Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Singing

University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi

Sunday, March 8, 2009

The 29th annual Oxford Sacred Harp singing took place in the choral room of the music building at the University of Mississippi. Warren Steel called the class to order by leading 48t. Mark Davis offered the morning prayer.

Mark Tew led 108t, and the class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Tew; Secretary—John Merritt; Arranging Committee—Carolyn Thompson; Hospitality—Anne Steel and Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: John Merritt 176t; Gravis Ballinger 182; Hugh Bill McGuire 472; Will Gilman 268; John Wall 338; Lena Keeton 480; Bunk Beasley 45t; Wanda Capps 430; Gary Smith 565; Nathan Zweig 34b; Lela Crowder 77t; Bea Carnathan 205; Danny Creel 498; Mark Davis 47b; Kathy Robinson 546; Emily Creel 504; Velton Chafin 355; Henry Guthery 528; Tim Watkins 35; Jeff Corbett 125.


Warren Steel called the class together leading 411. Leaders: Anne Steel 348b; Kevin Dyess 274t; Jan Murray 36b; Josie Hyde 361; Chuck Howell 569b; Larry Ballinger 133; Brenda Merritt 542; Ken Tate 107; Arlon Gardner 277; Dorothea Maynard 319; Jessica Burnett 282; Juanita Beasley 61; Henry McGuire 183; Margaret Keeton 91; Faye Donaldson 225t; Lee Burnett 29b; Natalie Davis 354b; Sarah Smith 340; John Van Horn 189; Jim Greer 135; Lisa Geist 304.


The afternoon session began with Mark Tew leading 269. Leaders: Hannah Tate 454; Chiquita Walls 30t; Jack Barbera 335; Marlin Beasley 318; Phil Kliewer 330b; Sister Susan Karina 128; Sarah Gilman 108t; Carolyn Thompson 442; Nathan Zweig 331; Janet Jenkins 288; John Merritt 400; John Wall 236; Danny Creel 34t; Velton Chafin 177; Lela Crowder 422.

A memorial lesson was held at this time. Warren Steel led 163b in memory of Joe Cobb, John Etheridge, Pauline Childers, and Betty Maynard.

Danny Creel led 530 in honor of homebound singers Harrison Creel and Ann Ballard.

Leaders: Dorothea Maynard 57; Chuck Howell 232; Brenda Merritt 436; Henry McGuire 490; Arlon Gardner 163t; Bunk Beasley and Marlin Beasley 72b; Tim Watkins 48b; Josie Hyde 507; Kevin Dyess 63; Kathy Robinson 192; Will Gilman 273; Hugh Bill McGuire 396; Wanda Capps 142; Carolyn Thompson 383; Henry Guthery 140; Emily Creel 228.

Following announcements, Warren Steel led 134 as the closing song. John Van Horn dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Tew; Secretary—John Merritt