Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 20, 1996

The eighty-second session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met July 20th at Zion Rest Primitive Baptist Church. The class was called together by Velton Chafin leading song on page 52 (t? b?). Morning prayer was led by Glenn Keeton. Velton Chafin led song on page 42. Duly moved and seconded to enter a business session to elect officers for the day. Those elected or appointed to serve were: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate; Arranging Committee—Cecil Sanders; Memorial Committee—Brenda Merritt and Cynthia Franklin. Velton Chafin led song on page 56t. The following leaders were called: Joshua Keeton 111t, 111b; Gurtrude Wood 37b; Willodean Barton 290, 391; J. A. Mosley 480, 387; Keterina Sanders 59, 454; Coy Ivey 63, 101t; Gene Wakefield 108b, 136; Mae Conwill 75, 100; Roxie Keeton 441; Roma Rice 109, 186.


Velton Chafin called the class together leading song on page 36b. Leaders: Flarce Creel 270, 217; Lena Wakefield 498, 475; Brenda Merritt 187, 189; Cynthia Franklin 347, 198; A. C. McGough 340, 460; Thurman Nall 490; John Morris 448t, 163t; Elmer Conwill 396, 286; Emmie Morris 142, 383; Jimmie Gilmore 276, 288; Cassandra Franklin 35, 335. At this time a memorial was held. Brenda Merritt read from Isiah 38 (t? b?):18-20, and then led song on page 138b for the following loved ones: Joe Beasley, Ruby Gibson, Hubert Green, Aver Crider, Tom Roberson, Colbie Allen, Homer Cordes, Aaron Keeton, Mae Doss, Mary Helen Chafin, James Kerr, Curtis Dutton, Johnnie Sue Beasley, John Baine, Bebuel Barton, Ruthie Cozart, Harold Jackson, Agnes Hocutt, Luther Miller, Irvin Creel, Fleecie Tucker, Lucile Brothers, Herman Lambert, Juesel O’Rear, and Ervin Brothers. Velton Chafin led song on page 385 (t? b?) for the many sick and shut-ins.


Travis Keeton reassembled the class leading songs on pages 212 and 343. Leaders: Aubrey Barfield 384, 306; Alice Mosley 45t; Bill Farris 282, 401; Ila Ingle 146; Tommie Spurlock 137; Agnes Farris 112, 418; Estes Jackson 302, 436; Ann Jett 546; Ada Godsey 411, 499; Jane Shaddix 300, 210; Harrison Creel 512; Pernie Pelfrey 145b; Deloris Canady 79; Ashley Keeton 124, 108t; John Hocutt 240; Tom Harper 500; John Merritt 101b; Dorothea McCowan 304; Pam Keeton 171, 220; Arthur Gilmore 378t, “Jesus Died For Me”; Charles Kitchens 201, 535; Ersell Jackson 426 (t? b?); Cecil Sanders 354 (t? b?); Derrick Kitchens, Laura Kitchens, and Emily Kitchens 117, 40; Glenn Keeton 236. After announcements were made, Charles Kitchens dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate.