Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chattahoochee Convention

Wilson’s Chapel, Carrollton, Georgia

August 5-6, 2006

Saturday, August 5

The 154th session of the Chattahoochee Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August at Wilson’s Chapel, near Carrollton, Georgia. Chairman Sheri Taylor led 142 and 84 to open the convention. Lonnie Rogers offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Phillip Langley 192; Jeannette DePoy 55; Lonnie Rogers 186; Richard Mauldin 358 (in honor of his father); Charlene Wallace 171; Robert Chambless 480; Helen Bryson 411; Andy Anderson 384; Lisa Webb 528; Jason Hollis 30t; Sandra Wilkinson 288; Andy Morse 540; Jane Spencer 542; Richard DeLong 395; Sue Bunch 49t; Jeremy Shipp 108t; Rachel Speer 112; Stanley Edwards 488; Marilyn Bradley 503; Mike Spencer 547.


The class resumed singing with the following leaders: Oscar McGuire 276; Laura Frey 163b.

A business session was held with following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Donna Duke; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers; Assistant Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Arranging Committee—Lela Crowder and Oscar McGuire.

Leaders: Karen Rollins 178; Aldo Ceresa 359; D.J. Hatfield 296; Lou Cotney 222; Hugh McGraw 37t; Lela Crowder 336; Erica Hinton 77t; Charles Woods 169; Harry Eskew 146; Ellie Soler 504; Bentley McGuire 208; Kelly Morris 535; Eddie Mash 86; Amanda Denson 399t; Judy Chambless 527; Gabriel Pline 361; John Plunkett 125.


Sheri Taylor opened the afternoon session leading 215. Leaders: Kiri Miller 430; Ted Mercer 434; Arlene Woods 479; John Whittermore 40; Barbara Berry 128; Kevin Moreno 365; Joyce Walton 439; Greg Mulkern 111b; Carly Goss 182; Morgan Bunch 485; Jennifer Latimer and Anna Latimer 358; Dean Jens 377; Nora Dunn 216; Nathan Rees 436; Joan Durdin 148; Glenn Latimer 323 (t? b?); Sara Ward 105; Nick Griffin 551; Jeremy Shipp and Molly Nelson 210; Helen Bryson 456.


The class resumed singing with the following leaders: Lela Crowder 82t; Rachel Speer 328; Dean Jens 29b; Jenna Frey 401; Barbara Berry 300; Harry Eskew 47b; John Plunkett 317; Kiri Miller and James Baumgartner 37b; Aldo Ceresa 224; Kevin Moreno 333; Nora Dunn 80t; Ted Mercer 151; Joyce Walton 414; Amanda Denson 376; Kelly Morris 159; Sue Bunch and Morgan Bunch 34t; Oscar McGuire 451.

Sheri Taylor and John Plunkett led 323t as the closing song. After announcements were made, Richard Mauldin dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 6

Sheri Taylor led 300 and 56b to bring the Sunday morning session to order. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 467; Donna Duke 217; Judy Chambless 82t; Tony Hammock 61; Lauren Harrison 282; Andy Morse 481; Eddie Mash 107; Carlene Griffin 146; Laura Frey 178; Robert Chambless 145t; Malinda Snow 496; Charlene Wallace 302; Hugh McGraw 448b; Phillip Langley 142; Jeannette DePoy 392; Sherry Lovvorn 454; Lisa Webb 235; Andy Anderson 45t; Lela Crowder 421.


Mark Puckett called the class to order leading 460. Oscar McGuire led 573.

Kiri Miller and Lisa Webb conducted the memorial lesson. Kiri Miller read the list of the following deceased: Mary Morse, Carolyn Huckeba, Donnie McGraw, and Bobby Jackson—Georgia; Teddy Creel, Elsie Beasley, Lois Stanson, and Ora Lee Fannin—Alabama; Patrick Gileg and Nancy Levy—New York; Mark Seiler—Maine. Kiri and Lisa Webb led 454 for the deceased.

Kiri Miller read the list of the sick and shut-ins and led 30b in their honor: Mary L. Smith, Henry Guthery, Elsie Moon, Charlotte Creel McCarn, Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Jimmie Denney, Donald L. Willard, Jr., Violet Thomason, Mr. and Mrs. A.B. Hubbard, Howard McGuire, Herby Bailey, Mary Cole, and Erica Hinton. Lonnie Rogers closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Scott DePoy 457 (in memory of his mother); Nora Dunn 187; Mike Thompson 162; Greg Mulkern 426b; Karen Clark 501; Kevin Moreno 99; D.J. Hatfield 316; Emily Creel 318; Aldo Ceresa 442; Ted Mercer 132; Kiri Miller 203; Danny Creel 196; Richard DeLong 513; Lonnie Rogers 389.


The afternoon session was called to order by John Plunkett leading 52t. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 216; Carly Goss 293; Lori Goode and Mary Elizabeth Goode 25b; Lauren Harrison and Curtis Harrison 503; Nathan Rees 444; Amanda Denson 422, 446; Eric Robertson 101t; Cecil Roberts 489; Richard Mauldin 168; Jenna Frey 124; Earlis McGraw 475; Gene Duke 499; Paul Robinson 128; Nick Griffin 96; Nora Dunn 240; J.J. Ryan 410t; James Baumgartner 76b; Kevin Moreno 193; Danny Creel 269; Eddie Mash 225t; Karen Clark 173.


Sheri Taylor led 209 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Aldo Ceresa 214; Carly Goss 271t; Greg Mulkern 455; Kiri Miller 495; Ted Mercer 275t; Emily Creel 77t; D.J. Hatfield 53; Michael Thompson 384; Nathan Rees 68t; Lauren Harrison and Curtis Harrison 236; Sheri Taylor 477.

A business session was held to hear reports from various committees.

The Finance Committee (Phillip Langley and Andy Morse) reported that a collection of $462.60 was received. Sixty dollars was used to pay for the printing of the minutes, with the remaining funds given to Wilson’s Chapel.

D.J. Hatfield delivered the Resolutions report.

A motion was made and carried that the reports be accepted as read, and added to the minutes.

Announcements were made. Sheri Taylor and John Plunkett led 62 as the closing song. Lonnie Rogers dismissed the convention with prayer.

Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Donna Duke.