Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest
Sacred Harp Convention, Oregon

Laurelhurst Club, Portland Oregon

October 14-15, 2017

Saturday, October 14

The 26th annual Oregon session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Kate Fine and Linda Berkemeier called the class to order leading 448b. Lyle Lindsey offered the morning prayer. A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Linda Berkemeier; Rising Chairman—Thom Fahrbach; Treasurer—Dan Thoma; Secretary—Betsy Jeronen.

Leaders: Betsy Jeronen 77b; Dan Thoma 176b; Steve Helwig 150 (in memory of Edith Owen); Ana Tighe 111b; Lyle Lindsey 49t; Nancy Novotny 441; Tom McTighe 475; Steve Cackley 278t; Dorothy Robinson 510; Bradley Knoke 160b; Sam Thomas 282; Jennifer Jones 527; Ruth Linehan 91; Bob Schinske 486; Clarissa Fetrow 466; Scott Kennedy 163b; Anne Huckins 315; Steve Tarr 271t.


The class was called back to order by Thom Fahrbach leading 225t. Leaders: Susan Helf 34b; Ethan Hardy 86; Melissa Stevenson 179; Mike Hinton 534; Greg Saue 147t; Pat Coghlan 218; Carolyn Deacy 421 (for singers impacted by the Santa Rosa fires); Ben Brown 155; Kate Fortin 299; Harlan Walker Young 70b; Lucinda Larsen Saue 178; Martha Sherwood 65; Carolyn Gilkey 474; Eric Holt 228.


The class was called back to order by John Wiens leading 133. Leaders: Nell Whitman 146; Linnea Sablosky 112; Yuka Oiwa 344; Laura McMurray 398; Clair Moore-Cantwell 180; Bruce Coates 503; Linda Booth 273; Rodman Campbell 142; Wren Hyde 148; Edward Rice 562; Bill Huot 59; Corinne Serfass 163t; Rene de Vos 28b; Jack Lofton 196; Stephanie Fida 98; Julius Pasay 406; Karen Willard 524; Beverly Coates 472. Lyle Lindsey offered the noon prayer.


The class was called back to order by Lindy Groening leading 111t. Leaders: John Wiens 318; Marie Brandis 212; Dave Barber 456; Adrian Eldridge 564; Gillian Inksetter 222; Linda Selph 480 (in memory of Janelle Davis); Evelyn Lamb 286; Michael Walker 304 (in memory of Danny Arms); Sadhbh O’Flynn 320; Eva Striebeck 500; Erik Schwab 545; Tom Booth 523; Erika Wilson 424; Kate Coxon 217; Kevin Beirne 336; Cornelia Stanton192; David Wright 95; Dan Thoma 528; Kevin Barrans 39b; Gary Plouff 567; Kate Fine 454.


The class was called back to order by Thom Fahrbach leading 32t. Leaders: Karen Willard 444; John Berendzen 214; Beverly Coates 229; Carolyn Gilkey 347; Gillian Inksetter 572; Wren Hyde 455; Michael Walker 275t; Edward Rice 546; Eva Striebeck 541; Julius Pasay 67; Scott Kennedy 569b; Mike Hinton 373; Evelyn Lamb 367; Jack Lofton 335; Rodman Campbell 197; Harlan Walker Young 210; Clarissa Fetrow 227 (for Karen Rollins); Linda Booth 31t; Dave Barber 105; Erika Wilson 382; Kate Coxon 512; Martha Sherwood 114; Linda Selph 384. Lyle Lindsey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 15

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Linda Berkemeier leading 479. The morning prayer was offered by Steve Tarr. Leaders: Steve Tarr and Linda Booth 236; Steve Helwig 351; Lucinda Larsen Saue 313b; Yosef Trachtenberg 47t; David Wright 119; Ruth Linehan 123t; Kevin Beirne 410b; Anne Huckins 501; Linnea Sablosky 81t; Ben MacSpadden 148; Greg Saue 198; Laura McMurray 138b; Clarissa Fetrow 101b; Sam Thomas 128; Marla Elliott 149.


