Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Decatur, Illinois

September 20-21, 2003

Saturday, September 20

The nineteenth annual session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was held at the Rock Springs Center for Environmental Discovery. Terry Hogg called the convention to order at 9:30 a.m. After welcoming remarks, thanking everyone who came, he led 34b. Mark Graber offered the opening prayer.

Previously elected or appointed officers and committees included: Chairmen—Terry Hogg and Berkley Moore; Secretary—Janet Fraembs; Arranging Committee—Berkley Moore and Barbara A. Moore; Memorial Committee—Jim Page and Lee Steinmetz; Finance Committee—Barbara A. Moore; Resolutions Committee—Becky Schildman and Janet Fraembs; Steering Committee—Terry Hogg, Berkley Moore, Becky Schildman, Janet Fraembs, and Don Baker.

Songs were called from “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition”, and “The Missouri Harmony, 1994 replica Edition.”

Leaders: Berkley Moore 123b; Barbara A. Moore 141; Janet Fraembs 284; Don Baker 312b; Becky Schildman 128; Lori Graber 127; Jessica Beer 74b; Bob Meek 515; Jerome Colburn 42; Dave Ressler 84; Jill Accetta 277; David Rust 138t; Gwen King 107; Joan Aldridge 276; Michele Cull 36b; Dorothy Amare 89.


Terry Hogg brought the class back to order leading 49t. Leaders: Lee Steinmetz 49b; Paul Figura 100 (MH); James Page 131 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 510; Peggy Brayfield 57b (MH); Samuel Sommers 548; Pete Ellertsen 32t; Penny Kujawinski 75 (MH); Shirley Figura 68b; Terry Hogg 112; Berkley Moore 215; Jessica Beer 392; Lori Graber 368; Bob Meek 490; Jerome Colburn 159.


Berkley Moore resumed the singing leading 229. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 421; Dave Ressler 46b (MH); Jill Accetta 29b; Don Baker 129; David Rust 102; Gwen King 436; Joan Aldridge 142; Michele Cull 168; Dorothy Amare 155; Lee Steinmetz 28b; Paul Figura 36b (MH); James Page 110 (MH).

Chaplain Don Baker asked the blessing, and the class was adjourned.


Peggy Brayfield brought the class back together leading 335. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 497; Val Dunagan 288; Dick Dunagan 273; Samuel Sommers 426b; Peggy Brayfield 121 (MH); Pete Ellertsen 135; Penny Kujawinski 474; Shirley Figura 30b; Terry Hogg 535; Jessica Beer 328; Lori Graber 430; Bob Meek 294; Jerome Colburn 148; Berkley Moore 37t (MH); Janet Fraembs 218; Dave Ressler 181; Jill Accetta 171.

At this time the Resolutions Committee presented a certificate of thanks to Peggy Brayfield in appreciation for all she has done to promote Sacred Harp singing in Illinois and to wish her well as she leaves in January for a two-year Peace Corps assignment to the Union of South Africa. Becky Schildman, Janet Fraembs, and Peggy Brayfield then led 178.


Terry Hogg brought the class back to order leading 501. Leaders: Mary Bachmann—“Huntington II”; David Rust 528; Joan Aldridge 228; Michele Cull 448t; Dorothy Amare 460; Lee Steinmetz 250; Paul Figura 65b (MH); James Page 31t (MH); Lou Kujawinski 350; Val Dunagan 66; Dick Dunagan 45t; Samuel Sommers 207.

Terry Hogg led 46 as the closing song. Pete Ellertsen offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

A social time of food and fellowship was enjoyed at the home of Terry Hogg.

Sunday, September 21

The Sunday session was called to order by Terry Hogg leading 36b. Don Bardsley offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Berkley Moore 56b; Barbara A. Moore 145b; Janet Fraembs 91; Don Baker 133; Becky Schildman 117; Lori Graber 120; Jessica Beer 370; Jill Accetta 67; Peggy Brayfield 38b; Penny Kujawinski 99; Presley Barker 28b (MH); Don Bardsley 163b; Mike Veech 218; David Rust 52b; Joan Aldridge 276; Lee Steinmetz 154.


