Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Midwest Sacred Harp Convention

Pulaski Field House Chicago, Illinois

May 25-26, 2013

Saturday, May 25

Randy Neufeld and Susan Geil opened the Saturday session of the 28th meeting of the Midwest Convention by leading 107. Mike Hinton offered the invocation.

Leaders: Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson 59; Cathryn Bearov 114; Rachel Adelstein 299; Steve Warner 475; Jim Helke 196; Evelyn Lamb 378b; Peggy Brayfield 242; Dick Patterson 228; Joe Todd 65; Ginny Landgraf 538.

A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Co-Chairpersons—Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson; Vice Chairpersons—Susan Mathews and Anita Shepard; Secretary—Cathryn Bearov; Chaplain—Mike Hinton.


Marcia Johnson brought the class to order leading 294. Leaders: Jim Swanson 397; Barb Patterson 497; Daniel Gray 203; Laura Ann Russell 547; Terry Hogg 439; Bill Beverly 546; Beth Todd 284; Bob Sullivan 503; James Baumgartner 193; Karen Rollins 227; Michael Darby 189; Paul Wyatt 328; Martha Beverly 131t; John delRe 76b; Ann Missavage 383; Shawn Fenton 428; Elizabeth Benton and Hannah Barlow 344; Scott McLown 282.


Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson brought the class to order leading 66. Leaders: Lisa Grayson 419; Nancy Koester 384; Don Bardsley 510; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 34b; Will Fitzgerald 34t; Sheila Patterson 39t; James Page 352; Gary Gronau 192; Jim Patterson 312b; Carol Ann Munro 464; Jim Goetz 95; Cecelia Kramer 157; Miles Dakan 110; Peter Trumbore 29t; Kiri Miller 500. Mike Hinton offered the prayer before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Marcia Johnson and Ted Johnson leading 501. Leaders: Grace Scrimgeour 216; Karen Isbell 448t; Diane Ross 455; Bob Borcherding 271t; Nora Miller 379; Benjamin Bedroske 178; Reba Windom 436; Dave Ressler 214; Carolyn Deacy 485; Ben Brown 268; Aldo Ceresa and Mike Hinton 532; Katy Kanfer 392; Donald Ross 368; Jan May 276; Marcus Whitman 191; Judy Hauff 250; Mike Hinton and Karen Rollins 534; Jen Rymut and Sandy Schwoerer 534; Randy Neufeld 102; Cathryn Bearov 548; Petrina Patti 217; Steven Schmidgall 274b; Ann Miczulski 30t; Scott Schroeder 269; Sue Kessel 536; Sarah Trumbore 47b; Gabriel Kine 186; Len VanderJagt and friend 277; Ted Mercer 300; Eleanor Haase 32t; Peter Bradley 112; Beverly Enright 224; John Hoerr and Danny Haullum 163b; Melanie Hauff 215; Stephen Parker 454 (for Joan); Anne Heider 236; Michael Moseley and John DeCaster 348b; Rebecca Browne 142.

Announcements were made. Marcia Johnson, Ted Johnson, Debbie Barford, and Susan Mathews led 347. Mike Hinton offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, May 26

The Sunday session of the Midwest Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson leading 114. Mike Hinton offered the invocation.

Leaders: Peggy Mistak 496; John Seaton 47t; Dave Barford 304; Nick Pasqual 116; Jim Patterson, Sheila Patterson, and Grace Patterson 274t (dedicated to Loraine Bayer); Kay Huener 350; Susan Geil 565; Debbie Barford 163t; Lisa Grayson 222; Anne Heider “Melanie”; Johanna Fabke 84; Mary Rogel 312b; Steve Parker 504; Elizabeth Barlow 335; Myles Louis Dakan 306; James Page 351; Ann Missavage 528.


