Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Midlands Sacred Harp Convention

Village Hall, Kegworth, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

April 24-25, 2010

Saturday, April 24

The East Midlands Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ian West leading 479. Gillian White offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ian West; Vice Chairman—Helen Brown; Secretaries—Margaret Gillanders and Rosalind Oldham.

Leaders: Helen Brown 34b; Dave Richardson 31b; Margaret Gillanders 171; Ruth Steggles 49b; Ted Brown 47t; Sarah West 288; Hannah Land 56t; Chris Brown 38t; Sharon Langridge 276; Rosalind Oldham 84; Michael Walker 131b (for Jacqui Selby-Macleod); Judy Whiting 354t; Maria Wallace 142; Peter Knudssen 148; Steve Fletcher 131t; Ian West 54t (CB); Gillian White 128 (CB); Helen Brown 82t; Ruth Steggles 300; Ted Brown 303; Margaret Gillanders 559 (CB); Sarah West 432.


Dave Richardson called the class back to order by leading 111t. Leaders: Hannah Land 557 (CB); Chris Brown 30t (CB); Sharon Langridge 35; Rosalind Oldham 312b; Michael Walker 170; Judy Whiting 318; Maria Wallace 448t; Peter Knudssen 350; Steve Fletcher 117; Gillian White 107; Cath Tyler 296; Mick Verrier 106 (CB); Claire Singleton 270; Phil Tyler 139; Ian West 500; Helen Brown 140 (CB); Ruth Steggles 505 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 225t; Hannah Land 452; Chris Brown 466; Rosalind Oldham 571 (CB); Sharon Langridge 159; Michael Walker 377; Judy Whiting 460; Maria Wallace 183; Ruth Steggles 198. Martin Williams asked the blessing for the mid-day meal.


Dave Richardson reconvened the class leading 129. Leaders: Sarah West 80t; Ted Brown 81t; Steve Fletcher 472; Peter Knudssen 503; Cath Tyler 250; Mick Verrier 272; Gillian White 66; Claire Singleton 497; Ian West 384; Hannah Land 273; Helen Brown 186; Ruth Steggles 454; Phil Tyler 428; Chris Brown 324; Margaret Gillanders 182; Michael Walker 213t; Rosalind Oldham 410 (CB); Mick Verrier 538; Sharon Langridge 501; Ted Brown and Helen Brown 278t; Judy Whiting 549; Peter Knudssen 515; Steve Fletcher 38t (CB).


Sarah West brought the class together by leading 89. Leaders: Dave Richardson 488t (CB); Cath Tyler 497 (CB); Gillian White 573 (CB); Claire Singleton 124; Phil Tyler 477; Helen Brown 277; Ian West 68b; Hannah Land 475; Ruth Steggles 488b (CB); Mick Verrier 344; Maria Wallace 481; Michael Walker 56b; Margaret Gillanders 542; Steve Fletcher 65.

Ian West and Helen Brown led 330b as the closing song. Gillian White offered the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, April 25

The Sunday session of the East Midlands Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ian West leading 52t. Ken Baddley offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Helen Brown 492; Dave Richardson 48t; Ruth Steggles 36b; Ted Brown 503; Margaret Gillanders 203; Claire Singleton 168; Michael Walker 172; Judy Whiting 77b; Hannah Land 434; Nick Hall 147t; Rosalind Oldham 68b; Sarah West 498; Chris Brown 38b; Rachel Jordan 300; Ken Baddley 121; Cath Tyler 47t; Richard Percival 210; Phil Tyler 98 (CB); Ian West 575 (CB); Helen Brown 392.


Dave Richardson called the class back to order leading 345b. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 99; Ted Brown 496; Ruth Steggles 573 (CB); Claire Singleton 162; Nick Hall 455; Judy Whiting 222; Rosalind Oldham 127; Sarah West 224; Chris Brown 567; Rachel Jordan 501; Ken Baddley 488b (CB); Cath Tyler 560 (CB); Sheila Girling Macadam 330b; Richard Percival 479; Edwin Macadam 441; Michael Walker 435 (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Hannah Land, leading 448b in memory of the following deceased: Jim Clay, Johnny Collins, Audrey Nathan, Gordon Jones, Sally Smyth, Pete Chopping, Marie Holloway, Meriel Byrne, Eddie Byrne, Alan Pringle, Wendy Hately, David Clarence, Alf Reeves-Easton, Glynne Williams, David Lee, Eric Mogensen, Geoff Hayto, Jancis Wilson, Priscilla Quayle—United Kingdom; Eugene Cerveny—Ohio; Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts.

Ian West led 50b for the following sick and housebound: Mandy Townsend, Steven Otyehel, Carmel Wood, Jacqui Selby-Macleod, Muriel de Freyne, Doug Howarth, Richard Brown, Maureen Gamlin, Roy Buttling, David Daykin, George Seiler , Margaret Wheeler, Elsie Batty, Lee Prewitt, Helen Merrin, Alistair Mitchell, Sally Greaves-Lord, Leo McGuigan, Kathy Armstrong, David George, Betty Hine, Sharon Langridge, John Hopkinson. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Ted Brown.

Leaders: Phil Tyler 167; Anna Baldini 178; Claire Singleton 32b; Ted Brown 225t; Margaret Gillanders 475; Helen Brown 505. Prayer before lunch was offered by Anne Hayto.


Dave Richardson reconvened the class leading 87. Leaders: Judy Whiting 456; Nick Hall 573; Sarah West 370; Chris Brown 348t; Cath Tyler 376; Ken Baddley 571 (CB); Rachel Jordan 474; Sheila Girling Macadam 377; Richard Percival 28t; Ruth Steggles 313b; Edwin Macadam 183; Hannah Land 163b; Michael Walker 193; Rosalind Oldham 480; Phil Tyler 184b (CB); Anna Baldini 146; Ian West 133; Claire Singleton 33b.


The singing resumed with Ted Brown leading 111b. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 507b (CB); Dave Richardson 473; Sheila Girling Macadam 65; Nick Hall 145b; Rachel Jordan 82t; Edwin Macadam 564; Hannah Land 563 (CB); Richard Percival 547; Judy Whiting 150; Ken Baddley 511t (CB); Cath Tyler 276; Michael Walker 64.

Ian West and Helen Brown led 95b (CB) as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Ken Baddley, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ian West: Vice Chairman—Helen Brown; Secretaries—Margaret Gillanders and Rosalind Oldham