Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

Conference Center, College Station, Texas

February, 27-28, 1999

Saturday, February 27

The Texas State Convention met at the Conference Center in College Station, Texas for the seventh annual session. Chairman Gaylon Powell called the class to order leading song on 70t. Elder Bill Moseley offered the invocation. Gaylon Powell led song on page 328; Vice Chairman Jeb Owen 455; and Secretary Vivian Rogan 282. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 120; Myrl Jones 430; Zach Rogan 280; Glenn Davis 40; Beverly Coates 548; Chris Blevins 176b; Josh Rogan 454; John Morris 319; Edith Owen 150; Don Barker 145 (t? b?); Donald Ross 573; Amanda Owen 535b; Robert Handel 515; Sarah Coates 306; Kevin Powell 107; Catherine Rogan 146; Baron Powers 85; Nathan Morgan 142; Reed Coates 350; Katie Moseley 189.


Vice Chairman Jeb Owen brought the class back together leading song on page 475.

Tom Owen, Cheryl Forman, and Baron Powers were appointed to the Nominating Committee. Olivia Blevins, Myrl Jones, and Don Barker were appointed to the Memorial Committee.

Leaders: Ryan Ross 196; Ophelia Matthews 490; Michele Rogan 178; Olivia Blevins 168; Bruce Coates 34t; Ronald Baker 148; Mary Bachmann 171; Myra Palmer 318; Gary Rogan 209; Cheryl Forman 77t; Diane Ross 504; B.E. Matthews 436; Doris Hanks 36b; Tom Owen 532; Liz Rogan 546. Father Ron Baker offered prayer for the noon meal and the class was dismissed for lunch.


Tom Owen led song on 56t to bring the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Mike Moseley 434; Curtis Owen 204; Cissy Moseley 34b; Glenn Davis 58; Don Barker 354b; Amanda Blevins 117; John Morris 390; Josh Rogan 216; Edith Owen 276; Chris Blevins 163t; Beverly Coates 524; Leon Ballinger 137; Myrl Jones 300; Zach Rogan 128; Steven Latimer 198; Reed Coates 551; Nathan Morgan 212; Sarah Coates 112.


Chairman Gaylon Powell led song on page 442 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Derek Boen 47t; Robert Handel 153; Amanda Owen 344; Ronald Baker 159; Baron Powers 268; Liz Rogan 192; Donald Ross 183; Doris Hanks 448b; Ryan Ross 217; Cheryl Forman 81t B.E. Matthews 200; Myra Palmer 273; Gary Rogan 234; Diane Ross 543. Elder Chris Blevins dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, February 28

The Sunday session of the Texas State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Chairman Gaylon Powell leading song on page 138 (t? b?). Justice Donald Ross offered the opening prayer. Vice Chairman Jeb Owen led song on 99; Secretary Vivian Rogan led song on 49t.

Leaders: Michele Rogan 236; Bruce Coates 201b; Olivia Blevins 283; Tom Owen 283; Ophelia Matthews 569b; Zack Rogan 282; Kevin Powell 383; Mary Bachmann 534; James Moseley 378t; Doris Hanks 384; Monnie Ross 108b; Dan Brittain 481; Sue Hanson 280; Hill Grimmett 497.


Vivian Rogan brought the class together leading song on page 61. Leaders: Charles Whitmer 320; Josh Rogan 182; Cissy Moseley 143; Reed Coates 480; Mike Moseley 475; Diane Ross 503; Baron Powers 335; Cheryl Forman 535; Gary Rogan 299; Derek Boen 39b; Myra Palmer 208; Donald Ross 567; Sarah Coates 74b; Don Barker 452.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Don Barker read Psalms 23. Myrl Jones read the names of those who had passed on during the past year and led song on page 285t in their memory. Those remembered: Louis Smith, Herbert Leopard, Wayne Chambers, and Carl Cecil Paris. Myra Palmer led song on page 189 in memory of Louis Smith. Gaylon Powell led song on page 176t in memory of Herbert Leopard.

Olivia Blevins led song on 45t for the sick and shut-ins which included: Verna Powell, Ed Craig, Alcie Craig, Mildred Edmonds, Junior Smith, Lawson Smith, Jean Ballinger, and Richard Daniels. The memorial was closed. Billy Huckaby offered the dismissal prayer.


Chairman Gaylon Powell brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 313t. Leaders: John Morris 222; Liz Rogan 203; Leon Ballinger 426b; Beverly Coates 472; B.E. Matthews 156; Edith Owen 47t; Amanda Blevins 163t; Katie Moseley 240; Curtis Owen 68b; Myrl Jones 373; James Moseley 101t; Doris Hanks 63; Monnie Ross 448b; Charles Whitmer 504; Michele Rogan 215; Hill Grimmett 277; Sue Hanson 82t; David Moseley 380; Dan Brittain 209.


Jeb Owen brought the class together with song on 47b. Leaders: Kevin Powell 56b; Mary Bachmann 235; Bruce Coates 387; Olivia Blevins 290; Zach Rogan 128; Ophelia Matthews 512; Tom Owen 528; Josh Rogan 220; Reed Coates 358; Mike Moseley 179; Diane Ross 347; Baron Powers 119; Cheryl Forman 231; Gary Rogan 369; Donald Ross 368; Sarah Coates 448t; Don Barker 59.

The Nominating Committee presented this slate of officers for next year: Chairman—Jeb Owen; Vice Chairman—John Morris; Secretary—Vivian Rogan. The slate was accepted by acclamation. Don Barker agreed to make arrangements for rooms to be reserved at the Hampton Inn. All the financial needs of the convention were met. Announcements were made. Gaylon Powell, Jeb Owen, and Vivian Rogan led song on page 62. Curtis Owen offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Gaylon Powell; Vice Chairman—Jeb Owen; Secretary—Vivian Rogan.