Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

United Kingdom Sacred Harp Convention

Lomas Hall, Stannington, Sheffield, United Kingdom

September 16-17, 2017

Saturday, September 16

The 22nd session of the United Kingdom Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Vicki Elliott leading 77b. Joe Vickers offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Catherine Roberts 276; Judy Whiting 472; Eimear O’Donovan 56t; Sam Carter 171; Emily Verrier 480; Fred Langridge 159; Chris Brown 113; Myfanwy Reynolds 312b; Ian West 32t; Teresa McGuire 48t; Colin Monson 107; Richard Mayers 29t; Cath Ingham 30t; Werner Ullah 37b; Karen Turner 496; Francis Gaskin 179; Claire Welford 50t; Alec Williams 75; Ian Lamb 147b; Sophie Sawicka-Sykes 99; Phil Hogg 102; Rachel Jordan 353; Crispin Walker 53; Rachel Adelstein 327; Jan Geerts 91.


Rosalind Oldham called the class to order leading 457. Leaders: Leilai Immel-Parkinson 131b; Tom Greig 89; Lizzie Dye 523; Joe Vickers 74b; Ella Cumber 434; Edwin Macadam 280; April Watkins 155; Steve Brett 360; Helen Brown 475; Calum Woods 283; Gerben Vos 203; Amanda Parkes 222; David Brodeur 187; Barry Parsons 64; Dorothy Robinson 180; Michael Walker 319; Sheila Girling Macadam 500; Matthew Parkinson 181. Helen Brown gave thanks for the midday meal.


Hannah Land called the class back to order by leading 28t. Leaders: Katie Ahern 426b; Margaret Bradshaw 300; Bryan Seale 522; Andy Ditzler 542; Carolyn Deacy 485; Megan Holm 504; Natalie Sims 344; Seth Dickins 505; Bobby Watkins 460; Phil Tyler 157; William Cleary 135; Cath Saunt 228; Ted Brown 546; Vicki Elliott 377; Kevin Kennedy 572; Eva Striebeck 391; Taylor Watkins 445; Cath Tyler 367; Nick Hall 455; Crispin Walker 383; Mick Verrier 217; Grace Scrimgeour 547; Derek Buckland 72b; David Brodeur 538; Sula O’Duffy 117.


Sarah West led 67 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Eimear O’Donovan 278t; Alec Williams 146; Joe Vickers 348b; Rachel Adelstein 268; Helen Brown 430; Steve Brett 558; Kerry Cullinan 378t; Sheila Girling Macadam 215; Hannah Land 442; Calum Woods and Rosalind Woods 350; Teresa McGuire 148; Claire Welford 372; Catherine Roberts 65; Rachel Jordan 540; Karen Turner 556.

Vicki Elliott led 69t as the closing song. Cath Tyler offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, September 17

The Sunday session of the United Kingdom Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Vicki Elliott leading 314. Michael Walker offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Catherine Roberts 286; Chris Brown 82t; Fred Langridge 313b; Francis Gaskin 317; Myfanwy Reynolds 162; Jacoba Bruneel 73b; Ted Brown 425; Lottie Sumner and Connie Baldini 146; Judy Whiting 492; Sam Carter 270; Emily Verrier 227; Mark Wardlaw 420; Erin Johnson-Williams 475; Jan Geerts 391; Ella Cumber 491.


Ian West called the class back together by leading 105. Leaders: Leilai Immel-Parkinson 34t; Ed Johnson-Williams 201; Gerben Vos 272; Taylor Watkins 388; Dorothy Robinson 312t; Michael Walker 212; Amanda Parkes 530; Sarah West 389; Kevin Kennedy 232; Sula O’Duffy 274t; Andy Ditzler 304; Natalie Sims 112; Matthew Parkinson 400.

David Brodeur spoke for the sick and housebound, and read the following list of names: Curtis Owen, Melanie Hauff, Joe McPartland, Sophie McDougall, Nate Green, Norma Green, Lesley Goodwin, Diane Heywood, David Elliott, Concetta Branson, Linda Domholt, Alison Saville, Toby Boyes, Kit Yip, Julie Buckingham, Nigel Cumber, David Gasi, Paula Mogenson, Inga Hübner, Kathryn Golding, John Ahern, Dot Green, Alf Green, Darrell Jenkins, Mary Parkes, Mike Ramsey, and Chris Holley. David led 516.

Margaret Bradshaw conducted the memorial lesson, and read the following list of names of the deceased: Francisco Nazzini and Michael Siefert—London; Chris Holloway—Germany; Don Grimshaw—Southampton; Ros Taylor—St John’s Chapel; Alex Elliott and Gordon Hoyland—Sheffield; Norman Johnson—Blaydon on Tyne; Winifred Elliott—Bolton; Robert Peel and P.J. O’Grady—Ireland; Mark Girling—Spain; June Eames—Cubbington; Catherine Monson—Gateshead; Jean McDonald and Donald McDonald—Derby; Kathleen Rowell—Lewes; Frank Parkinson—Enniskillen; Heather Gates—Maldon; Margaret Walton—Newcastle; Johnny Lee, Dolorese Lee, and Hugh McGraw—Georgia, USA; Gravis Ballinger—Alabama, USA; Edith Owen—Texas, USA; Donald Gillis—Florida, USA; and Pat Colteryhan—Vermont, USA. Margaret led 128. Ted Brown offered a prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Cath Tyler 47t; Bryan Seale 76b; Carolyn Deacy 328; Bobby Watkins 340; Megan Holm 31t; Phil Hogg and Matthew Parkinson 117; Katie Ahern 189; Eva Striebeck 411. Bobby Watkins gave thanks for the midday meal.


The afternoon session began with Tom Greig leading 35. Leaders: Cath Saunt 384; April Watkins 45t; Barry Parsons 522; Edwin Macadam 444; Kerry Cullinan 466; Julie Russell 178; Mick Verrier and Emily Verrier 142; Rachel Adelstein 250; Natalie Sims 348t; Calum Woods 138b; Ed Johnson-Williams 196; Andy Ditzler and David Brodeur 342; Bryan Seale 532; Megan Holm 335; Seth Dickens 38t; Michael Walker 182; Nick Hall 214; Bobby Watkins, April Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 436; Eva Striebeck 506; Sheila Girling Macadam 302; Amanda Parkes 548; William Cleary 170; Derek Buckland 106; Maria Wallace 504.


Eimear O’Donovan brought the class back to order by leading 477. Leaders: Josh Lant, Mike Upton, and Andy Ditzler 277; Jon Frant 122; Piers Cawley 47b; Emma Warren and Crispin Walker 202; Mark Wardlaw 69t; Jacoba Bruneel 410t; Erin Johnson-Williams 100; Grace Scrimgeour 216; Cath Ingham 87; Phil Tyler 456; Ian Lamb 481; Werner Ullah 278t; Lizzy Dye 339; Helen Brown 349; Leilai Immel-Parkinson and Matthew Parkinson111b.

Vicki Elliott led 347 as the closing song. Seth Dickens offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Vicki Elliott; Vice Chairman—Catherine Roberts; Secretary—Judy Whiting