessity of conventions for people to come together to share news and socialize. She spoke of the importance of practicing rudiments, and continuing to learn new things. The class under her guidance worked on the rudiments. She led 312b, 76t, 32t, 33b, 101t, 54 and called Mark Miller to lead 451.


The class was brought back together by Scott Kennedy leading 276. Leaders: Marie Brandis 142; Dan Thoma 500; Greg Mulkern 33t; Heather Ikeler 312b; Lyle Lindsey 34b; Jessica Beer 171; Betsey Jeronen 448t; Steve Cackley 77b; Meg Larson 452; Em Lash 95; Carolyn Gilkey 474; Susan Helf 137; Abraham Hardy 347; Gary Plouff 376; Lucinda Saue 155; Ken Cofield 49b; Chris Cotter 227; Suzanne Denker 76b; Katharine Hough 153; Steve Helwig 458; Mike Hinton 434; Greg Saue 163b; Tom McTighe 480. Dan Thoma offered the noon blessing.


The afternoon session was called together by Arcana Fershke leading 73t. Leaders: Tamara Harris 129; Erik Schwab 562; Reba Windom 216; David Wright 392; Bridgett Hill 440; Dave Hough 496; Sharon DuPriest 189; Reed Schilbach 318; Kristi Harju 430; Caleb Hardy 127; Jill Accetta 441; Bob Schinske 335; Louis Hughes 512; Anne Huckins 159; Judy Caudle 522; Linda Booth 358; Kathy Vlach 350; John Carson 40; Mark Miller 419.


The class was brought back together by Matt Keegan leading 497. Leaders: Erika Wilson 442; Shelby Sampson 198; Daphne Causey 304; Philip Gerrie 410t; Carolyn Deacy 236; Terry Barber 28b; Jack Lofton 542; Marcia Stedman 66; Bill Walters 35; Anna Stoerch 84; Harlan Walker-Young 77t; Kaiti Carpenter 504; Lea Kouba 31t; Arcana Fershke 428; Cornelia Stanton 176b.

The class was dismissed for the day.

Sunday, October 19

Marie Brandis called the Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention to order by leading 448b. The morning invocation was led by Thom Fahrbach.

Leaders: Thom Fahrbach 313 (t? b?); Liz Bryant 475; Dorothy Robinson 375; Sarah Hauser 147b; Scott Kennedy 546; Jacob Breedlove 302; Martha Sherwood 53; Jean Murphy 181; Jane Grant 119; Fran Ross 66; Bruce Rye 193; Jan Bridges 146; Betsy Jeronen 547; Lyle Lindsey 198; Meg Larson 37b; Steve Helwig 411; Bruce Rowland 426 (t? b?); Greg Saue 99; Tom McTighe 56b; Tamara Harris 383; Suzanne Denker 268; Reed Schilbach 532.


Philip Haines brought the class together by leading 276. Leaders: Eric Holt 145b; Emily Winokur 319; John Carson 163t; Robert Norman 282; Karl Oswald 48b; Mary Redman 178; Kaiti Carpenter 300; Jack Lofton 179; Ken Cofield 86; Louis Hughes 314; Kristi Harju 110; Terry Barber 214; Mike Hinton 340; Katharine Hough 269; Bridgett Hill 472; Greg Mulkern 217; Kathy Vlach 24b; Philip Gerrie 365; Bill Walters 267; Carolyn Deacy 485; Susan Helf 112; Shelby Sampson 183.

Carmen Doerge conducted the memorial lesson with Steve Cackley leading 235b. Lyle Lindsey led 122 in memory of the following deceased: Richard Mauldin Sr., Mattie Townsel—Alabama; Blanche Carlile, Bruce Phillips, Dale Aengst—California; Ellas McDaniel—Florida; Lee Rogers, Hazel Camp, Mary Camp, Elder Homer Benefield, Katherine Benefield—Georgia; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Dagmar Branson—New York; Eliot Scott, Jean Marcotte, Mary Holt, Karl Corbin, Harry Oswald, Jeanette Denker, Dorey Burden, Betty Jean Bartholomew—Oregon; Elliot Newlin, John Huckins, Evelynn Fitch, David Fuentes, Sue Marro—Washington.

Cornelia Stanton led 70t for the sick and shut-ins.

Leaders: Marie Brandis 72b; Dan Thoma 466; Dave Hough 384; Chris Cotter 250; Linda Booth 361; Anne Huckins 479; Harlan Walker Young 378b; Carolyn Gilkey 503; Eric Schwab 351. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Thom Fahrbach.


Karl Oswald brought the afternoon session to order by leading 49t. Leaders: Mark Miller 368; David Wright 296; Gary Plouff 70b; Jessica Beer 436; Judy Caudle 478; Jill Accetta 192; Sharon DuPriest 172; Bruce Rye 215; Reba Windom 196; Thom Fahrbach 500; Erika Wilson 377; Daphene Causey 434; Arcana Fershke 491; Bob Schinske 558; Jean Murphy 504; Lucinda Saue 49b; Fran Ross 236; Eric Holt 501; Marcia Stedman 270; Lea Kouba 454; Jane Grant 277.


The class was called back to order. Leaders: Caleb Hardy 438; Linda Jweinat 397; Rachel Hardy and Caleb Hardy 297; Wendy Marshall 499; Robert Fleming 159; Abraham Hardy 210; Cornelia Stanton 496; Mary Ditson 380; Anna Stoerch 288; Jacob Breedlove 58; Leta Marshall 143; Louis Hughes 208; Daphene Causey 216; Judy Caudle 186; Kristi Harju 114; Jenn Dolan 240; Mike Hinton 456; Sharon DuPriest 212; Raoul Titus 132; Liz Bryant 313b.

Marie Brandis called a business meeting to order. Committee reports were given as follows: Treasury announced expenses were met; Registration announced 83 leaders led 150 songs; Resolutions were given by Greg Mulkern, thanking travelers and all others who participated in making the convention a great success. Gifts were presented to Judy Caudle for being the singing school teacher, including a quilt sewn by singer Carolyn Gilkey of Oregon.

Marie Brandis led 36b as those who wished took the parting hand. Thom Fahrbach offered the closing prayer.

Chairlady—Marie Brandis; Secretary—Lyle Lindsey