Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Varina Masonic Lodge, Richmond, Virginia

November 12-13, 2005

Saturday, November 12

The fourteenth annual James River Convention was held on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November at the Varina Masonic Lodge in Richmond, Virginia. Chairman Blake Morris brought the class to order, welcomed everyone, and led 141. Craig Baughan offered the morning prayer. Pat Temple led 34b; Don Polaski 73b; Mary Wright 35; Stephen McMaster 77b; Craig Baughan 178.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pat Temple; Vice Chairman—Don Polaski; Treasurer—Blake Morris; Secretary—Mary Wright; Chaplain—Craig Baughan; Memorial—Beth Todd; Arrangements—Stephen McMaster, Jim Strube, and Phil Rubin; Resolutions—Joan Aldridge; Pitching—Blake Morris, Paula Picton, Doron Henkin, and John Feddersen; Kitchen—Pat Temple, Judy North, and Laura Densmore; Forms/flyers—Judy North; Registration—Norma Morris.

Leaders: Gail Doss 79; Jim Wantland 107; Sandra Hack Polaski 142; Jim Glaser 207; Joe Todd 373; Frances Schutz 112; Mary Chris Harrison 71; Phil Rubin 32b; Mary Langley 159; Mary DeNys 285t; Jim Strube 148; Leyland delRe 296; D.J. Hatfield 430; Kathy Tucker 299; Hank Schutz 503.


The class was called together by Chris Sepic leading 163 (t? b?). Leaders: Kelly Macklin 428; Marty DeNys 232; Paula Picton 135; Chris Sepic 350; Kathy Manning 475; John delRe 58; Laura Densmore 102; Tom Ivey 196; Joan Aldridge 228; Doron Henkin 377; Tim Slattery 32t; Beth Todd 319; Sharon Strong 89; Miriam Kilmer 378b; Bev Yaeger 203; Blake Morris 103; Pat Temple 473; Don Polaski 332; Mary Wright 290; Craig Baughan 42; Gail Doss 191; Jim Wantland 84; Sandra Hack Polaski 495; Joe Todd 179; Frances Schutz 504; Greg Freeman 160b; Stephen McMaster 362. Pat Temple led 49t as the blessing for the noon meal.


D.J. Hatfield called the afternoon session together with 376. Leaders: Jim Glaser 282; Tom Tucker 267; Chris Sepic 276; Mary DeNys 229; Hank Schutz 183; Lucy Roberts 186; Frank Evans 312b; Miriam Kilmer 344; Laura Densmore 370; Kelly Macklin 392; D.J. Hatfield 222; Paula Picton 572; Marty DeNys 454; Kathy Tucker 385 (t? b?); John delRe 348b; Blake Morris 532; Beth Todd 284; Greg Freeman 567; Tom Ivey 198; Kathy Manning 371; Tim Slattery 120; Sharon Strong 479; Jim Strube 66.


The singing resumed with Stephen McMaster leading 31t. Leaders: Joan Aldridge 150; Leyland delRe 505; Bev Yeager 192; Mary Chris Harrison 315; Mary Langley 492; Doron Henkin 95; Phil Rubin 457; Kathy Tucker 480; John delRe 113; Beth Todd 225t; Greg Freeman 288; Tom Ivey 268; Kathy Manning 300; Tim Slattery 171; Sharon Strong 335; Jim Strube 354b; Marty DeNys 269; Blake Morris 30b; Pat Temple 347; Don Polaski 270.

Sunday, November 13

The Sunday session was called to order by Pat Temple leading 27. The opening prayer was offered by Craig Baughan. Leaders: Blake Morris 297; Gail Doss 99; Phil Rubin 426b; Laura Densmore 76b; Judy North 515; Craig Baughan 144; Don Polaski 220; Joe Todd 65; Jim Strube 313b; Sharon Strong 334; Doron Henkin 193; Beth Todd 39t; Tom Ivey 163t; Lucy Roberts 352; Guy Bankes 556; Leslie Alperin 163b; Ina Henkin 162; John Feddersen 412; Frank Evans 49b; Joan Aldridge 445.


John Feddersen brought the class together leading 385b. Leaders: Pat Temple 33t, 400; Blake Morris 111b, 415; Gail Doss 112, 114; Phil Rubin 235, 126; Laura Densmore 328, 365; Stephen McMaster 77t, 446; Craig Baughan 122, 569b; Doron Henkin 456, 133.

Beth Todd conducted the memorial lesson and led 82t for the deceased. The deceased remembered were Sushila Peterson and Kelly Beard—Texas; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Greg Stark—Maryland; Shirley Toner—Maine; Diane Knippers—Virginia; Maxine Roberts—South Carolina; Tom Gibney—New Jersey; Phil Tabor—Tennessee.

The sick and shut-ins were remembered in the singing of 340: Pat Walthers, Carole Vance, and George Tutwiler—Virginia; Margaret DeBolt—Georgia. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Don Polaski 408, 384; Ina Henkin 29b, 339; Joe Todd 124, 442; Jim Strube 47b, 332; Mary Wright 270, 390; Tom Ivey 212, 254; Sharon Strong 358, 29t; Guy Bankes 151, 189. Craig Baughan gave the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought together by Beth Todd leading 501 and 436. Leaders: Hannah Polaski 299; John Feddersen 472, 528; Sandra Hack Polaski 198, 497; Lucy Roberts 410t, 53; Frank Evans 178, 186; Laura Densmore 369, 538; Guy Bankes 391, 351; Blake Morris 45t (by request), 298, 57; Leslie Alperin 268, 228; Joan Aldridge 546, 474.


The class was called to order by Joe Todd leading 81t. Leaders: Lucy Roberts 547; John Feddersen 362; Tom Ivey “Martial Trumpet” (SoH) (his arrangement); Leslie Alperin 38b; Joan Aldridge 273; Jim Strube 84.

The treasurer expressed thanks for the financial support that enabled the convention to meet its expenses.

Joan Aldridge gave the Resolutions Report thanking all of those without whom the convention would not have been a success: all officers and committees; those who cooked, brought food and worked in the kitchen; those who took care of registration, forms and flyers; and those who opened their homes to visitors. Thanks were given to God for the good weather, fine fellowship, and glorious music.

Announcements were made. Following the singing of 62, a prayer of dismissal by Craig Baughan concluded the convention.

The James River Convention will meet next year on the second Sunday in November and the Saturday before, November, 11-12, 2006.

Chairman—Pat Temple; Vice Chairman—Don Polaski; Secretary—Mary Wright.