Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ireland All-Day Singing

Camden Palace Hotel, Camden Quay, Cork City, Ireland

Saturday, October 22, 2011

The 1st Ireland All-Day Singing was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Eimear O’Donovan leading 33b. The opening prayer was offered by Hugh McKenna.

Leaders: Robert Wedgbury, Sadhbh O’Flynn, and Sinéad Hanrahan 318; Michael Morrisroe, Declan Synnott, and Dara Desmond 430; Eamonn O’Neill, Lisa O’Grady, and Amanda Parkes 300; Daire O’Sullivan and Niamh O’Sullivan 268; Pauline Hyde 31t; Joseph McGilloway 313b; Lisa O’Grady 284; Barry Twomey 245 (dedicated to Juniper Hill); Áine Uí Cheallaigh 39t; Kevin Kennedy 39b; Niamh O’Sullivan 503; Ewan Paterson and Aldo Ceresa 49b; Rebecca Over 283; Barton Creeth 142; Magdalena Grysko 542; Al McCready 282; Jennifer Barry and Sadhbh O’Flynn 383; Michael Walker 421; Emer Hewson 378b; Hugh McKenna 86; Aldo Ceresa 56t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chair people—Sadhbh O’Flynn, Eimear O’Donovan, Robert Wedgbury; Treasurer—Declan Synnott; Secretary—Sinéad Hanrahan.


The class was brought back together by Sinéad Hanrahan leading 84. Leaders: Colleen Jones 46; Garrett Blake and Dara Desmond 107; Daire O’Sullivan 65; Robert Wedgbury 440; Sadhbh O’Flynn 59; Michael Morrisroe 320; Eimear O’Donovan 317; Declan Synnott 288 (for his father); Eamonn O’Neill 236 (for Rodrigo Francisco); Amanda Parkes 48b; Pauline Hyde 547; Ewan Paterson 47t; Rebecca Over 567; Barry Twomey 569t; Barton Creeth 122; Treasurer’s address and collection by Declan Synnott leading 68b; Al McCready 452; Michael Walker 67; Mark Cosgrave 267; Kevin Kennedy 126; Magdalena Grysko 551. The prayer before lunch was offered by Joseph McGilloway.


The afternoon session was called to order by Declan Synnott and Michael Morrisroe leading 106. Leaders: Colleen Jones 49t; Joseph McGilloway 163b.

The sick and housebound lesson was conducted by Eimear O’Donovan, leading 216.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Pauline Hyde and Al McCready leading 112. Prayer after the memorial lesson was offered by Al McCready.

Leaders: Hugh McKenna 47b; Amanda Parkes 481; Aldo Ceresa 532 (by request); Niamh Collins and Trevor Moran 410t; Robert Wedgbury 148 (dedicated to Thom Fahrbach); Sadhbh O’Flynn 507; Alessandro Bacchiega 87; Sinéad Hanrahan 186; Eamonn O’Neill 183; Áine Uí Cheallaigh 192; Eimear Cradock and Magdalena Grysko 277; Eimear O’Donovan, Mary Ryder, and Ronan O’Donovan 347; Niamh O’Sullivan 178; Emer Hewson 181; Lisa O’Grady 209; Rebecca Over 381; Michael Morrisroe 272.


Mark Cosgrave brought the class back together leading 155. Leaders: Aldo Ceresa 182; Magdalena Grysko, Kuba Choinski, and Alessandro Bacchiega 146; Barton Creeth 274t; Ewan Paterson 117; Colleen Jones 535; Daire O’Sullivan 335; Niamh Collins 168; Al McCready 417; Joseph McGilloway and Brigetta (from Switzerland) 70b; Kate O’Donovan and Eimear Cradock 29t; Michael Walker 145t; Jennifer Barry and Pauline Hyde 36t; Garrett Blake and Robert Wedgbury 203; Eimear O’Donovan and Mary Ryder 528; Eimear Cradock 99; Magdalena Grysko, Kuba Choinski, and Alessandro Bacchiega 448t; Dara Desmond and all first-time singers 455; all singers born in North America 454; Joseph McGilloway and Hugh McKenna 38b; Sadhbh O’Flynn, Robert Wedgbury, and Sinéad Hanrahan 29b; Dara Desmond, Michael Morrisroe, and Declan Synnott 504; Pauline Hyde and Eamonn O’Neill 271t; Al McCready, Áine Uí Cheallaigh, and Rebecca Over 145b.

Closing statements of thanks were made by Eimear O’Donovan, followed by announcements of upcoming singings and events.

The Secretary’s report was given by Sinéad Hanrahan, announcing that 90 songs had been sung, and that 70 singers had registered, (with many unregistered singers also present), representing the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, Poland, Italy, USA, Germany, and Switzerland. The Treasurer’s report was given by Declan Synnott, stating that expenses were met.

Eimear O’Donovan led 472 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Joseph McGilloway, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chair people—Sadhbh O’Flynn, Eimear O’Donovan, Robert Wedgbury; Secretary—Sinéad Hanrahan