Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ohio State Convention

Little Red Schoolhouse, Cincinnati, Ohio

March 5-6, 2011

Saturday, March 5

The Ohio State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Claire Outten leading 34b, and then she offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: John Bealle 84; Michael Domino 392; Eloise Clark 171; Karen Carelli 300; Rich Overturf 100; Karen Arnett 384; Linda Coppock 114; Susan Zurcher 452; Rich Kern 242; David Casenhiser 99; Ray Rechenberg 480; Lois Hurt 189; Kay Huener 269; Katie Duff 117; Tom Kochan 503; Hans Bayer 481; Sheila Patterson 146.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Claire Outten; Vice Chairpersons—Laura Russell and Michael Darby; Secretary—Michael Domino; Memorial Committee—Michele Cull and Darrell Swarens.


Rich Overturf called the class back to order leading 39t. Leaders: Laura Russell 72b; Shirley Carlberg 236; Gerry Hoffman 270; Roger Crabtree 183; Nicoletta Rogers 540; Wayne Dell 159; Bradley Oglesby 327; Greg Creech 74b; Shawn Fenton 203; Lori Graber 172; Jim Herr 475; Michael Mosely 527; Darrell Swarens 474; Gillian Inksetter 151; Joe Todd 457; Carol Munro Mosely 464; John Bayer 440; Melanie Hauff 216; Beth Todd 200; William Shetter 547; Judy Hauff 142; Jubal Bayer 299; Steve Rogers 68b; Ted Mercer 345b; Rachel Stevens 385b. Jim Herr offered a prayer prior to lunch.


Claire Outten called the class to order by leading 65. Leaders: Eric Conrad 332; Michele Cull 168; Cecelia Kramer 497; Howard Carlberg and Shirley Carlberg 73b; Jo Schultz 489; Anne Missavage 512; Sean Doherty 107; Annaliza Cull 448t; Marian Mitchell 48b; Michael Darby 102; Mary Brinkman 313b; Robert Cull 569b; Elizabeth Rechenberg 106; Nancy Huerta 288; Virginia Cameron 268; Joel Deckard 64; Sue Duff 36b; Michael Hieber 445; Ruth Dolby 350; Timothy Morton 558; Joel-Henry Mansfield 515; Loraine Bayer 29t.


Laura Russell and Michael Darby called the class to order by leading 155. Leaders: Grace Patterson 47b; Tom Morton 49b; Dave Witter and Lois Hurt 551; Clara Herr 564; Wilbur Sink and Roger Crabtree 282; Nathan Coppock 178; Mia Alvarado 147t; Deborah Hall 362; Martha Aden 120; Jim Coppock 542; Sean Doherty 80b; Judy Schuetz 344; Gillian Inksetter, Jo Schultz, Steve Rogers, and Nicoletta Rogers 436; Rachel Stevens 148; Eloise Clark 479; Joe Todd and Ruth Dolby 179; Sylvia Thomas 143; Lia Mansfield 218; Annaliza Cull and Chloe Wenker 82t; Will Black 391.

Claire Outten made announcements and led 347 as the closing song. Steve Duff offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, March 6

The Sunday session of the Ohio State Convention was called to order by Claire Outten leading 47t. Claire Outten also offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Jim Coppock 324; Rich Kern 496; Carol Medlicott 207; Karen Arnett 66; Will Black 327; Ray Rechenberg 40; Linda Coppock 377; Lois Hurt 45t; Deborah Hall 192; Eloise Clark 532; Laura Russell 163t; Michael Domino 173; Sylvia Thomas 472; Mia Alvarado 312b; Kay Huener 569b; Judy Schuetz 299; Bobette Olson 76b; Martha Aden 121; Tom Kochan 426t.


Claire Outten called the class back to order by leading 150. Leaders: Michael Darby 31t; Loraine Bayer 569t; Robert Cull 277; Nicoletta Rogers 538; James Eldridge 440; Cecelia Kramer 168; Michael Mosley 214; Katherine Eldridge 124; Jubal Bayer 272; Marian Mitchell 454; Joe Todd 375; Daniel Braithwaite 95; Ted Mercer 217; Greg Howard 547; Hans Bayer 196; Jo Schultz 313t; Melanie Hauff 421; Carol Munro Mosley 455; Annaliza Cull 155; Beth Todd 501; Rebecca Eldridge 396; Bradley Oglesby 171; Shawn Fenton 70b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Michele Cull and Darrell Swarens. Michele Cull led 122 in honor of the following sick or shut-ins: Barb Lund, Sheryl Pockrose, Gerry Hooten, Hal Lockhart, Becky Browne, Janet Conrad, Joanne Bowman, Lela Patterson, Jeff Sheppard, Joan Aldridge, Martha Anderson, David Rust, and Marlen Rust.

Darrell Swarens led 128 in memory of the following deceased: Robert Meek, Joyce Freeman, and Tommy Bishop—Kentucky; Christine Cox and Frank Boettcher—Ohio; Mary Domino—Michigan; William Borden, Jr.—Florida; George Seiler—New York; Georghina Ingold and John Peters—Pennsylvania; Edith Swindle—Alabama; Eugene D. Swarens—California; Jerry Enright—Illinois. The memorial service was closed by a prayer offered by Darrell Swarens.


Claire Outten called the class back to order by leading 149. Leaders: Roger Crabtree 229; Lori Graber 318; Ruth Dolby 163b; Anne Missavage 157; Virginia Eldridge 180; Steve Rogers 70t; Darrell Swarens 424; Chloe Wenker and Annaliza Cull 274t; Rachel Stevens 131t; Gillian Inksetter 352; Gerry Hoffman 492; Wayne Dell 445; Greg Creech 86; Dave Witter 504; Judy Hauff 250; Nate Zweig 38t; David Casenhiser 384; Laura Russell and Michael Darby 81t; Michele Cull 224; Elizabeth Rechenberg 457; William Shetter 28b; Timothy Morton 269; Adrian Eldridge and Rebecca Eldridge 203; Susan Zurcher 489; Matt Delaney and Dennis Delaney 117; Ray Rechenberg 29t; Michael Hieber 37b; Rich Overturf 373; John Bealle 240; Jo Schultz 481; Rachel Stevens 388; Nicoletta Rogers and Steve Rogers 33b, 350; Marian Mitchell 335; Michael Darby and Laura Russell 300; Daniel Braithwaite, Judy Hauff, Melanie Hauff, Ted Mercer, Carol Munro Mosley, and Michael Mosley 276.

Our closing hymn was 62. Rich Overturf offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Claire Outten; Vice Chairpersons—Laura Russell and Michael Darby; Secretary—Michael Domino