Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

College Station, Texas

February 24-25, 2007

Saturday, February 24

The Texas State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order on Saturday before the 4th Sunday in February at 10:00 a.m. Diane Ross called the class together leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Elder Billy Moseley.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Diane Ross; Vice Chairman—Kevin Powell; Secretary/Treasurer—Liz Owen. The Memorial Committee, Nominating Committee, and Arranging Committee were appointed by the chair.

Leaders: Diane Ross 63; Kevin Powell 107; Liz Owen 171; Scott Curran 192; Gaylon Powell 318; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 354b; Linda Booker 143; Cissy Moseley 532; Frank Price 127; Vivian Rogan 163b; Evelyn Lamb 198; Mike Moseley 269; Bill Bailey 42; Sarah Huckaby 203; Garrett Powell 299; Rebecca Edwards 72b; Sonny Huckaby 400; Catherine Rogan 344; Owen Ross 349; Gary Rogan 324.


The class was brought back to order by Diane Ross leading 145t. Leaders: Crystal Meadows 330t; Reed Coates 442; Mike Hinton 480; Amanda Owen 503; Alexa Gilmore 348b; Tom Owen 491; Sonny Erwin 350; Cheryl Foreman 475; Olivia Powell 384 (for Mary Ballinger and Leon Ballinger); Donald Ross 530; Don Barker 145b; Katie Mahoney 499; Tammy Powell 454; Bruce Coates 150; Amy Denison 410t; Anne Moseley 338; Rich Lee 168; Barbara Moore 312b; Greg Bowles 31t; Katie Moseley 134; Sonny Huckaby 186; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 68b. Elder Sonny Huckaby offered the noon prayer.


The afternoon session began with Diane Ross leading 112. Leaders: Mike Moseley 30b; Frank Price 64; Evelyn Lamb 245; Cheryl Foreman 53; Owen Ross 302; Jeremy Boyd 117; Amy Denison 170; Crystal Meadows 29t; Cissy Moseley 142; Scott Curran 455; Anne Moseley 34b; Mike Hinton 527; Catherine Rogan 215; Bill Bailey 176b; Reed Coates 306; Gary Rogan 110; Sarah Huckaby 542; Rebecca Edwards 148; Linda Booker 490.


The class was brought together by Kevin Powell leading 535. Leaders: Billy Huckaby 294; Greg Bowles 201; Gaylon Powell and Alice Johnson 128; Bill Giesenschlag 73b; Alexa Gilmore 270; Tom Owen and Gary Hamilton 347; Sonny Erwin 99; Amanda Owen 441; Donald Ross 153; Olivia Powell 274 (t? b?); Don Barker 452; Katie Mahoney 37b; Tammy Powell and Sherry Burrow 178; Bruce Coates 235; Rich Lee 220; Vivian Rogan 282; Josh Martin and Lloyd Wright 328; Barbara Moore 137. Diane Ross led 277 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Owen Ross.

Sunday, February 25

Diane Ross called the convention to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Dr. Don Barker.

Leaders: Diane Ross 144; Kevin Powell 523; Liz Owen 208; Beverly Coates 283; Barbara Moore 171; Gary Rogan 383; Sarah Huckaby 122; Rebecca Edwards 155; Jeb Owen and Riley Owen 401; Ines Luttgen 430; Josh Martin 86; Linda Booker 87; Billy Huckaby 196; Kevin Powell 376; Mike Hinton 456; Reed Coates 222; Gaylon Powell 380; Scott Curran 460; Diane Ross 543; Catherine Rogan 172; Bill Bailey 332; Sonny Erwin 113; Alexa Gilmore 217.


The class was brought back together by Liz Owen leading 74b. Leaders: Amanda Owen 84; Don Barker 159; Katie Mahoney 564; Tammy Powell 216; Bruce Coates 313b; Tom Owen 98; Olivia Powell and Garrett Powell 354b; Rich Lee 134b; Vivian Rogan 36b; Donald Ross 507; Liz Owen 472; Beverly Coates 327; Gary Rogan 276; Sarah Huckaby 65; Rebecca Edwards 105; Ines Luttgen 163t; Josh Martin 504; Linda Booker 163b; Mike Hinton 373; Reed Coates 39t; Gaylon Powell 296.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Mike Hinton, who led 549 in memory of the following deceased: Sandy Stewart, Verna Powell, and Harvey Bass—Texas; Marcia Tucker—California; John Hyde and Heath Jett—Alabama; Bobby Jackson—Georgia.

Mike Hinton led 384 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Leon Ballinger, Mary Ballinger, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Myrl Jones, Lawson Smith, Jr., Marie Smith, Leland Owen, Dick Maudlin, Amanda Denson, and Mary L. Smith. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Scott Curran 34t; Catherine Rogan 35; Bill Bailey 42; Sonny Erwin 569t; Billy Huckaby 312b; Alexa Gilmore 335. Noon prayer was offered by Jeb Owen.


The afternoon session was called to order by Diane Ross leading 56t. Leaders: Katie Mahoney 33b; Amanda Owen 47b; Don Barker 97; Tammy Powell 189; Bruce Coates 133; Garrett Powell 299; Tom Owen 528; Olivia Powell 240; Rich Lee 495; Vivian Rogan 49t; Kevin Powell 442; Donald Ross 271t; Liz Owen 273; Bill Giesenschlag 58; Diane Ross 497; Josh Martin 107; Linda Booker 147t.

A business meeting was held, and new officers were elected: Chairman—Kevin Powell; Vice Chairman—Katie Mahoney; Secretary—Liz Owen. The financial report was read. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Beverly Coates 474; Gary Rogan 234; Sarah Huckaby 319; Rebecca Edwards 146; Ines Luttgen 120; Mike Hinton 340; Scott Curran 73t; Gaylon Powell 83b; Catherine Rogan 218; Bill Bailey 535; Billy Huckaby 424 (for Mary Ballinger and Leon Ballinger); Sonny Erwin 339; Alexa Gilmore 101t; Katie Mahoney 425.

Diane Ross led 531 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Diane Ross; Vice-Chairman—Kevin Powell; Secretary—Liz Owen