Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Templars Hall, Old Poway Park, Poway, California

January 16-17, 2016

Saturday, January 16

The 28th session of the All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Jennie Brown leading 101t. David Fetcho offered the opening prayer.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Elaine Denny; Vice Chairperson—Esteban Veliz; Secretaries—Judy Getrich and Mimi Wright; Treasurer—Mairye Bates; Arranging Committee—Carla Smith and Judy Getrich; Chaplain—David Fetcho; Resolutions Committee—Jerry Schreiber and Geoff Grainger.

Leaders: Elaine Denny 171; Esteban Veliz 48b; Mimi Wright 410b; Judy Getrich 350; Clinton Davis 38b; Jeff Begley 144; Jerry Schreiber 434; Joel Chan 328; Midge Harder 42; Peter Stenshoel 285t; Jeri Segal 142; Tim Royappa 107; Linnea Sablosky 112; Andrew Mashchak 313b; Mason Shefa 135; Anne Royappa 324; Bruce Teter 181; Pat Keating 377; Rick Russell 203.


Nick Hall led 569b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Susan Willis-Powers, Chris Golinshi, and Ying Tan 538; Karen Mathews 38t; Elizabeth Royappa 39t; Laura Boyd Russell 228; Melissa Stephenson 138t; Kate Fine 417; Jon Rand 448t; Mary Rose O’Leary 192; Catie Van Duzer 280; Michael Kaye 480; Betsy Jeronen 422; Annalise Perone 436; David Fetcho 56b; David Olson 564.


Richard Ivey led 88t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Linda Booth 352; Greg Saue 163b; Paul Lindholm 419; Kate Coxon 128; Judy Van Duzer 173; Pat Coghlan 444; Gabriel Kyne 30b; Jen Rymut 573; Corrie Van Duzer 191; Lucinda Larsen Saue 178; Bob Schinske 429; Susan Fetcho 460; Karl Dise 320; Michael McKernan 299; Ana Tighe 189; Mary Gowins 318.


Esteban Veliz led 335 to bring the class back together. Leaders: David Ivey 224; Jon Giles 511; Karen Willard 78; Warren Steel 411; Evelyn Lamb 536; Charles Whitmer 218; Hugh McGuire 198; Rodney Ivey 384; Geoff Grainger 143; Steve Helwig 34t; Richard Ivey 212; Mike Hinton 380; Erik Schwab 423; Steve Warner 81t; Lindy Groening 200; Thom Fahrbach 232; Anne Steel 348b; Kevin Barrans 400; Ray Rechenberg 300; Anne Heider 547; Clarissa Fetrow 540; Nick Hall 455; Claire Singleton 82t; Claire Simon 270.


Eva Striebeck led 29t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Sean Francis Conway 426t; Anthony Alarcon 133; Mairye Bates 59; Chris Coughlin 292; Kevin Beirne 532; Susan Cherones 209; Larry Arnstein 122; Laura McMurray 30t; Rachel Jordan 546; Alison Fisher 410t; Stephanie Fida 268; Leslie Alperin 155; Edward Rice 35; Julie Johnson 159; Steve Cackley 321; Eva Striebeck 36b; Carla Smith 118 (in memory of Loraine Bayer, Dayton, Ohio); Paula Picton 85.

Elaine Denny led 475 as the closing song. David Fetcho offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

A composium organized by Susan Willis-Powers (an opportunity for new compositions to be presented) followed the Saturday session.

Sunday, January 17

Elaine Denny brought the Sunday session to order leading 48t. Chaplain David Fetcho offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Justin Phillips 34b; Peter Stenshoel 240; Mary Rose O’Leary 421; Judy Getrich 472; Melissa Stephenson 66; David Olson 28t; Benny Harnish 107; Midge Harder 36b; Colleen Dougher 146; Steve Cackley 145t; Maggie Taylor 131t; Polina Butgrina 282; Bruce Teter 492; Jeff Begley 266; Jeri Segal 372; Jon Rand 285t; Jeannette Ralston 70b.


Susan Cherones led 300 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Esteban Veliz 245; Abbie Sorg 87; Claire Simon 565; Mary Beth Twining 47b; Lindy Groening 196; Charles Whitmer 504; Stephen O’Leary 510; Michael McKernan 277; Ray Rechenberg 203; Geoff Grainger 535; Gabriel Kyne 426b; Steve Warner 475; Michael Kaye 228; Sue Lindner 217.


