Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Convention

College Station Conference Center, College Station, Texas

February 24-25, 1996

Saturday, February 24

The fourth annual Texas State Convention met at College Station Conference Center in College Station, Texas. Preceding the convention, a singing school was held by Charles Whitmer. Chairman Mike Hinton called the convention to order leading song on page 59. After opening prayer by B. E. Matthews, Chairman Mike Hinton led song on page 452. Vice Chairman Don Barker then led 145b, and Secretary Gaylon Powell led 328. The following leaders were called: Greg Economides 528; Bill Reynolds 159; Ophelia Matthews 480; Baron Powers 268; Sarah Coates 224; Peter Nichols 128; Chris Blevins 400; Vivian Rogan 49t; Tom Owen 492; Emmie Morris 475; Beverly Coates 472; Tammy Powell 546; Michael Moseley 142; Jennifer Rogan 112; Leon Ballinger 460; Owen Ross 66; Troxel Ballou 61; Mary Bachmann 64.


Chairman Mike Hinton called the singers back leading song on page 340. Leaders: Charles Whitmer 218; Edith Owen 34b; Ernestine Pipkin 146; Myrl Jones 189; Barbara Moore 312b; David Moseley 117; Josh Rogan 63; Al Rogers 198; Diane Ross 504; Kelly Beard 347; B. E. Matthews 318; Glenn Davis 58; Reed Coates 47t; Monnie Ross 148; Doris Hanks 384; Michele Rogan 38t; Jeb Owen 373.


After Vice Chairman Don Barker called the singers back, leading song on pgae 354b, the following leaders were called: Don Ross 391; Amanda Owen 84; Ray Barnett 294; Mary Oruc 178; Gary Rogan 47b; Kevin Powell 240; Marcelene Hardy 172; Elizabeth Rogan 216; Leland Owen 73t; A. A. Smith, Jr. 383; Bruce Coates 73b; John Morris 512; Myra Palmer 436; Gaylon Powell 267 (by request); Greg Economides 532; Owen Ross 361; David Moseley 40; Chris Blevins 171. Committees were appointed: Memorial Committee—Beverly Coates, Al Rogers, and Barbara Moore; Nominations Committee—Doris Hanks, Greg Economides, and Jeb Owen.


Mike Hinton called singers back leading song on page 490. Leaders: Amanda Owen 300; Kevin Powell 535; Baron Powers 79; Sarah Coates 344; Troxel Ballou 65; Tammy Powell 454; Elizabeth Rogan 168; Reed Coates 133; Marcelene Hardy 192; Josh Rogan 439; Jeb Owen 182; Jennifer Rogan 324; Doris Hanks 176b; Ophelia Matthews 569b; Glenn Davis 53; Michele Rogan 45t. Mike Hinton led 72b for the closing song for the day. The singing closed with prayer by Leon Ballinger.

Sunday, February 25

The Convention met Sunday morning with Chairman Mike Hinton calling the session to order leading song on page 143. After prayer by B. E. Matthews, the following leaders were called: Vice Chairman Don Barker 97; Secretary Gaylon Powell 335; A. A. Smith Jr. 406; Edith Owen 47t; Ray Barnett 408; John Morris 377; Joan Porter 457; Kay Martin 276; Andrew Albers 573; Don Ross 284; Pam Rainoshek 143; Josh Rogan 117; Bernice Cottle 61; Trish Henderson 236; Myrl Jones 142; Amanda Owen 36b; Owen Ross 168.


Don Barker called the singers back leading song on page 82t. Leaders: Gary Rogan 369; Tom Owen 250; Baron Powers 358; Mary Oruc 49b; Leon Ballinger 137; Ernestine Pipkin 186; Doris Hanks 448b; Elizabeth Rogan 215; Jeb Owen 480; Emmie Morris 273; Mary Bachmann 538; Jennifer Rogan 196.

This being the time for the Memorial Lesson, Barbara Moore made a few comments and read the list of names: Oma Porter, Estelle Terry, Cobie Allen, Floyd Stiefel, Arnevis Norton, Ethel Clark, Dale Redmon, Sr., Lewis Vaughn, and Kevin Aplin. Al Rogers led 285t in their memory. Beverly Coates led 147t for the sick and shut-ins. Mike Hinton led the class in prayer to close the morning session.


Secretary Gaylon Powell called the singing back to order leading song on page 312b. Leaders: Charles Whitmer 556; Hobie Henderson 330b; B. E. Matthews 434; Diane Ross 354 (t? b?); Myra Palmer 208; Reed Coates 49t; Glenn Davis 146; Al Rogers 452; Michele Rogan 274t; Barbara Moore 145b; Sarah Coates 440; Marcelene Hardy 112; Bruce Coates 387; Ophelia Matthews 565b; Vivian Rogan 100; Leland Owen 235b; Kelly Beard 542; Peter Nichols 546. A short business meeting was held. The following were nominated and elected for the 1997 session: Don Barker, Chairman; Bruce Coates, Vice Chairman; Gaylon Powell, Secretary. Announcements were made.


The singers were called back by Mike Hinton leading song on page 288. Leaders: Beverly Coates 163b; Monnie Ross 108b; Doris Hanks 34 (t? b?); Kay Martin 267; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Andrew Albers 399 (t? b?); Greg Economides 551; A. A. Smith, Jr. 384; Tom Owen 442; Baron Powers 119; Myra Palmer 441; Diane Ross 455; John Morris 448t; Leon Ballinger 405; Don Ross 225t; Emmie Morris 220; Kelly Beard 485; Owen Ross 212. The fifth annual session will return to the College Station Conference Center the fourth Sunday in February and Saturday before in 1997. After the closing prayer by Curtis Owen, the convention closed with Mike Hinton leading song on page 62. Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Don Barker; Secretary—Gaylon Powell.