Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain High Sacred Harp Convention

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum,
Albuquerque, New Mexico

September 23-24, 2006

Saturday, September 23

The seventeenth annual Rocky Mountain Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in September at the Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Paul Lindholm led 33b and Daniel Davis called the class to order leading 34b. The opening prayer was lead by Norma Ruptier.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Daniel Davis; Secretary—Nancy Nortz.

Leaders: Nancy Nortz 39t; Sally Gwylan 114; Ginnie Ely 228; Betty Semadeni 276; Janet Morgan 277; Sandy Klein 421; Margaret Leonard 288; Pete Mathewson 480; Carter Clary 515; Karl Dise 320; Page Winslett 430; Paul Gauthier 542; Russ Nye 106; Larry Matlock 332; Ed Stevens 282; Gaylon Powell 498; Leon Ballinger 327; David McPherson 300; John Schaffer 313b; Norma Ruptier 168.


The singing resumed with Donald Klein leading139. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 556; Marilyn Murata 80t; Sarah Heartsong 475; Katie Mahoney 72b; Allan Stavely 479; Rich Lee 68b; Eric Morgan 186; Alexa Gilmore 157; Carol Selleck 73t; Mike Hinton 146; Tammy Powell 163b; Naomi Frick 148; Jeanne Schaffer 143.


The singing resumed with Claire Singleton leading 40. Leaders: Harlan Van Camp 192; Kay Sirco 99; Abigail Sewell 63; Rene Greene 217; Ila Jean Nye 171; Donna Sewell 452; Shelbie Sheppard 269; Aziza Cooper 155; Pam Nunn 220; David Ivey 500; Karen Ivey 472; Paul Lindholm 456; Ginnie Ely 196; Janet Morgan 35; Sandy Klein 497; Margaret Leonard 401; Pete Mathewson 448t; Carter Clary 86; Karl Dise 362.


Ginnie Ely called the afternoon session together with 313t. Leaders: John Schaffer 38b; Daniel Davis 481; Gaylon Powell 374; Norma Ruptier 312b; Donald Klein 344; Gerald Hand 379; Marilyn Murata 200; Leon Ballinger 195; Rich Lee 535; Alexa Gilmore 229; Mike Hinton 340; Katie Mahoney 426b; Carol Selleck 47t; Sarah Heartsong 323b; Tammy Powell 189; Naomi Frick 350.


Eric Morgan led 208 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jeanne Schaffer 198; Claire Singleton 82t; Abigail Sewell 128; Kay Sirco 84; Rene Greene 222; Harlan Van Camp 209; Donna Sewell 31t; Sally Gwylan 159; Shelbie Sheppard 211; David McPherson 569b; Allan Stavely 236; Ila Jean Nye 178; Aziza Cooper 510; Pam Nunn 528; Russ Nye 213b; Paul Gauthier 384; David Ivey 90; Ed Stevens 294; Claire Singleton 448b; Karen Ivey 112; Ginnie Ely 546; Pete Mathewson 503; Donald Klein 438; Joslene Morgan 107; Gaylon Powell 328; Paul Lindholm 349; Margaret Leonard 47b; Sandy Klein 268.

Sunday, September 24

The Sunday session was called to order by Daniel Davis leading 34b. Leaders: David McPherson 59; Ed Stevens 135; Joslene Morgan 480; Jeff Sheppard 383; Steve Cackley 287; Sally Gwylan 65; Nancy Nortz 71; Mariann Miera 478; Daniel Davis 214; Gerald Hand 72b; Kenneth Edlund 49b; Pam Nunn 280; Kay Sirco 369; Rene Greene 76b.


Pete Mathewson brought the class together leading 32t. Leaders: Jeanne Schaffer 127; Leon Ballinger 66; Donna Sewell 460; David Ivey 48t; Russ Nye 120; Norma Ruptier 30t; Marilyn Murata 492; Eric Morgan 203; Mike Hinton 490; Karl Dise 304; Paul Gauthier 455; Janet Morgan 106; Tammy Powell 216; Carter Clary 47b; Abigail Sewell 282; Katie Mahoney 131b; Carol Selleck 99; John Schaffer 150.


The singing resumed with Harlan Van Camp leading 46.

Carol Selleck conducted the memorial lesson and led 499 for the following deceased and for the sick and shut-ins: Sharon Smith Stevenson—Texas; John Hyde, Lois Stanson, and Teddy Creel—Alabama; Harold Howland—Rhode Island; Sgt. Phillip Dotson—Georgia; Pauline Davidson—Pennsylvania; Isobel Boyd—United Kingdom.

The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Myra Palmer and Ophelia Matthews—Texas; Amanda—New Mexico; Ennis Kelley—Colorado/ Oklahoma; Richard Mauldin and Amanda Denson—Alabama; Darlene Dalton—Alabama/Nevada; Laura Engles—Arizona; Onieta Smucker—Washington; Jim Singleton—Lancashire, United Kingdom; Fumie Murata and Shisue Sugimoto—California; Tammie Ziola—Oregon. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Allan Stavely 58; Karen Ivey 567; Harlan Van Camp 547; Alexa Gilmore 274t; Ila Jean Nye 551; Rich Lee 64; Donald Klein 395; Gaylon Powell 299; Paul Lindholm 29t; Sandy Klein 142.


The afternoon session was brought together by Claire Singleton leading 497. Leaders: Pete Mathewson 382; Kay Sirco 505 (CB); Pete Mathewson 338; Eric Morgan 300; Pam Nunn 224; Mike Hinton 543; Abigail Sewell 312b; Alexa Gilmore 215; Jeff Sheppard 172; Nancy Nortz 209; Karen Ivey 371; David Ivey 272; Marilyn Murata 218; Gerald Hand 38b; Rene Greene 454; Paul Gauthier 378b; Chloe Webb 512; Leon Ballinger 137; Steve Cackley 124; Sandy Klein 117; Kathy Mahoney 89; Paul Lindholm 163t.


The singing resumed with Gaylon Powell leading 442. Leaders: Tammy Powell 222; Rich Lee 436; Donald Klein 193; Karl Dise 128; Gaylon Powell 503; Ginnie Ely 502; Ila Jean Nye 452; Joslene Morgan 245; Kenneth Edlund 569b; Martina Mesmer 108t; David McPherson 347; Janet Morgan 77t; Claire Singleton 273; Carol Selleck 77b; Larry Matlock 457; Allan Stavely 61.

The Treasurer expressed thanks for the generous financial support of the attendees.

Announcements were made. The Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention will meet next fall in Colorado.

Daniel Davis expressed thanks to all who worked to make this convention possible. Norma Ruptier offered the closing prayer.

Daniel Davis led 62 as the closing song while those who wished took the parting hand.

Chairman—Daniel Davis; Secretary—Nancy Nortz.