Esteban Veliz and Geoff Grainger led 178 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Clinton Davis 360; Steve Helwig and Marion Black 556; Anne Heider 273.

Susan Cherones and Mike Hinton conducted the memorial lesson. Susan Cherones led 73t in honor of the following sick and homebound: Ron Huss, B.M. Smith, Earlis McGraw, Ann Chalker, Tommie Spurlock, Wayne Miller, Julia di Bennedetto, Kirsty Grainger, Melanie Hauff, Sara Perry, Elaine Zidek, Dan Krieger, Albert Whittaker, John Schaffer, Janet Vorwick, Jane Cannon, Steve Julian, and Carolyn Deacy.

Mike Hinton spoke eloquently, and led 373 in memory of the following deceased: Gib Amason, Varnelle Amason, Robert DuPree, Evelyn Harris, and Sandra Spradlin—Alabama; Tom Ambrogi, Caroline Bennett, Jack Bluestein, Reverend David Bringman, Donald Clark, Jim Kyne, Tison Lacy, Chris Mercier, Marilyn Morales, and Joseph Trotter—California; Donna Jean McGinnis and Edward Twining—Colorado; Dan Adams—Connecticut; George Garner, C.W. Garner, and Jacob A. Larsen—Georgia; Bob Sullivan—Illinois; Fred Hornberger—Louisiana; Rose Warnock—Massachusetts; Wayne Wagstrom—Minnesota; Steve Holmes—New Mexico; Bill Bergstrom, Ann Henry, and Eileen Kelly—New York; Don Rhoades—North Carolina; Bob Baerg, Loraine Bayer, and Joe Fothergill—Ohio; Sarah Hauser and Tammi Ziola—Oregon; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Barbara Graves—Texas. Chaplain David Fetcho offered a prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Karen Willard 34t; Erik Schwab 325; Susan Willis Powers 47t.


Esteban Veliz led 32t to call the class back together. Leaders: Susan Cherones 564; Richard Ivey 396; Chris Thorman 299; Paula Picton 384; Chris Coughlin 298; Hugh McGuire 189; Eva Striebeck 465; Rodney Ivey 365; Rachel Jordan 550; Jennie Brown 187; Nick Hall 454; Betsy Jeronen 440; Kate Coxon 500; David Ivey 505; Kate Fine 494; Jon Giles 512; Kevin Barrans 434; Mike Hinton 534; Laura McMurray 430; Kevin Beirne 507; Jen Rymut 498; Paul Lindholm, Stephanie Fida, Karl Dise, Judy Van Duzer, Corrie Van Duzer, and Catie Van Duzer 499; Pat Keating 272; Mary Gowins 506.


Thom Fahrbach led 348t to call the class back together. Leaders: Alison Fisher 474; Jerry Schreiber 236; Elaine Denny 99; Stephanie Fida 522; Clarissa Fetrow 172; Kate Mullinger 92; Edward Rice 162; Mairye Bates 148; Linnea Sablosky 532; Catie Van Duzer and Corrie Van Duzer 344; Annalise Perone 72b; Thom Fahrbach 227 (in memory of Oliver Kindig-Stokes); David Fetcho 332; Leslie Alperin 379.


Rodney Ivey led 111t to call the class back to order. Leaders: Karl Dise 121; Rick Russell 446; Corrie Van Duzer 120; Laura Boyd Russell 41; Claire Singleton 39t; Judy Van Duzer 193; Susan Fetcho 472; Carla Smith and Jerry Schreiber 323t; Bob Schinske 456; Evelyn Lamb 286; Sean Francis Conway 347.

Treasurer Mairye Bates reported that expenses were met. Secretary Judy Getrich announced that ninety-six songs were led on Saturday and ninety-five on Sunday with singers from eighteen states, the UK, Germany, and Canada participating. Jerry Schreiber and Geoff Grainger of the Resolutions Committee expressed enthusiasm for the successful convention, and thanked the many people who helped to make it so. Announcements were made.

Following committee reports and announcements, Elaine Denny and Esteban Veliz led 62 as the closing song. David Fetcho offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Elaine Denny; Vice Chairperson—Esteban Veliz; Secretaries—Judy Getrich and Mimi Wright