Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Coker Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Coker United Methodist Church, San Antonio, Texas

July 25-26, 2009

Saturday, July 25

The 2nd annual Coker Sacred Harp Singing held at the Coker United Methodist Church in San Antonio, Texas, was called to order by Mike Hinton leading 68b. After welcoming remarks, Gaylon Powell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 63; Don Ross 391; Tammy Powell 454; Gaylon Powell 500; Janie Short 276; Greg Bowles 36b; Curtis Owen 490; Jonathan Pendleton 388; Reed Coates 137; Robert Vaughn 545; Scott Curran 192; Mark Robeck 178; Morris Nelms 479; Leon Ballinger 480; Amanda Bowles 163b; Evelyn Lamb 472; Mike Hinton 456.

A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Don Ross; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Chaplin—Gaylon Powell; Memorial Committee—Cheryl Foreman, Karen Rollins.


Gaylon Powell called the class back together by leading 84. Leaders: Crystal Meadows 542; Tom Owen 528; Henry Guthery 434; Barry Brake 133; Priscilla Wiggins 31t; Elene Stovall 440; Lane Cheney 30b; Bill Bailey 335; Karen Rollins 354t; Bruce Coates 34b; Rebecca Edwards 315; Bill Caldwell 228; Jo Pendleton 97; Bea Carnathan 438; Lindsey Wiggins 475; Ron Ryan 572; Linda Booker 34t; Rich Lee 32t. Gaylon Powell offered the noon prayer.


Janie Short called the class together for the afternoon session by leading 128. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 441; Beverly Coates 168; Cheryl Foreman 492; Kris Wiggins 522; Chris Nicholson 569b; Sara DeTurk 299; Diane Ross 209; Richard Ivey 411; Katie Mahoney 131b; Rick Foreman 175; Becca Short and Janie Short 312b; Larry Hall 551; Chloe Webb 148; Greg Bowles 146; Mark Robeck 47b; Morris Nelms 457; Leon Ballinger 273; Amanda Bowles 350; Curtis Owen 503; Robert Vaughn 142; Jonathan Pendleton and Jo Pendleton 354b; Barry Brake 88t; Reed Coates 155; Scott Curran 384.


Bill Caldwell called the class back to order by leading 99. Leaders: Don Ross 331; Evelyn Lamb 538; Crystal Meadows 481; Elene Stovall 216; Bill Bailey 495; Henry Guthery 140; Bea Carnathan 205; Karen Rollins 327; Rebecca Edwards 114; Priscilla Wiggins 56b; Linda Booker 358; Cheryl Foreman and Sonny Erwin 568; Tom Owen 338; Beverly Coates 347; Diane Ross 344; Rich Lee 44; Richard Ivey 223; Katie Mahoney 69t; Kris Wiggins 436; Lindsey Wiggins 189.

Announcements were made. Mike Hinton, Don Ross, and Tammy Powell led 46 for the closing song. Gaylon Powell offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, July 26

The Sunday session of the Coker Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Mike Hinton leading 87. Gaylon Powell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Don Ross 530; Gaylon Powell 86; Tammy Powell 217; Bruce Coates 145b; Chris Nicholson 400; Tom Owen 330t; Elene Stovall 534; Priscilla Wiggins 448b; Henry Guthery 240; Zach Rogan 159; Michelle Rogan 39t; Cheryl Foreman 455; Rick Foreman 289; Bill Caldwell 353; Diane Ross 267; Karen Rollins 318; Katie Mahoney 51; Sonny Erwin 501; Rebecca Edwards 402; Bea Carnathan 496; Scott Curran 532; Rich Lee 306; Becca Short and Janie Short 373; Crystal Meadows 442; Beverly Coates 547.


Richard Ivey brought the class back to order by leading 56t. Mike Hinton introduced the Sr. Pastor of Coker United Methodist Church and led 395. Leaders: Bill Bailey 72b; Lindsey Wiggins 183; Page Warren and Elene Stovall 365; Evelyn Lamb 245; Linda Booker 288; Kris Wiggins 198; Larry Hall 171; Ron Ryan 477.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins and Cheryl Foreman leading 340 for the following sick and shut-ins: Andy Worthington, Sallie Foreman, Ellen Jackson, Myra Palmer, Leland Owen, Josie Hyde, and David Carlton.

Karen Rollins and Cheryl Foreman led 285t in memory of the following deceased: Frank Hataway, Paul King, Denson Hinton—Alabama; Katherine Caldwell—Georgia; Dutch Owen, Monnie Ross Jr., Dick Steil, Ophelia Matthews—Texas; Ves Childs—Arizona; William J. Reynolds—Tennessee; John Etheridge—Florida. Gaylon Powell closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin 113; Rick Foreman 75; Henry Guthery 196; Gaylon Powell 236; Don Ross 284; Diane Ross 543. Gaylon Powell offered the noon prayer.


Don Ross called the class back together by leading 81b. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 348t; Bruce Coates 313b; Michelle Rogan 215; Dan Brittain 304; Zach Rogan 146; Larry Hall 99; Bea Carnathan 80b; Becca Short and Priscilla Wiggins 277; Rebecca Edwards 283; Katie Mahoney 111b; Bill Bailey 110; Barry Brake 417; Crystal Meadows 504; Beverly Coates 546; Rich Lee 82t; Bill Caldwell 212; Richard Ivey 293; Elene Stovall 430; Kris Wiggins 300; Linda Booker 143.

Announcements were made. Mike Hinton and Dan Brittain led 481. Leaders: Scott Curran 269; Ron Ryan 116; Tom Owen 448t; Evelyn Lamb 112; Lindsey Wiggins 163t; Janie Short 426b; Priscilla Wiggins 70t; Tammy Powell 216.

Mike Hinton led 62 for the closing song. Sr. Pastor Barbara Galloway offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Don Ross; Secretary—Tammy Powell