Mike Veech brought the class back leading 147t. Leaders: James Page 105 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 332; Val Dunagan 171; Dick Dunagan 312b; Samuel Sommers 518; Terry Hogg 340; Janet Fraembs 143; Don Baker 267; Lori Graber 327; Jessica Beer 446; Peggy Brayfield 556; Jill Accetta 106; Berkley Moore 278b; Penny Kujawinski 83t; Presley Barker 112.

James Page conducted the memorial lesson and spoke for the deceased. He reminded us of the connections to one another and to all living things that we experience through our Sacred Harp traditions. One of the most meaningful of those traditions is the Memorial Lesson, when we remember those who have sung with us or shared a place in our lives. All creatures and the whole earth are a part of that connection. We may have diverse viewpoints and come from different backgrounds, but we all share one “Ground of Being” and, as the hymn tells us, “Through every age, eternal God, Thou art our rest, our safe abode” so that as we come to our final resting place, we are safe and at peace. He then led 142 as we remembered: Elder Donald Smith, Lamar Smith, Ruth Brown, Allie Aldridge, and Lucille Burks—Alabama; Bruce Ketelle and Roberta Grimes—Tennessee; Myrtle Meek and Jim Zehm—Kentucky; Bill Keasby—Oregon; Carl “Bud” Hamilton (son of Hazel Henry)—Illinois. Lee Steinmetz spoke for the sick and shut-ins and recalled a recent time when he was recovering from surgery and was cheered by the gift of flowers (Give them the roses while they live...), an unexpected surprise (a frog jumping out of the flowers), and being told that he was prayed for. He admonished us to cheer our friends who are sick and to let them know we are praying for them. He then led 565 for: Virginia Evans, Karen Hojnacki, Billie Mowery, Sandy Walker, Sharon White, and Suzanne Checchia—Illinois; Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, and Vera Handrick—Wisconsin; Betty Hensley and Scott Moore—Kentucky; Nick Pender—Georgia; Alan Bates—England. He then closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Don Bardsley 285t; Mike Veech 547.

Lori Graber asked the noon blessing, and the class was adjourned.


Don Bardsley brought the class back leading 479. Leaders: David Rust 195; Joan Aldridge 269; Lissa Blood 297; Lee Steinmetz 513; James Page 106 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 473; Val Dunagan 474; Dick Dunagan 65; Kathy Kaiser 504; Samuel Sommers 24b; Terry Hogg 212; Berkley Moore 101 (MH); Janet Fraembs 235; Don Baker 162; Becky Schildman 148; Lori Graber 454; Jessica Beer and Joan Aldridge 383.


Presley Barker brought the class back leading 116 (MH). Leaders: Peggy Brayfield 385b; Jill Accetta 549; Kathy Kaiser 335; Penny Kujawinski 384; Presley Barker 63t (MH); Don Bardsley 336; David Rust 365; Joan Aldridge 189; Lissa Blood 290; Lee Steinmetz 81 (t? b?); James Page 411; Lou Kujawinski 477; Val Dunagan 352; Dick Dunagan 448b; Samuel Sommers 176t.


The class resumed singing with Berkley Moore leading 348b. Leaders: Jessica Beer 101t; Jill Accetta 76b; Peggy Brayfield 385t; David Rust 74t; Kathy Kaiser 86; James Page 45 (MH).

A business session was held to hear various committee reports.

The Resolutions Committee Report was given. “Be it resolved that we give thanks to God, whose name we praise to:

  • The many members of the Sacred Harp community who came from near and far;
  • The Rock Springs Center for Environmental Discovery for the use of this beautiful facility;
  • The many singers who provided leadership, hard work, and food and drink to sustain and revive us;
  • Terry Hogg, Larry Devocell, and Helen Hogg who served so graciously as Decatur hosts;
  • The Holy Spirit who moved among us and made us one family.”

The business session was closed.

Announcements were made. The class sang 347 as the closing song, and Peggy Brayfield dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairmen—Berkley Moore and Terry Hogg; Secretary—Janet Fraembs.