Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Minnesota State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

St. Sahag’s Armenian Orthodox Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota and Murphy’s Landing, Shakopee, Minnesota

September 22-23, 2007

Saturday, September 22

The 18th Minnesota State Convention was called to order by Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen leading 36b. Jeff Bell offered the opening prayer.

Opening announcements were made. Leaders: Christine Stevens 421; Kim Bahmer 47t; Karen Edwards and Dan Edwards 99; Jim Goetz 147t; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 480; Kristie Harju 274t; Michael Mosley 350; Katherine Moore 189; John Seaton 68b; Francis Gurtz and Paul Walker 45t; Fran Ross 63; Midge Olsen 362; Carol Munro Mosley 142; Carol Buche 504; Claudia Egelhoff 556; Steve Warner 86; Scott Schroeder 34b; Paul Landskroener 89.


Stephen Parker and Keith Campbell brought the class back to order leading 171. Leaders: Chandler Yorkhall 448b; Collette Miller 348b; Paul Wilson 406; Stacey Berkheimer 70t; Cassie Lang and friend 284; Cathy Lutz and six University of St. Thomas students 344; Jim Pfau and three University of St. Thomas students 474; Alice Love 65; James Page 505; Connie Stanton 276; Jim Helke 58; Eleanor Haase 327; Val Eng 269; Charles Wells 148; Walter Graff 49b; Gordon Olsen, Linda Bergh and Elizabeth Stehl 547.


Paul Wyatt brought the class back together leading 73b. Leaders: Jeff Bell 390; Michael Moore 266; Jeanette Nelson 455; Bill Waddington 481; Hans Goodman 47b.

A business session was held and next year’s officers were announced. Co-Chairpersons for next year’s fall convention are Steven Schmidgall and Carolyn Swenson; for the 2008 Cooper Book Convention in February, Bill Waddington was named Chairman.

Leaders: Meg Parsons 203; Karen Swenson 430. Martha Henderson offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Jim Goetz opened the afternoon session leading 52t. Leaders: Jim Parsons 191; Matt Wells and Jen Agans 272; Keith Willard 144; Louis Hughes 512; Michael Thompson 424; Ann Heider 528; Daphene Causey 434; Paul Figura 501; Jenny Willard 392; Julie Vea 218; Ted Mercer 131t; Kit Pfau 128; Martha Henderson 456; Stephen Parker 515; Henry Schuman 426b; Becky Brown 304; Mike Hinton 532; Roberta Strauss 496; Reba Windom 542.

The chairpersons presented the fasola afghan, knitted by Ms. Eloise Jerome, to be given away by raffle tomorrow.


The class was brought back to order by Jeanette Nelson leading 472. Leaders: Jenn Blair 186; Emily Karas 267; Nathan Berry 448t; Laura Densmore 522; Sharon DuPriest 216; Steven Levine 59; Robin Fox and Mary Rose O’Reilly 500; Carol Crawford 94; Kim Bahmer 376; Steven Schmidgall 24b; Christine Stevens 95; Becky Brown and Julie Vea 200; Cathy Lutz, Ron Lutz, Paul Lutz, and Hannah Lutz 217; Collette Miller and Francis Gurtz 178; Jim Pfau and Louis Hughes 270; Paul Landskroener 168.

Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen led 323t as the closing song. The class was dismissed after prayer offered by Connie Stanton.

Sunday, September 23

The Sunday session of the Convention was called to order by Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen leading 129. Mike Hinton offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Henry Schuman 318; Mike Hinton 340; Claudia Egelhoff 77b; Walter Graff 137; Kim Bahmer 40; Nancy Koester 290; Matt Wells 163t; Aubrey Hemminger 503; Michael Moore 223; Alice Love 163b; Jim Parsons 522; Karen Edwards 162; Stephen Parker 32t; Paul Landskroener 273.


The class was brought back to order by Steven Levine leading 29t. Leaders: Steven Schmidgall 313b; John Seaton 47t; Jeff Bell 453; Jim Pfau 228; Robin Fox 245; James Page 352; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 224; Kristie Harju, Darrell Harju, and Deanna Kivi 457; Gordon Olsen 497; Carol Munro Mosley 312b; Hans Guttman 171; Jim Goetz 268; Bill Waddington 299; Paul Figura 480; Johanna Fabke 378b; Michael Mosley 124; Meg Parsons 209; Jim Crawford 550; Scott Schroeder 569b; Christine Stevens 456.


Kit Pfau brought the class back together leading 48t. Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen led 499b.

Matt Wells and Laura Densmore conducted the memorial lesson. The list of names of the deceased was read, and included Chester Lacy, Richard Mauldin Sr., Marie Guthrie, B.J. Harris, Wilton Donaldson, LaRue Allen, Flarce Creel-Alabama; Mary Ballinger-Texas; Sara Curry-California; Allen Graham and Elizabeth Bass-Indiana; Mirjana Lausevic, Vern Austin and Sharon Johnston-Minnesota; Judge Jack Hendrix and Betty Hendrix-Nebraska; Hibbard Thatcher-Tennessee; Viola Graff-Washington. Matt Well and Laura Densmore led 83t in their memory.

The list of sick and shut-ins included Milton Oliver, Amanda Denson, Ruth Garner, Raymond Hamrick, Eleanor Phillips, Rich Grayson, Judy Hauff, Arlene Anderson, Virginia Tomlinson, Judy Freeman, Janet Bell, Dr. Ann Meissner, Barbara Neal, Charlie Derleth, Jeanette Lowry, Marjorie Burke, Clifford Gillette, Peg Pearson, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, Bob Scorgie, and Alexandra Cull. Matt Wells and Laura Densmore led 472 in their honor. Paul Landskroener offered prayer to conclude the lesson.

Janet Crosby and her family led 107. After the grace offered by Jim Goetz, the class was dismissed for lunch.


Paul Wyatt called the afternoon session to order leading 313t. Leaders: Louis Hughes 76b; Sharon DuPriest 172; Daphene Causey 196; Steve Warner and Anne Heider 475; Julie Vea 419; Connie Stanton 454; Laura Densmore 383.

The treasurer reported that the budget had been met. Eloise Jerome’s fasola afghan was won by Jenny Willard.

Leaders: Eloise Jerome and Denise Kania 46; Jan Ketelle and Tanya Cothran 168; Michael Thompson 436; Steven Levine 473; Ted Mercer 442; Reba Windom 192; Jenny Willard 460; Jim Helke 309; Kristin Zoellner 235; Jenn Blair 344; Lynn Dixon 82t; Carol Crawford 115; Val Eng 280; Carol Buche 143.


Martha Henderson brought the class back to order leading 288. Leaders: Paul Figura 135; Paul Wyatt, Paul Wilson, Jeanette Nelson, and Kit Canwright-Pfau 203; Midge Olsen, Eleanor Haase, Martha Henderson, and Stacey Berkheimer 84; Michael Thompson and Kristie Harju 282; Ted Mercer 278b; Mike Hinton 146; Henry Schuman 52t; Reba Windom 384; Steven Schmidgall and Karen Swenson 102; Denise Kania 217; Steve Luttinen 400.

The secretary reported that today 92 leaders led 75 songs, and the total for the weekend was 186 leaders leading 156 songs. Singers came from 15 states: Alabama, Georgia, California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Wisconsin, and the Canadian Provinces of Alberta and Manitoba.

The resolutions committee gave thanks for all the efforts that brought this convention together.

Announcements were made. Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen led 347 as the closing song. Ted Mercer offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Next year’s convention will be held September 27-28, 2008.

Chairpersons—Denise Kania and Steve Luttinen; Secretary—Stephen Parker