Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Midlands Sacred Harp Convention

Kegworth Village Hall, Kegworth, United Kingdom

April 23-24, 2011

Saturday, April 23

Ian West called the class to order leading 52t. The opening prayer was offered by Rob Mahoney.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ian West; Vice Chairman—Helen Brown; Secretaries—Margaret Gillanders and Rosalind Oldham; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson and Sarah West.

Leaders: Helen Brown 59; Dave Richardson 60; Margaret Gillanders 77b; Ted Brown 35; Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn 507; Sarah West 224; Michael Walker 33t; Rachel Jordan 33b; Alex Lough 417; Ruth Steggles 384; Rosalind Oldham 313t; Steve Welch 70t; Hannah Land 48b; Nick Hall 573; Sheila Girling Macadam 500; Rob Mahoney 107; Sharon Langridge 99; Edwin Macadam 534; Shelby Sampson 163t; Phil Tyler 477; Steve Fletcher 376.


Ian West reconvened the class by leading 297. Leaders: Helen Brown 365; Margaret Gillanders 336t (CB); Sarah Hill 134; Ted Brown 378t; Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn 378b; Sarah West 290; Michael Walker 67; Rachel Jordan 171; Alex Lough 410t; Ruth Steggles 424; Rosalind Oldham 140 (CB); Steve Welch 473; Hannah Land 98 (CB); Nick Hall 455; Sheila Girling Macadam 556; Rob Mahoney 454; Sharon Langridge 270; Edwin Macadam 550; Shelby Sampson 312b; Phil Tyler 38t (CB); Steve Fletcher 133 (CB); Ian West 138t (CB); Helen Brown 132; Margaret Gillanders 507b (CB); Sarah Hill 272; Dave Richardson 153; Ted Brown 445. Martin Williams asked the blessing on the mid-day meal.


Sarah West led 288 to call the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Michael Walker 426b; Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn 547; Rachel Jordan 189; Alex Lough 284; Ruth Steggles 375; Rosalind Oldham 452; Steve Welch 40; Hannah Land 563 (CB); Nick Hall 571 (CB); Sheila Girling Macadam 430; Rob Mahoney 273; Sharon Langridge 503; Edwin Macadam 538; Shelby Sampson 300; Phil Tyler 69b; Steve Fletcher 380; Ian West 575 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 492; Dave Richardson 475; Helen Brown 518; Sarah Hill 324; Ted Brown 546; Sarah West 113; Michael Walker 69 (CB); Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn 528.


Dave Richardson led 488t (CB) to bring the class back together. Leaders: Rachel Jordan 474; Alex Lough 183; Rosalind Oldham 127; Steve Welch 479; Hannah Land 168; Nick Hall 73t; Sheila Girling Macadam 192; Rob Mahoney 299; Sharon Langridge 36b; Edwin Macadam 464; Shelby Sampson 210; Phil Tyler 104 (CB); Steve Fletcher 132 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 354t; Sarah Hill 114; Ted Brown 111b.

Ian West and Helen Brown led 323t as the closing song. Michael Walker offered the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, April 24

The Sunday session of the East Midlands Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Ian West leading 415. Rosalind Oldham offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Helen Brown 163b; Margaret Gillanders 203; Ted Brown 225t; Ruth Steggles 135; Chris Brown 48b; Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn 313t; Judy Whiting 273; Alex Lough 38b; Shelby Sampson 117; Rosalind Oldham 143; Hannah Land 283; Rob Mahoney 159; Sharon Langridge 457; Sarah West 278b; Ian West 54t (CB); Helen Brown and Ted Brown 228 (in celebration of their 29th wedding anniversary); Ruth Steggles 547; Margaret Gillanders 350; Fynn Titford-Mock 385t.


Judy Whiting called the class back together leading 507b (CB). Leaders: Alex Lough 383; Rosalind Oldham and Daniel Oldham 573 (CB); Ted Brown 511t (CB); Hannah Land 500 (CB); Chris Brown 133 (CB); Sadhbh Ni Fhloinn and Alex Lough 236; Rob Mahoney 268; Sarah West 80t; Sharon Langridge 34b; Shelby Sampson 284; Ruth Steggles 198; Ian West 68b.

Hannah Land conducted the memorial lesson remembering the following deceased: Bill Boyd, Alan Cooper, Hazel Dickens, Joe Hall, Judith Bowness, Peter Nock, Mike Keily, Marion Biggs, Glynne Williams, Danjoe O’Sullivan, Glenn Leinart, Elizebeth Leinart, Steven Otyehel, Ivy Moore, Bob Meek, Linda Champ, Valerie Munday, George Seiler, Jan Cuttle, Mrs. Cuttle Snr., and Mary Lambert Smith. Hannah led 554 (CB) in their honor.

Ted Brown spoke for the following sick and housebound and led 47t: Stan Reeve, Peter Schoongans, Mandy Townsend, Lionel Wollenberg, Joan Swift, Cath Tyler, Dwight Diller, Maureen Gamlin, David Daykin, Dixie Nicholson, Ann Polito, Marjorie Franks, Maureen Jones, Kathy Armstrong, Charlie Derleth, John Merritt, Connie Karduck, John Seaton, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Rene Greene, Pam Nunn, Philip Ralls, Eileen Wilson, and Elsie Batty. Helen Brown closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 503; Fynn Titford-Mock 71; Judy Whiting 182; Alex Lough 504; Rosalind Oldham 199 (CB); Chris Brown 102; Helen Brown 318. Margaret Gillanders offered the blessing for the mid-day meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Sarah West leading 335. Leaders: Ted Brown and Helen Brown 77t; Hannah Land 556; Gillian White 49t; Rob Mahoney 178; Sharon Langridge 45t; Fynn Titford-Mock 425; Judy Whiting 384; Ian West 501; Margaret Gillanders 534; Chris Brown 549; Rosalind Oldham 155; Sarah West 498; Helen Brown 30b; Hannah Land 472; Ruth Steggles 480; Gillian White 107; Ted Brown 496.


Ian West called the final session to order by leading 139. Leaders: Sharon Langridge 212; Rob Mahoney and Jean Mahoney 497; Helen Brown 349; Chris Brown 401; Margaret Gillanders 515 (CB); Fynn Titford-Mock 49b; Judy Whiting 466; Rosalind Oldham 505 (CB); Sarah West 432; Hannah Land 142; Gillian White 38t (CB); Ruth Steggles 36b.

Following notices and thanks, Ian West and Helen Brown led 95b (CB) as the closing song. Rob Mahoney offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ian West; Vice Chairman—Helen Brown; Secretaries—Margaret Gillanders and Rosalind Oldham