Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Midwest Convention

Ida Noyes Hall, Chicago, Illinois

May 29-30, 2010

Saturday, May 29

The 25th Midwest Convention was held at Ida Noyes Hall, Chicago, Illinois, on the fifth Sunday and Saturday before in May. Anne Heider and Steve Warner called the class to order leading 171. Herb Schroeder offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Rochelle Lodder 36b; Ted Johnson 269; Susan Geil 52t; James Page 188; Randy Neufeld 99; Doug Stapleton 440; Peggy Mistak 490; Bob Sullivan 235; Terry Hogg 277.

A business meeting was held to elect or appoint the following officers: Chairman—Richard DeLong; Vice Chairpersons—Carol Munro Mosley and Michael Mosley; Secretary—Rochelle Lodder; Memorial Committee—Lisa Grayson, Michael Thompson, and Kathy Williams; Finance Committee—Jim Helke, Virginia Landgraf, Randy Neufeld, and Gillian Inksetter; Arranging Committee—Connie Karduck, Marcia Johnson, Susan Matthews, and Ted Mercer; Chaplains—-Herb Schroeder and Becky Browne.


Richard DeLong called the class to order leading 60. Leaders: Lori Graber 111b; Will Fitzgerald 444; Deidra Montgomery 196; Mark Dawson 236; Cathy Lutz 344; David Wright 475; Gillian Inksetter 151; Jerry Schreiber 66; Wendy Wahn 318; Aldo Ceresa 297; Aura Lee Fergason 549; Ian Quinn 163t; Ann Miczulski 101t; Mary DeNys and Wynn Meyer 445; Steven Schmidgall 567; Patricia Doss 442; Judy Mincey 538.


Michael Mosley called the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Joe Todd 106; Nicoletta Rogers 501; Charles Derleth 28b; Denise Kania 384; Presley Barker 481; Sarah Trumbore 154; Don Bardsley 503; Molly Whedbee 65; Tivey 49b; Connie Leininger 551; Nathan Zweig 439.

Ted Mercer, chairman of the first Midwest Convention, recognized Don Bardsley, who had been the first to suggest, in 1985, that a Midwest Convention be held in Chicago. Richard DeLong spoke about when he was a boy, almost all singers were elderly, and it seemed certain that Sacred Harp would die out; and in the 1980’s, he and a few other dedicated singers traveled the country spreading Sacred Harp seeds, and how excited they were to see these seeds start to bear fruit. The singers present at the first singing in 1986 at Northwestern University were recognized, and Judy Hauff and Marcia Johnson reminisced. Herb Schroeder offered grace.


Carol Munro Mosley brought the class back to order leading 312b. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 217; Jim Lawrie 441; Kiri Miller 564; Jim Pfau 474; Kathy Williams 273; Dave Ressler 328; Julie Vea 218; Michael Thompson 426b; Reba Windom 411; Steve Helwig 458; Carolyn Deacy 430; Paul Wyatt 300; Becky Browne and Kelly Kennedy 299; Jim Swanson 419; Christine Stevens 352. Virginia Landgraf spoke on behalf of the finance committee and led 26. Leaders: John Seaton 47t; Gary Gronau 192; Megan Jennings 189; Marty DeNys 454.


Richard DeLong called the class to order leading 67. Leaders: Johanna Fabke 129; Marcia Johnson “Boulder”; Steve Rogers 33b; Karen Isbell, Leslie Bachhuber, and Joy Brennan 270; Ted Mercer 504; Cecilia Kramer 38b; Hal Eisen 383; Rachel Adelstein 268; Peter Trumbore 40; Melanie Hauff 421; Michael Darby 142; Marian Mitchell 532; Judy Hauff 536; Bob Borcherding 228. The social at Kris Richardson’s was announced.

Richard DeLong led 323t as the closing song. Herb Schroeder offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, May 30

Richard DeLong brought the Sunday session of the Midwest Convention to order leading 32t. Becky Browne offered prayer.

Leaders: Bob Sullivan 45t; Jim Helke 568; Jeff Breting and Ted Mercer 501; JoDell Albi 312b; Michael Appert 236; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 155; Janice Ketelle 77t; Constance Karduck 313t; Orwin Youngquist 571; Linda Coppock 542; Melissa Breed 277; Laura Ann Russell 72b; Beth Todd 319; Myles Alexander 328; Anne Missavage 157; Beverly Enright 28b; Peggy Mistak 105.


