Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Henagar-Union Convention

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

July 3-4, 2010

Saturday, July 3

The 94th session of the Henagar-Union Convention held at Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama, was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Shane Wootten leading 27. The morning prayer was offered by Ron Harper.

Leaders: Loyd Ivey 32t; David Ivey 110; Donna Wootten 76b; Jesse Roberts 538; Eugene Forbes 168; Mary Amelia Taylor 280; Phillip Denney and Gail Denney 340; Hubert Nall 36b; Joanna Lampert 402; Velton Chafin 449; Arlon Gardner 277; Ruth Dolby 40; John Kelso 448t; Bob Simmons 569b; Jim Aaron 503; Fred Hoerr and Marti Hoerr 30b; Ann Mashack 34b; J.L. Hopper 242; Harrison Creel 342; Liz Owen 208; Frank Strickland 480.


The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Donna Wootten; Arranging Committee—Cassie Allen and Scott Ivey.

Leaders: Loyd Ivey 108t; B.M. Smith 448b; Ron Harper 442; Stephanie Laubscher and Molly Ellis 274t; Karen Ivey and Judy Waters 47b; Steve Kick 475; Phillip Gilmore, Paula Gilmore, Rebekah Gilmore, Grace Gilmore, and Jewel Gilmore 146; Hannah Tate and Ken Tate 436; Riley Owen and Jackson Owen 401; Ainslie Allen and Emma Calvert 76b; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Alex Craig 178; Zach Craig 337; Syble Adams and Jeff Adcock 445; Paula Oliver 192; Tom George and Dennis George 232; Karen Clark and Coy Ivey 384 (in memory of Jerry Enright); Danny Creel, Cindy Tanner, Ann Jett, and Wanda Capps 327; Bill Beverly and Martha Beverly 504; Charlie Derleth, Paul Figura, Shirley Figura, Roberta Strauss, and Becky Browne 68b; Geraldine Sharpton, Rodney Ivey, and Taft Bailey 35.


The class was brought back together by David Ivey leading 101t. Leaders: Nate Green and Norma Green 426b; Andrew Kiser 344; Zack Rogan 186; Sandra Wilkinson 137; Brad Bahler, Karen Bahler, and John Bahler 276; Scott DePoy and Jeannette DePoy 99; Nathan Rees and Jonathon Smith 129 (in memory of Japeth Jackson); Julianna Jett 142; Oliver Kindig-Stokes 272; Wendy Futral 283; Emma Rose Brown 64; Jeremy Shipp 111b; Brenda Chafin Merritt 336; Vivian Rogan 84; Matt Hinton and Erica Hinton 460; Tim Taylor 270; S.T. Reed 278b; Carol Munro Mosley and Michael Mosley 492; Alvaro Duarte 312b; Julietta Haynes 217. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Jesse Roberts.


The afternoon session began with Shane Wootten leading 74b. Leaders: Michael Thompson 318; Henry Johnson 177; Rob Kelly 368; Idy Kiser 385b; Blake Sisemore 532; Tom Malone 316; Judy Caudle 540; Bud Oliver 42; Kelsey Sunderland 500; Emily Burleson and Cassie Allen 454; Justin Levi 381; Sarah West 498; Lela Crowder 278t; Julian Damashek 187; Gary Rogan 319; Betty Shepherd 216; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 349; Myles Dakan 80t; Richard Ivey and Stuart Ivey 456; Jeb Owen 472; Aldo Ceresa 434.


Marlon Wootten and Shane Wootten led 97 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Scott Ivey 182; Darrell Swarens 63; Linda Sides 328; Scott Curran 112; Rachel Hall 191; Lauren Bock 197; Ruth Wampler 184; Samuel Sommers 437; Nate Zweig 439; Reba Windom and Eloise Wootten 542; Stephanie Fida 497; Elene Stovall and Julian Damashek 200; Xaris Martinez 530; Joyce Walton 392; Floy Wilder 227; Jan Ketelle 440; John Plunkett 94; Delone Cobbs and Jennifer Clay 329.

