Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ohio State Convention

Jeffrey Mansion, Bexley, Ohio

February 28-March 1, 2015

Saturday, February 28

The 23rd annual Ohio State Convention was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Jim Coppock leading 72b. The morning prayer was offered by Greg Creech.

A business session was held and Jim Coppock presented the slate of officers chalked on an old slate board. The 2015 officers, elected by unanimous vote, are as follows: Co-Chairpersons—Lia Mansfield and Laura Ann Russell; Co-Vice Chairpersons—Ray Rechenberg and Sheila Patterson; Treasurer—Lauralee Thompson; Secretary—Michael Darby; Arranging Committee—Laura Ann Russell, Beth Todd, Eloise Clark, John Bealle, and Ray Rechenberg. Lia Mansfield appointed Nigel Ewan as Chaplain, and Michael Darby to spearhead the Memorial Committee. She then asked the other committees to form, and the business session was closed.

Leaders: Lia Mansfield and Laura Ann Russell 178; Ray Rechenberg and Sheila Patterson 40; Michael Darby and Lauralee Thompson 31t; Greg Creech 127; Judith McDowell 30t; Claire Outten 481; Steve Duff 313t; Dan Coppock 479; David Casenhiser 99; Clara Herr 300; Sue Duff 110; Christopher Yoder 117; John Seaton 47t; Corey Sees 121; Debbie Hall 362; Bertha B. Buttner 421; Tim Morton 394; Beth Todd 501; Jim Herr 222; Linda Coppock 377.


Sheila Patterson called the class back to order by leading 82t. Leaders: Marlene McIntire 62; Eloise Clark 348t; Lori Graber 548; Darrell Swarens 112 (in memory of David Rust); Nancy Hunter 472; Ted Mercer 468; Pleasance Crawford 464; Idy Kiser 313b; Samuel Sommers 476; Tom Kochan 81t; Will Fitzgerald 358; Brad Oglesby 145t; Janelle Davis 47b; Michele Raine 63; Jason Yoder 294; Phil DuPont 319; John Bealle 379; Gillian Inksetter 456; Cecelia Kramer 157; Shawn Fenton 70b; Ray Rechenberg 203; Jan May 474; Joel-Henry Mansfield 452; Sylvia Thomas 168; Marian Mitchell 163t; Michael Darby 361. Greg Creech offered a prayer before the noon meal.


The class was called back to order by Lia Mansfield leading 335. Leaders: Stephen Kasperick-Postellon 344; Allyson Plumberg 269; Nigel Ewan 276; Bonnie Spitzkeit 551; Ethan Mast 454; Mary Kay Quinn and Cecelia Kramer 39t; Grace Patterson and Jim Patterson 528; Teresa Kasperick-Postellon 277; Michael Domino 235; Michael Darby and Lauralee Thompson 369; Darrell Swarens 507; Julia Grawemeyer and Lia Mansfield 216; Ted Mercer 182; Jim Mace 105; Christopher Yoder 532; Steve Duff 475; Lori Graber 228; Lia Mansfield 65.


Nigel Ewan led 146 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: John Seaton 34b; Corey Sees 336; Claire Outten 315; David Casenhiser 106; Janelle Davis 282; Tom Kochan 503; Will Fitzgerald 321; Sue Duff 141; Pleasance Crawford 297; Bertha B. Buttner 58; Gillian Inksetter 327; Michele Raine 209; Marian Mitchell 213b; Dan Coppock 320; Jan May 540; John Bealle 434; Cecelia Kramer 71; Linda Coppock 542; Beth Todd 457.

Announcements were made, including the social in the evening featuring Brad Oglesby’s “Sacred Harp Jeopardy”. Lia Mansfield led 347 as the closing song. Nigel Ewan offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, March 1

March came in like a lion with a snow storm that began overnight and lasted throughout the Sunday singing session. Laura Ann Russell led 38t to bring the Sunday morning session to order. Nigel Ewan offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Marlene McIntire 72b; Judith McDowell 107; Nancy Hunter 312b; Michael Darby 48t; Teresa Kasperick-Postellon 420; Nigel Ewan 254; Greg Creech 33b; Allison Lindner 268; Marian Mitchell 163b; Jason Yoder 66; Lia Mansfield 515; Debbie Hall 497; Stephen Kasperick-Postellon 267.