Michael Mosley called the class to order leading 81t. Leaders: Cassie Lang 448b; Kay Huener 350; Anne Heider 528; Virginia Landgraf 455; Sasha Maslanka and Judy Hauff 155; Jim Coppock 503; Anne Sleeva 198; Beth Huener 547; Virginia Warren 26; Nathan Coppock 122; Ted Johnson 68t; Rochelle Lodder 148; Jerry Schreiber 304; Charles Derleth 348b; Don Bardsley 515. Ted Mercer recognized Bill Windom for videotaping the Midwest Convention every year.


Beth Todd brought the class back to order leading 89.

Lisa Grayson spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins, saying how much it had meant to her to be sung for when she had been on the list herself. Kathy Williams led 340 for the following sick and shut-ins: Patrick Stevens, Jerry Enright, Carol Munro Mosley, Martha Cooper, Gloria Rosen Kaplan, Carla Smith, Maria Stebbins, Kobey Black, Michelle Raine, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, Fred Blattner, Peg Pearson, John Blattner, and Phyllis Bruce.

Kathy Williams read the following names of the deceased: Larry Devocelle, Janet Newton, and Chuck Benbow—Illinois; Lillian Huener—Ohio; John Heider—Kansas; Bryson Schreiner—Pennsylvania; Victoria Bolles and Richard Swanson—Massachusetts; Cindy Kissee and Ethan Rogers—Minnesota; Jerry Cole—California; and Hattie Stearns—Virginia. Michael Thompson spoke on behalf of the deceased and read a passage by Canon Henry Scott Holland. He led 387 for the deceased. Becky Browne closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Steve Warner 107; Joe Todd 102; Nicoletta Rogers 434; Grace Scrimgeour and Mustafa Hussein 216; Terry Hogg 523; Presley Barker 131t. Becky Browne offered prayer for the noon meal.


Richard DeLong brought the class back to order leading 182. Leaders: Dave Ressler 215; Laura Mae Noble and Dersu Burrows 178; Michael Thompson 76b; Deidra Montgomery 456; James Page 24t; Karen Swenson 500; Lori Graber 274t; Aldo Ceresa 532; Reba Windom 436; Lisa Grayson 222; Samuel Sommers 316; Karen Isbell 448t; Julie Vea 368; Bob Borcherding 569b; Megan Jennings 208; Christine Stevens 496; Becky Browne 362; Gary Gronau 112; Paul Wyatt 195; Carolyn Deacy 485. Randy Neufeld spoke on behalf of the finance committee. Finance committee members Gillian Inksetter, Virginia Landgraf, James Helke, and Randy Neufeld led 180.


Richard DeLong brought the class back to order leading 385b. Leaders: Judy Mincey 468; Jim Pfau 480; Cathryn Bearov 372; Denise Kania 203; Johanna Fabke 373; Mary DeNys 566; Steve Rogers and Nicoletta Rogers 160 (t? b?); Stephanie Fida 428; Sarah Trumbore 376; Marty DeNys 228; Cecilia Kramer 168; Hal Eisen 137; Peter Trumbore 410t; Michael Darby 335; Marian Mitchell 532; Steven Schmidgall 156; David Wright and Ian Quinn 183; Gillian Inksetter and Wendy Wahn 163b; Karen Swenson and Cathy Lutz 282; Judy Hauff 404.

Ted Mercer received a standing ovation from the class for his invaluable contribution to 25 years of the Midwest Convention. Judy Hauff and Marcia Johnson spoke of his unflagging devotion. The finance committee reported that we met our financial needs. Becky Browne, Judy Hauff, and Bob Borcherding resolved to thank the following: our Creator, our foremothers and forefathers, hosts, front benchers, pitchers, all who taught us, cooks, the location committee, and the host of the social. The class resolved to meet again the same weekend next year. Announcements were made.

Richard DeLong led 62 as the closing song, and those who wished took the parting hand. The closing prayer was offered by Becky Browne, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard DeLong; Vice Chairpersons—Carol Munro Mosley and Michael Mosley; Secretary—Rochelle Lodder