Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Varina Masonic Lodge, Richmond, Virginia

November 13-14, 2004

Saturday, November 13

The thirteenth annual James River Convention was held on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November at the Varina Masonic Lodge in Richmond, Virginia.

Chairman Gail Doss brought the class to order, welcomed everyone, and led 145b. Jim North offered the morning prayer. Blake Morris led 300; Lois Badey 34b; Mary Wright 290.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Blake Morris; Vice Chairman—Pat Temple; Treasurer—Lois Badey; Secretary—Mary Wright; Chaplains—Craig Baughan, Sandra Hack Polaski, and Jim North; Memorial—Craig Baughan; Arrangements—Lois Badey; Resolutions—Laura Densmore; Pitching—Blake Morris, Doron Henkin, John delRe, Paula Picton, and John Feddersen; Kitchen—Pat Temple, Stephen McMaster, Mary Langley, Laura Densmore, Jim North, and Judy North; Forms/flyers—Judy North; Registration—Norma Morris.

Leaders: Blake Morris 291; Kim Moreno 270; Joan Aldridge 276; Kevin Moreno 344; Gail Doss 148; Ernest Blake 49b; Craig Baughan 178; Lucy Roberts 288; Stephen McMaster 318.

Gail Doss introduced a representative from the “Voice of America” who received permission to record and conduct interviews.

Leaders: Erin Kelly 368; Jim Wantland 497; Laura Densmore 142; John delRe 70 (t? b?), 448t (by request); Liz Cusick 496; Nora Dunn 319; Pat Temple 473; Cathy Tucker 144; Don Polaski 454; Mary Ann Daly 474; Paula Picton 39t; Tom Tucker 331.


The class was called together by Blake Morris leading 32t. Leaders: Doron Henkin 430; Kat Kinkade 528; Leyland delRe 157; Sandra Hack Polaski 192; Bev Oneida 440; Jim Strube 217; Mary Chris Harrison 71; Kim Moreno 448b; Frank Evans 66; Joan Aldridge 189; Kevin Moreno 31t; Gail Doss 38b; Ernest Blake 38t; Craig Baughan 347; Lucy Roberts 183; Stephen McMaster 269; Erin Kelly 481; Jim Wantland 254; Laura Densmore 29t; John delRe 30b Liz Cusick 168. Craig Baughan offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Blake Morris called the afternoon session together with 73b. Leaders: Nora Dunn 106; Pat Temple 282; Cathy Tucker 61; Kelly Macklin 240; Don Polaski 436; Mary Ann Daly 441; Paula Picton 573; Tom Tucker 480; Doron Henkin 193; Leyland delRe 151; Sandra Hack Polaski 268; Bev Oneida 362; Jim Strube 354b; Mary Chris Harrison 128; Fred Beardsley 81t.


The session resumed with Stephen McMaster leading 63. Leaders: Mary Wright 303; Kim Moreno 179; Joan Aldridge 280; Frank Evans 64; Kevin Moreno 245; Lucy Roberts 82t; Lamar Matthew 317; Ernest Blake 84; Erin Kelly 111b; Jim Wantland 48b; Laura Densmore 236; Blake Morris 141; John delRe 272; Nora Dunn; Cathy Tucker 385 (t? b?); Doron Henkin 275 (t? b?); Blake Morris 56t.

A late afternoon session organized by Blake Morris featured new music and music from sources other than “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

Sunday, November 14

The Sunday session was called to order by Blake Morris leading 474. The opening prayer was offered by Jim North.

Leaders: Pat Temple 33t; Mary Wright 335; John Fedderson 385 (t? b?); Joan Aldridge 150; Ernest Blake 228; Lucy Roberts 198; Guy Bankes 54; Erin Kelly 68b; Laura Densmore 53; Cathy Tucker 332; Don Polaski 300; Lynda Hambourger 453; Doron Henkin 564; Craig Baughan 569 (t? b?); Barbara Hohenstein 504; Tom Tucker 426 (t? b?); Clare Chapin 86.


Blake Morris brought the class together leading 45t. Leaders: Miriam Kilmer 178; Tim Slattery 344; Peter Pate 475; Stephen McMaster 77b; Frank Evans 501; Sandra Hack Polaski 455; John Fedderson 192; Joan Aldridge 540; Ernest Blake 382; Lucy Roberts 209; Guy Bankes 481; Pat Temple 373; Erin Kelly 553; Laura Densmore 542; Cathy Tucker 391; Don Polaski 446; Lynda Hambourger 318; Mary Wright 390; Lois Badey 47t.

Craig Baughan conducted the memorial lesson, stating that death was a division of trust and doubt, and we must trust in God. He reminded us that being cold from within may hinder us from ministering to those who are sick, and then led 122.

The deceased remembered were: Allan Fannin and Joyce Wheeler—New York; Nancy Mullenex and Mary Ann Williamson—Washington, D.C.; Hermon Lasyone—Louisiana; Cheryl Doehler—New Jersey; Margaret Rennie and Jay Pace—Virginia; Art Broadus—North Carolina; Ada Mergus—Ohio; J.C. Hardin—Alabama.

The sick and shut-ins remember were: Marilyn Darch—California; Margaret Peckman—Florida; Carol Myers and Jean Richards—Pennsylvania; Carole Vance—Virginia; Roxanna Mennella and Bronwyn Densmore—New York; Renita Mayes—Georgia; Susan Kelly—North Carolina; John Hocutt and Amanda Denson—Alabama. Craig Baughan concluded the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Tom Tucker 100; Clare Chapin 503. Jim North gave the blessing for lunch.


The afternoon session was brought together by Stephen McMaster leading 146. Leaders: Miriam Kilmer 378b; Guy Bankes 352; Joan Aldridge 273; Peter Pate 346; Lucy Roberts 59; Tim Slattery 52 (t? b?); John Fedderson “Omagh”; Cathy Tucker 350; Hannah Polaski 299; Lynda Hambourger 448t; Laura Densmore 384; Barbara Hohenstein 457; Ernest Blake 448b; Frank Evans 315; Craig Baughan 324; Don Polaski 408; Pat Temple 400; Tom Tucker 215; Clare Chapin 484; Sandra Hack Polaski 112.


The class was called to order. Leaders: Peter Pate 37b; Guy Bankes 151; Miriam Kilmer 163 (t? b?); Joan Aldridge 269; Lucy Roberts 551; John Fedderson 306; Lynda Hambourger 189; Laura Densmore 83t.

The Treasurer expressed thanks for the financial support that enabled the convention to meet its expenses.

Laura Densmore gave the Resolutions Report thanking all of those without whom the convention would not have been a success: all officers and committee; those who cooked, brought food, and worked in the kitchen; those who handled the registration, forms, and flyers; and those who opened their homes to visitors. Thanks were given to God for the good weather, fine fellowship, and glorious music.

Leaders: Ernest Blake 203; Peter Pate 197; Tom Tucker 369; Tim Slattery 415; Cathy Tucker 510; Blake Morris 510, 62. A prayer of dismissal by Jim North concluded the convention.

The James River Convention will meet next year on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November, November 12-13, 2005.

Chairman—Blake Morris; Vice Chairman—Pat Temple; Secretary—Mary Wright.