Richard Ivey and Rodney Ivey led 56t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Blake Sisemore, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, July 4

The Sunday session of the Henagar-Union Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Richard Ivey leading 82t. Leaders: Shane Wootten 47t; Loyd Ivey 426t; Donna Wootten 167; Scott Ivey 31t; Bud Oliver 270; Leah Latimer 358; Daniel Lee 328; Loretta Smith 551; Linton Ballinger 182; Virginia Eldridge 436; Barrett Patton 142; Jamey Wootten 384; Mary Ruth Stiefel 280; Lori Rodgers 503; John Bahler 448t; Buell Cobb 409; Robert Chambless 163b; Michele Rogan 455; Julian Damashek 171; Tom Malone 291; James Eldridge 349; Jared Wootten 217.


David Ivey led 75 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jackson Harcrow 224; Scott DePoy and Jeannette DePoy 106; Sarah West 370; Roberta Strauss 74b; Larry Ballinger 151; Alvaro Duarte 335; Bobbie Watkins, April Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 110; Ruth Wampler and Susan Cherones 521; Aaron Wootten 39t; Glenn Latimer 277; Susan Harcrow 400; Alex Makris 222; Shirley Figura 361; Myles Dakan 553; Joan Aldridge 198; Arlon Gardner 67; Jackie Tanner 73t; Stephanie Fida 124; Lomax Ballinger 389; Judy Chambless 494.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Cindy Tanner and Tony Ivey. Cindy spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins and read the following names: Myrtle Wootten, Bill Tanner, Jimmie Gilmore, Mildred Patterson, Violet Thomason, Lonnie Rogers, Ginny Whitworth, and Carol Buche. She led 345t in their honor.

Cindy read the following names of the deceased: Corene White, Charlotte McCarn, Uel Freeman, Willie Mae Moon, Thurman Nall, Japeth Jackson, Edna Smothers Reed, Maudie Frederick, Dan Greeson, Clinton Ivey, and Malvie Clayton—Alabama; Jimmy Denney, Dutch Webb—Georgia; Maudie Thompson—Tennessee; Bill Ellason—Missouri; Ray Tate—Arkansas; Cindy Kissee—Minnesota; Jerry Enright—Illinois; Nancy Katzen—Pennsylvania; Michael Squizzero—Rhode Island; Ron Japello, Diane McFadden—Vermont. Tony Ivey spoke and led 275b in their memory. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Samuel Sommers.

Leaders: Marty Wootten 542; Paula Oliver and Scot Oliver 100; Rebecca Eldridge 36t; Bill Beverly 547; Andrew Kiser 300; Eddie Mash 470. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Eddie Mash.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Dennis George leading 172. Leaders: Cassie Allen and Rodney Ivey 77t; Ricky Harcrow 564; Joel Jenkins and Sarah Jenkins 500; Adrian Eldridge 319; Emma Rose Brown 153; Lisa Geist 304; Steven Taylor 276; Scott Curran 228; Brad Bahler, Karen Bahler, Claudene Townson, and Holly Hauck 29t; Brian Maxwell, Jaren Maxwell, Avalea Maxwell, Isaac Maxwell, Gavin Maxwell, Rion Maxwell, and Anzlea Maxwell 46; Chris Ballinger 391; Coy and Marie Ivey family 384; Gary Rogan and Vivian Rogan 282; Loyd Ivey family 501 (CB); Samuel Sommers 207; Charlie Derleth, Paul Figura, Shirley Figura, Becky Browne, and Stuart Ivey 348b; Michael Mosley 214; Joanna Lampert 441; Tony Kiser and Corbin Rodgers 457; Oliver Kindig-Stokes and Kelsey Sunderland 292; Nate Zweig 49b; Hobert Ivey family and Darrell Swarens 72b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 560.


The class was brought back together by Richard Ivey and Stuart Ivey leading 81t. Leaders: Zack Rogan 410t; Justin Levi 380; Matt Hinton 422; Rachel Hall 377; Idy Kiser and Martha Beverly 268; Ruth Dolby 350; Erica Hinton 534; Reba Windom, Betty Shepherd, Judy Caudle, and Angela Myers 196; Blake Sisemore and Jeffrey Wootten 460; Elene Stovall and Henry Johnson 440; Dewayne Wootten, Levon Wootten, and Terry Wootten 101t; Dennis George and Tom George 431; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Brent Mann, Jenny Mann, and Kennedy Wootten 155.

Richard Ivey, Loyd Ivey, Marlon Wootten, and Coy Ivey led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Tony Ivey, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Donna Wootten