Sam Sommers brought the class to order leading 176t. Leaders: Jim Helke 124; Jeff Breting 108t; Jim Goetz 52t; Orwin Youngquist 179; Grace Scrimgeour 209; Michael Appert 497; Sam Sommers 502; Scott Schroeder 479; Barb Patterson and Dick Patterson 43; Len VanderJagt 569b; Kelly Brest van Kempen 229; Brad Oglesby 369; Herb Schroeder 180; Marcus Whitman 440; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 460; James Baumgartner 112; Nancy Koester 290.


Evelyn Lamb brought the class to order leading 74t. The memorial lesson was conducted by Diane Ross, Donald Ross, and Jim Swanson. Diane Ross spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins. She encouraged everyone to make contact so these singers know they are not forgotten and that we recognize their important place in the Sacred Harp family. She led 86 in honor of the following: Dorothy Amare, Loraine Bayer, Earl Burns, Jane Casely, Shirley Figura, Bess Fitzgerald, Jim Heard, Gail Heil, Josie Hyde, Judith Klein, Breanne Lingo, Penny Pixler, Bob Scorgie, Emelia Sherman, Julie Vea, and C.T. Williams.

Jim Swanson led the lesson for the deceased. He spoke of the memorial lesson as a time when we consider, in a formal way, the passing of fellow singers. We can recapture for a short while lost loved ones and recall what they meant to us. Donald Ross then spoke. The following list of names of the deceased was read: Bob Anderson, Elizabeth Tristam Barford, Ann Beasley, Wilma Casenhiser, Harrison Creel, Sophie Wyatt Cross, Joyce Davis, Kelly Day, Bob Eisenhart, Clayton Ezell, Gordon Ficko, Paul Friesma, Joan Fritz, Joyce Furumo, Edgar Huener, Lillian Huener, and their daughters (Beth, Grace, Jean, Joy, Kay), Carl Huyser, Jerry Jeys, Eda Lou Keele, Jack Martin, John Moreno, Bud Oliver, Eva Padgett, Colleen Preiman, David Rockwell, Beverly Roderick, Dean Russell, Rie Semione, Andrea Nagy Smith, Marjorie Sommers, Lee Steinmetz, Helen Swanson, Violet Thomason, Phil Trier, Mary Ann Rebecca Wood, Willard Wright, and Nancy Yeager. Donald led 499. Mike Hinton offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Eleanor Haase 32t; Dick Patterson 73t; Dan Nickel 277; Katy Kanfer 505; Gabriel Kine 67; Jan May 474.


The afternoon session began with Steve Warner leading 34t. Leaders: Carolyn Deacy 430; Mike Hinton 434; Marcia Johnson 340; Karen Isbell 547; Donald Ross 211; Reba Windom 216; Daniel Gray 149; Paul Wyatt 168; Aldo Ceresa 411; Kiri Miller 448b; Nora Miller 522; Ben Brown 551; Wendy Wahn 546; Laura Ann Russell 318; Shawn Fenton 56b; Dave Ressler 542; Diane Ross 40; Jan Ketelle 142; Steve Schmidgall 24b; Beth Todd 234 (in memory of Pauline Childers); Ted Johnson “Boulder”; Randy Neufeld 122.


Rachel Adelstein brought the class back together by leading 517. Leaders: Bob Borcherding 378b; Michael Darby 133; Sarah Trumbore 49b; John delRe 80t; Peter Trumbore 72b; Gary Gronau and Rebecca Brown 384; Cecelia Kramer 157; Kay Huener 269; Ginny Landgraf 254; Jim Swanson 197; Michael Moseley 203; Melanie Hauff 218; Petrina Patti 178; Carol Ann Munro 543; Judy Hauff 201; Rachel Adelstein 94.

The Co-Chairpersons asked for reports. The Finance Committee reported expenses for the convention were met. The Secretary reported that over the two days of singing, 189 leaders led 170 lessons and participants were from 15 states and 1 province of Canada. The Resolutions Committee presented resolutions. Announcements were made.

The officers led 62 as the closing song. Mike Hinton offered the closing prayer.

Co-Chairpersons—Ted Johnson and Marcia Johnson; Vice Chairpersons—Ann Matthews and Anita Shepherd; Secretary—Cathryn Bearov