John Bealle called the class back to order by leading 108t. Leaders: Sylvia Thomas 372; Chuck Crawford 300; Joel-Henry Mansfield 448t; Jim Patterson 569b; Ray Rechenberg 426b; Clara Herr 564; Christopher Yoder 338; Jan May 189; Linda Coppock 180; Sheila Patterson 225t (for Loraine Bayer); Michael Darby and Laura Ann Russell 148; Ethan Mast 128; Jim Coppock 304; Tim Morton 29t; Will Fitzgerald 371; Jim Herr 546; Connor Allgood and Jim Herr 76b; Beth Todd 32t; Samuel Sommers 316; Pleasance Crawford 184; Dan Coppock 183; Cecelia Kramer 174; Gillian Inksetter 215.


The class was called back together by Laura Ann Russell leading 81t. The Memorial Committee was asked to present their lesson. Michael Darby spoke of lessons learned as part of Sacred Harp singing, and reminded singers of the importance of community. He drew attention to two names on the memorial list, David Rust and Raymond Hamrick, speaking briefly of how each influenced Sacred Harp. Sheila Patterson read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Joe Fothergill, Gerry Hoffman, Erin Shaull, Loraine Bayer, Jean Hollingsworth, Timothy Carl, Laura Jo Mesa, Melanie Hauff, Nick Carelli, and Lucille Beaderstadt. She led 72b in their honor.

Michael Darby led 347 in memory of the following deceased: Martha W. Anderson and Virginia Duke—Tennessee; Marilyn Keehner Werner—Maryland; Rita Everts—New York; Raymond Hamrick—Georgia; Sister Martha Amann and Brian Webb—Ohio; Bob Sullivan—Illinois; Ann Weaver—Kentucky; Laurel Sherer, David Rust, and Arthur Hall—Indiana; David Wampler—Pennsylvania. The memorial lesson closed with prayer offered by Nigel Ewan. Laura Ann Russell and Nigel Ewan led 318.


Laura Ann Russell called the class back together by leading 133. Leaders: Gillian Inksetter and Idy Kiser 155; Brad Oglesby 192; Grace Patterson 38t; Michael Domino 172; John Bealle 442; Eloise Clark 44; Stephen Kasperick-Postellon 271t; Tim Morton 510; Teresa Kasperick-Postellon 178; Harriet Hart and Dan Coppock 38b; Phil DuPont 328; Allison Lindner 185; Samuel Sommers 188; Sheila Patterson 430; Chuck Crawford 324; Jim Coppock 542; Ethan Mast 40; Judith McDowell 146; Cecelia Kramer 48b; Dan Coppock 220; Debbie Hall 474; Michael Darby 142.


Lia Mansfield led 102. Leaders: Greg Creech 86; Christopher Yoder 260; Jan May 351; Ray Rechenberg 287; Jason Yoder 116.

John Bealle introduced the Columbus seven-shape singers Harmony Force from Trinity Baptist Church. The group, led by Daisy Crockron and Boyd Holliman, offered three songs with the class joining in.

Leaders: Linda Coppock 45t; Sylvia Thomas 504; Jim Herr 35; Marian Mitchell 191; Will Fitzgerald 452; Joel-Henry Mansfield 523.

Laura Ann Russell asked for committee reports. The Arranging Committee reported that eighty-eight songs were led on Saturday and seventy-seven on Sunday. There were 101 singers registered with another forty non-registered participants. Six states (Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, and Delaware) and one province of Canada (Ontario) were represented. Approximately 100 viewers watched the convention via the live streaming camera.

The Treasurer reported that expenses were met. The Resolutions Committee recognized, by name, all those who worked to make the convention happen and thanked them. It was resolved to meet again in March, 2016, in Dayton for the twenty-fourth session of the Ohio State Convention.

Announcements were made. All officers and workers led 62, and those who wished took the parting hand. Nigel Ewan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Lia Mansfield and Laura Ann Russell; Co-Vice Chairpersons—Ray Rechenberg and Sheila Patterson; Secretary—Michael Darby