Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

March 23-24, 2013

Saturday, March 23

The 52nd session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was held the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church in Carrollton, Georgia. Matt Hinton called the class together leading 101t. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer. Matt Hinton welcomed everyone to the convention.

Leaders: Lauren Bock 37b; Charlene Wallace 97; Riley Lee 155; Lela Crowder 421; John Kelso 138b; Mark Godfrey 39b; Jeannette DePoy 89; B.M. Smith 48t; John Plunkett 121; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 298; David Brodeur 441; Tony Hammock 83b; Mary Brownlee 183; Erin Mills 203; John Hollingsworth 415; Faye Hollis 299; Harry Eskew 128.


Matt Hinton and Justyna Orlikowska brought the class back to order leading 33b. Leaders: Robert Chambless 494; Donna Bell 68b; Kathy Williams 472; Jason Stanford 405; Daniel Lee 523; Oscar McGuire 276; Rebecca Over 506; Wendy Futral 36b; Faye Gibson and Philip Denney 120; Michael Spencer 420; Amy Armstrong 112; Erica Hinton 123b; Jesse Roberts 260; Lloyd Ivey 283.

A business session was held with the following officers and committee members elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Lauren Bock; Vice Chairperson—Karen Rollins; Secretary/Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Nathan Rees; Arranging Committee—Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Amy Armstrong, Scott DePoy; Memorial Committee—Mike Hinton, Riley Lee; Resolutions Committee—Justyna Orlikowska, Ellen Lueck, Matt Hinton; Locating Committee—Philip Denney, Michael Spencer, Jeannette DePoy; Finance Committee—B.M. Smith, David Brodeur.

A plaque was presented to the children of Mr. Lonnie Rogers in commemoration of his life-long dedication to Sacred Harp singing. John Plunkett, Mike Hinton, and Nathan Rees spoke on behalf of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company in honor and appreciation of Mr. Lonnie’s contribution to the singing community.


Lauren Bock brought the class back to order by leading 105. Leaders: Leigh Cooper 204; Henry Johnson 409; Leanne Carter 313b; Mary Elizabeth O’Neal and Shane O’Neal 163b, 358; Fallon Cook 192; Micah Roberts 40; Anna Hinton 300; Judy Chambless 501; Ann Webb 282; George Burnett 76b; Bill Hollingsworth 68t; Chris Sawula and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 107.


Karen Rollins brought the class back together leading 46. Leaders: Michael Thompson and Joyce Walton 500; Buell Cobb 92; Chris Brown 205; Eli Hinton 268; Emily Creel 442; Judy Caudle 272; Erin Johnson-Hill 440; Wade Kotter 217; Cindy Tanner 220; Justyna Orlikowska 344; Dan Hunter 342; Mike Hinton 532; Mary Wright 477; Ellen Lueck 65; Ann Jett 530; Nathan Rees 333; Kama Dembinska 318; Judy Whiting 222; Hubert Nall 168; Clarissa Fetrow 30t; Danny Creel 383; Phil Summerlin 270; Angela Myers 426b; Pat Temple 373; Rodney Ivey and Karen Rollins 389; Janice Paulk 518; Nate Green and Norma Green 438.


Jesse P. Karlsberg and Claudia Smigelski called the class back together leading 503. Leaders: Louis Hughes 512; Cheyenne Ivey 56t; Richard Mauldin 84; Rebecca Over 29t; Ellen Lueck and Erin Johnson-Hill 445; Emily Creel and Danny Creel 269; Justyna Orlikowska and Kama Dembinska 134; Chris Brown and Judy Whiting 72b; Mike Hinton 48b; Jesse Roberts, Micah Roberts, and Leanne Carter 481; Clarissa Fetrow 209; Mary Brownlee 47b; Jessica Harris and John Kelso 29b; Michael Spencer 278t; Wendy Futral 100.

