Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Singing

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 30, 2010

The 26th annual Sacred Harp singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas, on the last Saturday of the month of January. This is the nineteenth year that the 1991 Revision of the Sacred Harp has been used. Mr. Gaylon Powell gave a brief history of Sacred Harp singing and also led a “how-to” session.

Dr. Tim Studstill welcomed everyone and introduced Dr. Stephen Johnson, Dean of the School of Church Music at Southwestern. Dr. Johnson welcomed everyone and expressed the school’s appreciation for their attendance. He then introduced Dr. Gordon Borror, a faculty member of the School of Church Music at Southwestern. Dr. Borror opened with a word of prayer at 9:40 a.m. Dr. Studstill announced information regarding future Sacred Harp singings, and dismissed everyone for refreshments.

Dr. Studstill called the morning session to order at 9:50 a.m. He gave a history of Bill Reynolds’s involvement in Sacred Harp and introduced his son, Tim Reynolds. Tim Reynolds read a note from his mother, Mary Lou Reynolds, and expressed his gratitude for the group’s prayers for his family. He led the group in singing 49t. Leaders: Donald Ross 225t; Beverly Coates 546; Leon Ballinger 299; Josh Rogan 410t; Evelyn Lamb 547; Gaylon Powell 542; LuAnn Thomas 128; Gary Rogan 122; Tammy Powell 222; Chloe Webb 142; Vivian Rogan 163b; Bruce Coates 34b; Esther Huckaby 270; Jerry Ryan 145t; Douglas Foster 31t; Zack Rogan 30b; Owen Ross 94; Baron Powers 85; Tim Binkley 84.


Tim Reynolds brought the class back together by leading 59. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 492; Ryan Ross 297; Cassie Allen 374; Robert Vaughn 284; Jo Pendleton 178; Mike Hinton 456; Ron Ryan 350; Tollie Lee 45t; Susan Matthews 38b; Ainslie Allen 319; Janie Short 442; Donn Howard 535; Michael Rogan 39t; Grant Howard 503; Priscilla Wiggins 159; Chelsea Miller 376; Lindsey Wiggins 383; Scott Curran 500; Crystal Meadows 198. Dr. Studstill announced a lunch break, and Mike Hinton offered prayer before the noon meal.


Dr. Studstill called everyone together at 1:15 p.m. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 100; Bruce Coates 313b; Chloe Webb and Sadie Miller 149; Forest Ward 401; Donald Ross 455 (in honor of his wife, Diane Ross); Tim Reynolds 117; Beverly Coates 475; Josh Rogan 532; Evelyn Lamb 245; Leon Ballinger 195; Michele Rogan 472; Mike Hinton 480; Tammy Powell 454; Jerry Ryan 274t; Vivian Ryan 47b; Douglas Foster and Ben Berry 32t; Cheryl Foreman 344; Ron Ryan 424; Lindsey Wiggins 302; Gary Rogan 384; Baron Powers 79; Grant Howard 149; Cassie Allen 292; Owen Ross 528; Pricilla Wiggins 70t; Zach Rogan 35.


Leaders: Jo Pendleton 479; Ryan Ross 212; Robert Vaughn 504; Tollie Lee 285t; Susan Matthews 52t; Jerry Bryan 52b; Janie Short 58; Donn Howard 39b; Chelsea Miller 133; Scott Curran 448t.

Dr. Studstill closed in prayer. Crystal Meadows led 565 in the benediction. The Bowld Music Library at Southwestern held a presentation and display of unique historic four and seven note tunebooks and shape-note artifacts.

Chairman—Dr. Tim Studstill; Secretary—Christina Ziglar