Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention

Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham, Alabama

November 27-28, 2010

Saturday, November 27

The 111th session of the Alabama State Sacred Harp Musical Convention met at Jefferson State Community College on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in November. Hubert Nall called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. leading 31b. The morning prayer was offered by Robert Chambless.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 34b; Robert Chambless 84; Linda Thomas and Jill Thompson 217; Elene Stovall 534; David Ivey 456 (in memory of Mae Seymour); Louis Hughes 472; Rodney Ivey 426b; Eddie Mash 572; Bea Carnathan 438; Erica Hinton 460; Mary Amelia Taylor 290; Jim Aaron 503; Charlene Wallace 349; Robert Walker 350; Ron Harper 440; Pam Nunn 189; Bud Oliver 42; Doug Conn 35; Danny Creel 269; B. M. Smith 548; Joyce Whittington 99; Ann Webb 282.


The class was brought together by Richard Mauldin leading 378t. Leaders: Charles McCravy 121; Judy Chambless 549; Daphene Causey 306; Wendy Futral 283; Michael Thompson 318; Ottis Sides 530; Drew Smith 183; Molly Ellis 126; Jonathon Smith 442; Bob Borcherding 56b; Leigh Cooper 31t; John Wendt 338; Darlu Nall 27; Butch White 178; Gavin Blakeley 196; Jill Thompson 504; Scott Kennedy 547; Tim Taylor 497.


Marlon Beasley and Polly Griffin brought the class back together leading 358. Leaders: Matt Hinton 186; Michael Walker 434; Michael Spencer 386; John Kelso 211; Mark Godfrey 47b; Henry Guthery 149; Anne Missavage 157; Joe Nall 67.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Vice Chairman—Dennis George; Chaplain—Blake Sisemore; Secretaries—Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall; Arranging Committee—Richard Ivey, Bridgett Hill Kennedy, and Danny Creel; Resolutions Committee—Judy Caudle and Henry Guthery; Location Committee—Linda Thomas and David Ivey; Finance Committee—Rodney Ivey and Darrell Swarens; Memorial Committee—Mike Hinton and Henry Johnson. After committees were appointed, the business session was closed.

Leaders: Darrell Swarens 198; Karen Swenson 518; SuNell Ellis and Bryan Knox 294; Sarah Beasley 340; Karen Rollins 212; Travis Keeton 421; Gail Doss 540.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Dennis George leading 399b. Leaders: Judy Hauff 536;Tom George 224; Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Nate Green and Norma Green 185; Melanie Hauff 216; Harrison Creel 498; Holly Mixon 59; Eugene Forbes 218; Kelsey Sunderland 314; Ian Quinn 507; Lynne deBenedette and Karen Freund 182; Jo Schultz 230; Gary Smith 66; Judy Caudle 564; Mike Hinton 532; Delone Cobbs 73t; Linda Sides 328; Reba Windom 542; Nathan Rees 380 (for Cassie Allen); Bridgett Hill Kennedy 411; Sharon DuPriest 546; Richard Ivey 425; Jeanette DePoy 112; Henry Johnson 109; Judy Mincey 468; Daniel Lee 82t; Blake Sisemore 273; John Plunkett 232; Jeff Sheppard 325.

Announcements were made. Blake Sisemore offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, November 28

The Sunday morning session of the Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention began at 9:30 a.m. with Richard Mauldin and Mike Hinton leading 146. Blake Sisemore offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Dennis George 101t; Blake Sisemore 187; Linda Thomas 81b; Elene Stovall 441; Henry Johnson 435; Judy Caudle 85; Henry Guthery 304; Rodney Ivey 376; Richard Ivey and Bridgett Hill Kennedy 448b; Darrell Swarens 215; Travis Keeton 480; Bea Carnathan 568; Michael Walker 434; Delone Cobbs 73b; Daphene Causey 225b; Bud Oliver 73t; Gail Doss 191; Harrison Creel 111b; Sarah Beasley 129; Robert Chambless 72b; Jo Schultz 150; Daniel Lee 569b; Margie Smith 225t.


Dennis George led 343 to bring the class together. Leaders: Karen Rollins 227; Seth Holloway 274t; Linton Ballinger 314; Nate Green and Norma Green 143; Vella Dailey 84; Marlon Wootten and Shane Wootten 49b; Judy Chambless 501 (for Dr. Julietta Haynes); Max Berueffy and Sarah Griswold 142; Holly Mixon 196; Anne Missavage 454; Tommie Spurlock 442; Sandra Whittle and Nathan Rees 56t; Allison Whitener and Karen Ivey 405 (for Coy Ivey); Bob Borcherding 235; Larry Ballinger 528; Louis Hughes 34t; Ellen Lea 157; Christopher Mann 32t; Chita Blakeley 500; Tom George 137; Charles Woods 453.

Mike Hinton and Henry Johnson conducted the memorial lesson. Mike Hinton spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins, and read the names as follows: Clarence McCool, Josie Hyde, Ann Ballard, Jewel Wootten, Leona Haynes, Bill Tanner, Wilburn Ellison, Coy Ivey, Marie Ivey, Sammie Oliver, Ernestine Pipkin, Ginny Whitworth, Lonnie Rogers, Violet Thompson, Carlene Griffin, Bob Meek, Connie Stanton, and Jane Davies. He led 46 in their honor.

Henry Johnson spoke for the deceased and read the names as follows: Billy Williams, Willie Mae Moon, Vernelle Forbes Amason, Lucille Sides, Japheth Jackson—Alabama; Eugene Swarens—California; Phyllis Bruce and Jeanette McCready—Connecticut; Mary Florence Smith—Georgia; Jerry Enright—Illinois; Johney Kelso—Florida; Frances Ceresa—Michigan; George Seiler—New York; Betty Thompson and Hilary Tomlin—United Kingdom. Rodney Ivey and Karen Freund led 209 in their memory. Blake Sisemore closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Ed Thacker 217; Phil Summerlin 415; Marlin Beasley 512 (for Myrtle Ann Ballard); Hubert Nall 176b; Buck Lea 542; Joyce Whittington 178; Eddie Mash 571; Waylon Blakeley 138t; B. M. Smith 475; Gary Smith 63.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Richard Mauldin leading 43. Leaders: Karen Swenson 220; Judy Mincey 464; Emily Burleson and Danny Creel 383; Joan Aldridge 228; Jackie Tanner 298; Kelsey Sunderland 222; Linda Sides 270; Reba Windom 192; Stuart Ivey 456; Stanley Smith 216; Judy Hauff 522; Loyd Ivey 283; Cheyenne Ivey 155; Ron Farris 282; Melanie Hauff 203; Joe Nall 430; Eugene Forbes 280; John Plunkett 30t; Buell Cobb and T.C. Bailey 436; Jill Thompson and Linda Thomas 99; Beth Branscome 91; Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard 211, 556; Matt Hinton 485; Bill Hogan and Nancy Hogan 448t; Ian Quinn 193; Cindy Tanner and Judy Caudle 440 (for Cassie Allen); Pam Nunn 269; Sharon DuPriest 300; Gavin Blakeley 189; Jim Aaron 163b; Karen Freund 77t (in memory of Jerry Enright).

A business session was held for the purpose of giving reports. The Resolutions Committee thanked everyone who helped make the convention a success. The Finance Committee reported that expenses were met, and thanked everyone who contributed. The Secretaries’ report was given, stating that a total of 182 leaders from 12 states, United Kingdom, and Canada attended. Announcements were made.

Richard Mauldin and Dennis George led 323t as the closing song. Blake Sisemore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Vice Chairman—Dennis George; Secretaries—Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas