Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention

Montezuma Lodge #1, Santa Fe, New Mexico

September 22-23, 2018

Saturday, September 22

The 28th annual Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention, New Mexico Session, was held in Santa Fe, New Mexico, on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in September. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Leslie Alperin leading 59. She welcomed the class, and thanked Charles Whitmer, who had taught a singing school earlier that morning. Jean Merritt offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sally Gwylan; Treasurer—Sally Gwylan; Secretary—Leslie Alperin.

Leaders: Harlan Van Camp 171; Laura Densmore 313t; Anita Landess 77t; David Schmitt 77b; Janet Morgan 270; Lamar Matthew 156; Sally Gwylan 383; Sally Langendorf 87; William Price 312b; Allan Stavely 479; Eloise Clark 300; Craig Averill 63; Carol Selleck 89; Erin Fulton 501; David McPherson 430; Nancy Price 384; Judy Van Duzer 153; Eric Metzler 66; Larry Hand 72b; Nancy Nortz 33b.


Robert McKay called the class back together leading 277. Leaders: Erika Roush 481; Marjorie Mullany 183; Carla Smith 480; Corrie Van Duzer 217; Erik Mason 135; Ellen Ray 101t; Donna Sewell 282; Charles Whitmer 218; Chris Nicholson 34b; Jean Merritt 474; David Hand 128; Paige Winslet 81t; Leslie Alperin 344; Cathy Van Blerkom 168. Jean Merritt offered the blessing of the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with David McPherson leading 49t. Leaders: Stephanie Fida 216; Evelyn Lamb 232 (in memory of Barbara Losse); Harry Scott 276; Julie Johnson 31t; Abbie Sorg 452; Andrew Snyder 198; Janet Plattner 47b; Paul Lindholm 564; Will Sims 178; Catie Van Duzer 441; Mimi Faraj 131t; Eric Morgan 186; Marilyn Murata 200; Robert McKay 448t; Sally Langendorf 548; Lamar Matthew 388; Laura Densmore and Steven Hoyt 549; Erin Fulton 124; Carla Smith 67; Janet Morgan 76b.


The class was brought back to order by Eric Metzler leading 65. Leaders: Liz Bryant 425; Eloise Clark 532; Paige Winslett 361; Erika Roush 107; Donna Sewell 146; Jean Merritt and Harlan Van Camp 280; Craig Averill 49b; William Price 547; Nancy Price 569b; Charles Whitmer 320; Nancy Nortz 379; David Hand 400; Judy Van Duzer 313b; Corrie Van Duzer 230; Sally Gwylan 324; Anita Landess 312t; David Schmitt 106; Chris Nicholson 212; Erik Mason 354t; Carol Selleck 424; Ellen Ray 512; Cathy Van Blerkom 442; David McPherson 50t; Evelyn Lamb 522; Harry Scott 155; Marilyn Murata 274t.

The chairman shared comments and concerns. Jean Merritt dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, September 23

The Sunday session of the Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Sally Gwylan leading 171. Claire Singleton offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Claire Singleton 228; Larry Hand 282; Eric Morgan 344; Leslie Alperin 454; Allan Stavely 148; Will Sims 71; Marjorie Mullany 302; Mimi Faraj 535; Stephanie Fida 28b; Julie Johnson 143; Andrew Snyder 268; Abbie Sorg 532; Paul Lindholm 422; Janet Plattner 159; Catie Van Duzer 492; Harry Scott 524; Sally Langendorf 401; Lamar Matthew 35; Laura Densmore 349.


The class was brought back together by Harlan Van Camp leading 46. Leaders: Erin Fulton 472; Carla Smith 115; Janet Morgan 68b; Liz Bryant 542; Eloise Clark 486; Robert McKay 39t; Paige Winslett 288.

Carol Selleck conducted the memorial lesson. She spoke for sick and housebound, and read the following list of names: Norma Ruptier, Michael McKernan, Kathy Garrett, Ed Stevens, Donald Lewis, Steve Hoyt, Kathryn Glatter, Curtis Owen, Amy Wilson and baby girl, Chuck Grant, and Kathleen Mark Waxman. Eric Morgan led 50b in their honor.

Carol then spoke for the deceased and read the following list of names: Mark Powers—New Mexico; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Donna Andrews, Theodore Knox, Jim Van Winkle, Barbara Greenspan, Lou Curtis, and Bill Knox—California; Edith Owen, Amy Denison, and Mel Rosenbaum—Texas; Barbara Willard and Rodney Willard—Arizona; George Snyder—Georgia; Julie Vea—Wisconsin; Michael Kaye—New York; Barbara Losse—Utah; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Berkley Moore and Ann Sleeva—Illinois; Elizabeth Rechenberg—Ohio; and Keith MacAdam—Kentucky. Carol led 420 in memory of the deceased. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Claire Singleton.

Leaders: Donna Sewell 40; Erika Roush 126; Craig Averill 276; William Price 29t; Corrie Van Duzer 352; Nancy Price 551; Charles Whitmer 504; Sally Gwylan 326; Anita Landess 111t; Chris Nicholson 473; Erik Mason 229; Ellen Ray 426t; Cathy Van Blerkom 278t. Claire Singleton asked a blessing before the midday meal.


David McPherson called the class together leading 452. Leaders: Evelyn Lamb 485; David Hand 312b; Judy Van Duzer 283; Marilyn Murata 456; Claire Singleton 124; Will Sims 48b; Harlan Van Camp 86; Eric Morgan 245; Nancy Nortz 270; Carol Selleck 285b; Stephanie Fida 165; Marjorie Mullany 284; Andrew Snyder 269; Allan Stavely 58; Robert McKay 70b; Carla Smith 378t; Lamar Matthew 154; Liz Bryant 142; Charles Whitmer 147t; Erika Roush 236.


Leslie Alperin brought the class back together leading 163b. Leaders: Will Price 496; Laura Densmore 370. A meeting was called by the chairman to hear reports from committees.

Leaders: Anita Sanders 528; Jodie Streit 45t; Abbie Sorg 56b; Paul Lindholm 447; Julie Johnson 207; Janet Plattner 119. Sally Gwylan thanked everyone for coming, and led 62 as those who wished took the parting hand. Claire Singleton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sally Gwylan; Secretary—Leslie Alperin