Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Mattoon and Charleston, Illinois

September 23-24, 1995

Saturday, September 23

The eleventh annual session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at the DeMars Center, Peterson Park, Mattoon, Illinois, with Janet Fraembs leading the song on page 312 (t? b?). The officers of the convention are: Chairperson—Janet Fraembs; Secretary—Molly Evans; Arranging Committee—Don Bardsley; Chaplain—Lee Steinmetz. The morning prayer was led by Lee Steinmetz. Leaders: Don Bardsley 497; Molly Evans 203; Lee Steinmetz 68b; Daryl Mayberry 556; Jim Page 216; Ruth White 146; Ann Werhane 155; Peggy Brayfield 481; John Bailey 59; Marvin Miller 68t; Joan Aldridge 475; Elene Stovall 192; Dick Dunagan 344; Val Dunagan 186; Jerry Enright 270; Lissa Blood 153; John Seaton 47t.


The class continued singing with Mike Veech leading song on page 28b. Leaders: Beverly Enright 480; Dave Ressler 183; Becky Browne 299; Gary Gronau 99; Marcia Johnson 368; Jeanette Lowry 29b; Ted Mercer 139; Melanie Hauff 27; Ted Johnson 215; Lisa Grayson 522; Judy Hauff 166b; Jim Solheim 274t; Don Bardsley 250; Janet Fraembs 532; Dick Dunagan 426t; Daryl Mayberry 454; Lee Steinmetz 163b; Ann Werhane 87; Molly Evans 489. The following committees were appointed: Finance Committee—Mike Veech; Memorial Committee—Ruth White, Jerry Enright, and Val Dunagan; Chaplain Lee Steinmetz asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Janet Fraembs brought the afternoon session together leading song on page 154. Leaders: Don Bardsley 335; Jim Page 268; Ruth White 143; Marvin Miller 148; Lisa Grayson 436; Peggy Brayfield 66; Dave Ressler 419; Joan Aldridge 269; John Bailey 313t; Elene Stovall 222; Jim Solheim 444; Val Dunagan 371; Jerry Enright 317; Marcia Johnson 372; Gary Gronau 224; Lissa Blood 82t; John Seaton 384; Mike Veech 168.


Ted Johnson brought the class back leading song on page 348b. Following announcements for the benefit of those who would not be present on Sunday, the class resumed singing with leaders as follows: Judy Hauff 220; Jeanette Lowry 29t; Beverly Enright 273; Ted Mercer 326; Melanie Hauff 328; Becky Browne (for Karen Isbell) 142; Lee Steinmetz 149; Joan Aldridge (for Karen Hojnacki) 198; Don Bardsley 178; Daryl Mayberry 456; Jim Page 228; Ann Werhane 117; Jim Solheim 421; Becky Browne 171; Dave Ressler 196; Elene Stovall 430; Jeanette Lowry 112. At this point, Don Bardsley suggested the convention extend a special thank you to Frank Fraembs (husband of Janet Fraembs) for his many years of service as registrar for the Illinois Convention, even though he is not a singer. He was acknowledged with a well-deserved round of applause. The Saturday session was closed with Janet Fraembs leading song on page 46, and Lee Steinmetz offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, September 24

The Sunday morning session of the convention was called to order in the Coles County Courthouse, Charleston, Illinois, by Don Bardsley, the chairman for Sunday, leading song on page 171. Janet Fraembs served as the arranging committee for the Sunday session. The morning prayer was led by Lee Steinmetz. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 63; Molly Evans 107; Lee Steinmetz 236; Jerry Enright 448t; Daryl Mayberry 270; Elene Stovall 217; Val Dunagan 145b; Beverly Enright 40; John Bailey 84; Peggy Brayfield 504; Ted Mercer 48b; Ann Werhane and Nancy Jenks 49b; Joan Aldridge 535; Terry Hogg 112; Lisa Grayson 370; Ruth White 66; Jim Page 65; Presley Barker 313b; Lissa Blood 278t.


Dick Dunagan called the class together leading the song on page 31t. Leaders: Mike Veech 547; Joan Aldridge 29t; Beverly Enright 441; Elene Stovall 37b; Jerry Enright 433; Ann Werhane 32t; Lisa Grayson 30t; James Page 377; Ted Mercer 521; Presley Barker 86. The Memorial Committee presented the memorial lesson. Ruth White led 28b for the sick and shut-ins and reminded us to remember those who are ill and unable to be with us. They are: Judy Bell, North Carolina; Karen Isbell, St. Louis; Sally Compton, Elburn, Illinois; Karen Hojnacki, Wisconsin. Val Dunagan asked us to remember the singers who are no longer with us, leading 285t for the the deceased. They are: Hoyt Renfroe, Alabama; George Klein, Florida; Lola Steinmetz, Charleston. Chaplain Lee Steinmetz closed with prayer. Leaders: Lee Steinmetz 373; Lissa Blood 71; Don Bardsley 138b, followed by the blessing.


The afternoon session was called back by Don Bardsley leading song on page 59. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 501; Terry Hogg 68b; Mike Veech 143; Val Dunagan 448b; John Bailey 87; Peggy Brayfield 128; Ruth White 361; Molly Evans 515; Bob Meek 178; Jerome Colburn 42; Scott Smith 250; Val Dunagan 350; Peggy Brayfield 485; Dick Dunagan 101t; Lissa Blood 89; Ann Werhane 82t; Presley Barker 142; Hal Malehorn 28t.


Don Bardsley called the class back leading song on page 106. Leaders: Jim Page 545; Scott Smith 133; Mike Veech 455; Lee Steinmetz 513; Terry Hogg 117; Janet Fraembs 335; Molly Evans 147t; John Bailey 532; Ruth White 551; Virginia Evans 454; Peggy Brayfield 452; Don Bardsley 268; Lee Steinmetz 565; Don Bardsley 49 (t? b?). Don Bardsley then led the closing song on page 347, Christian’s Farewell, followed by the closing prayer.

Chairpersons—Janet Fraembs and Don Bardsley; Secretary—Molly Evans.