The class was called back to order by Dan Thoma leading 157. Leaders: Kate Fortin 217 (for Susan Fortin); Ben Brown 551; Beverly Coates 481; Melissa Stephenson 375; Pat Coghlan 260; Jim Friedrich 347; Susan Helf 86; Corinne Serfass 106; Ana Tighe 383; Bradley Knoke 76b; Bruce Coates 49b; Betsy Jeronen 436; Eric Holt 220; Nancy Novotny 272.


The class was called back to order by Adrian Eldridge leading 35. Leaders: Tom McTighe 522; Bob Schinske 411; Suzanne Denker 461; Jennifer Jones 506; Nell Whitman 350; Dorothy Robinson 80t.

Cornelia Stanton and Charles Tyndall led 402 for the following sick and shut-ins: Linda Domholt, Hannah Mae Blair, Joanne Cone, Gail O’Day, Curtis Owen, Melanie Hauff, Sharon Waterman, Lorin Vlach, Kathy Vlach, Reed Schilbach, Karen Rollins, and Loren Tennenbaum.

They led 541 in memory of the following deceased: Mary Metzger—Wisconsin; Gerhart Schwab and John Bayer—Ohio; Henry Deeson—Utah; Ron Ryan, Jane Goforth, Edith Owen, and Bob Karavinus—Texas; Charles Wells—Minnesota; Rex Barrans, Bill Fisher, and Laura Gregg—Washington; Candace Collins-Hill—Maine; Caleb Allred, Johnnie Chafin; Eloise Wootten, Gravis Ballinger, Lavoy Smith, Susie Denson, and Toney Smith—Alabama; Johnny Lee, Hugh McGraw, B.M. Smith, and George Snyder—Georgia; Kenneth Sage Glenn, Robert Thoma, Will Marcotte, Larry Nicholson, and Frankie Joan Bailey—Oregon; Bob Fowler—Montana; Larry Young—Colorado; and Katy Jenks. Steve Tarr closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Marie Brandis 445; Erik Schwab 488; Jean Murphy 186; Bill Huot 46; Carolyn Deacy 224; Caroline Helmeczi 440; Yuka Oiwa 129. Steve Tarr offered the noon blessing.


The class was called back to order by Steve Cackley leading 145t. Leaders: Kevin Barrans 434; Eva Striebeck 377; Adrian Eldridge and Gillian Inksetter 550; Michael Walker 306; Stephanie Fida 273 (for Amandeep Boyer and baby, Naveen Thomas Boyer); John Wiens 145b; Wren Hyde 460; Lindy Groening 430; Mike Hinton 548; Sadhbh O’Flynn 532; Kate Coxon 396; Jack Lofton 542; Gillian Inksetter 428; Karen Willard 426t; Dave Barber 361; Lyle Lindsey 178; Erika Wilson 201; Dan Thoma 68b; Linda Selph 172; Edward Rice 39t; Jean Squires 147t; Harlan Walker Young 48t; Evelyn Lamb 353; Kate Fine 573.


The class was called back to order by Kate Fortin leading 312t. Leaders: Wing Mui 300; Rodman Campbell 209; Jane Grant 142; Concetta Branson and Betsy Jeronen 330b; Corinne Serfass 504; Kelly Kennedy 475; Mary Chaffin and Thom Fahrbach 30b; Jim Friedrich 163b; Caroline Helmeczi 32b; Yuka Oiwa 270.

A business meeting was held to hear committee reports. The Arranging Committee reported 141 people registered from nine states and three countries, 83 leaders, and 183 songs sung. The Treasurer reported achieving the goal set toward meeting expenses. The Resolutions Committee thanked everyone who led or assisted in a smooth running convention. Announcements were made.

Linda Berkemeier and Thom Fahrbach led 36b as the closing song. Steve Tarr offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Linda Berkemeier; Vice Chairman—Thom Fahrbach; Secretary—Betsy Jeronen