Announcements were made. Lauren Bock led 69b as the closing song. Matt Hinton offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, March 24

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Lauren Bock leading 31b. Nathan Rees offered the morning prayer. Lauren Bock welcomed the singers and visitors.

Leaders: Karen Rollins 32t; Charlene Wallace 171; Lela Crowder 145t; Nathan Rees 285b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 275b; Philip Denney 168; Judy Chambless 549; John Plunkett 391; Erica Hinton 111b; John Hollingsworth 408; Faye Hollis 283; Leigh Cooper 371; Denney Rogers, Rodney Ivey, and Wade Kotter 143; Michael Spencer 393; Daniel Lee 63; Scott DePoy 440.


Lauren Bock and Megan Friddle brought the class back together leading 82t. Leaders: Mark Godfrey 448t; Judy Mincey 367; Matt Hinton 365; Erin Mills 332; David Brodeur 434; Jeannette DePoy 142; Richard Mauldin 446; Anna Hinton 40; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Susan Cherones 186; B.M. Smith 460; Malinda Snow 370; Daniel Hunter 400.


Lauren Bock and Jesse P. Karlsberg led 74b to bring the class to order. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 485; Nate Green and Norma Green 347; Shane O’Neal 47b; Michael Thompson and Joyce Walton 292; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Mary Wright 546.

Mike Hinton and Riley Lee conducted the memorial lesson. Mike Hinton read the names of those on the sick and shut-in list that included Stella Pratt, Josie Hyde, Johnnie Chafin, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Eugene Forbes, Cath Tyler, Don Buswell, Anita Buswell, Bess Fitzgerald, Tat Bailey, Lois Bowman, David Fuller, Jane Hoey, and Raymond Hamrick. Mike led 318 to honor these singers.

Riley Lee spoke in honor of the deceased who included the following: Harrison Creel, Ernie Jett, Myrtle Ann Beasley, Pernie Adams Pelfrey, Charles Creel, Bill Tanner, and Leona Haynes—Alabama; Julietta Haynes—Tennessee; Gertrude DeLong, Nancy Yeager, Johnny Kelso, Sr., Violet Thomason—Georgia; Alicia Kennedy—Michigan. He led 541 in their memory. Shane O’Neal closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 348b; Charles Woods 197; Fallon Cook 542; Robert Chambless 145b; Cecil Roberts 477.


Nathan Rees brought the class together leading 64. Leaders: Judy Caudle 540; Henry Johnson 439; Kathy Williams 180; Coy Ivey 384; Jenna Frey 358; Angela Myers 456; Richard Ivey 556; Sheri Taylor 200; Rodney Ivey 382; Justyna Orlikowska 411; Chris Brown 350; Kelsey Ivey 328; Mike Hinton and Richard Mauldin 534; Kama Dembinska 216; Riley Lee 558; Judy Whiting 208; Wade Kotter 457 (in memory of Lora Kotter); Rebecca Over 306; Clarissa Fetrow 419; Betty Marvin 34b; Pat Temple 33t; Ellen Lueck 498; Reba Windom 436; Katy Kanfer 75; Erin Johnson-Hill 224; Jane Spencer 500; Mary Elizabeth O’Neal 344; Molly Ellis 376; Earlis McGraw 284; Daphene Causey 196; Louise Holland 47t; Robert Dupree 569b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg and Claudia Smigelski 68b.

The convention went into a business session to hear reports from the various committees. The Finance Report was given by Charlene Wallace. The Resolutions Committee submitted their report that thanked Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, along with all those involved in helping the singing to run smoothly. The Locating Committee reported that they received no letters of request for the convention. Unless the Chairman receives a letter of request within 60 days after the convention, the 53rd session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention will be held the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church in Carrollton, Georgia. All reports were approved and the business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Lauren Bock, Karen Rollins, Charlene Wallace, Lela Crowder, and Nathan Rees led 62 as the closing song. Riley Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Lauren Bock; Vice Chairperson—Karen Rollins; Secretary/Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder