Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama

August 25-26, 2007

Saturday, August 25

The 104th session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Bud Oliver leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 82t; S.T. Reed 176b; Judy Caudle 375; Rodney Ivey 61; Boyd Scott 58; Scott Ivey 313t; Robert Walker 35; Judy Chambless 568; Lomax Ballinger 144; Hubert Nall 135; Eddie Mash 383; Mary Wright 328; Karen Rollins 327; Cecil Roberts 335; Dave Ressler 189; Joan Aldridge 439; Jonathon Smith 81t; Karen Freund 372; Gary Gronau 426t; J.L. Hopper 532.


The class was called back together by Bud Oliver leading 42. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Arranging Committee—Cindy Tanner; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Don Clark 354t; Floy Wilder 273; Virginia Eldridge 180; David McGukin and Gray Hamilton 384; Velton Chafin 355; Katherine Eldridge 85; Darrell Swarens 198; Carolyn Thompson 534; Jerry Enright 300 (in memory of Lawrence Underwood, Lula Underwood, and Barrett Ashley); Tim Cook 152; Adrian Eldridge 270; Charles Woods 353; Pat Temple and Amanda Denson 34b; Lynne deBenedette 142; John Etheridge 345t.


Bud Oliver brought the class to order leading 421. Leaders: Milton Oliver, Alana Blanks, Paula Oliver, and Scot Oliver 314; Joyce Walton 269 (in memory of Willa Mae Holt and Roxie Duffey, and in honor of Chester Lacy); Pattie Doss 522; Kristie Harju 108b; Wayne Dell 159; James Eldridge 318; Nathan Rees 298; Lou Kujawinski 349; Emily Creel 475; Aaron Wootten 480; Elene Stovall 564; Robert Chambless 523; Caleb Dillehay 497; Andy Anderson 178; Janice Paulk 386; Dan Thoma 102; Sandie Scott 472; Loyd Ivey 204; Linda Thomas 474; Billy Williams 334. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Wayne Reed.


The afternoon session was brought together by Bud Oliver leading 73t. Leaders: Tim Reynolds 64; Rachel Carlisle 145t; Thom Fahrbach 448b; William Shetter 36b; Rebecca Eldridge 535; Henry Johnson 288; Becky Browne 344 (for Jeanette Lowry, Charlie Derleth, and William Malloy); Danny Creel 378t (in memory of Dick Mauldin); Louis Hughes 512; Beth Branscombe 210; Ed Thacker 422 (for Amanda Denson); Sandra Wilkinson 278b; Jim Carnes 436; Roberta Strauss 68b; John Plunkett 541 (for the Nora Roberts family); Betty Wright 424; Larry Ballinger 540; Gail Aagaard 503; Mary Jo Shafer 229; Matt Hinton and Anna Hinton 365; Michael Likos 186.


The class was brought back to order by Henry Johnson leading 425. Leaders: Jennifer Allred 440; Max Berueffy 528; Evelyn Harris 155; Bobby Watkins 222 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Bea Carnathan and Amanda Denson 358 (in memory of Dick Mauldin); Lela Crowder 166; Bridgett Hill 396; Billy Kelly 100; Betty Shepherd and Reba Windom 299; Coy Ivey, David Ivey, and Ellen Harris 465 (CB), 49b.

Bud Oliver and S.T. Reed led 46 as the closing song. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 26

The Sunday session of the convention was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Bud Oliver leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Louis Hughes.

Leaders: S.T. Reed 275t; Judy Caudle 411; Cindy Tanner 436; Henry Guthery 558; Beth O’dell 186; Connie Stanton 350; Gravis Ballinger 112; David Light 318; Oscar McGuire 485; Lisa Geist 291; Donna Bell 171; Billy Kelly 108t; Jeannette DePoy 414; Becky Browne 203; Daphene Causey 222; Karen Clark 466; William Shetter 228; Chris Ballinger 120; Lela Crowder 224; Wayne Dell 277; Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 176t (for Milton Oliver); Brittany Lea and Allison Ivey 270; Scott DePoy 201; Gary Gronau 192; Stuart Ivey 343; Daryl Chesney 454; Rebecca Eldridge 110; Dave Ressler 218; Karen Ivey 182.


The class was called back to order by Bud Oliver leading 170. Leaders: Rodney Ivey and John Etheridge 380; Boyd Scott 319; Dennis George and Max Berueffy 517; Pat Temple and Amanda Denson 128; Mark Brown 345b; Jackie Tanner 172; Penny Kujawinski 200; Mary Wright 173; Wayne Jones 99; Bentley McGuire 95; Charles Franklin 74b; Katherine Eldridge 117; Lou Kujawinski 477; James Eldridge 504; Linda Sides 76b; Loretta Smith 348b; Linton Ballinger 144; David Carlton 421; Nathan Rees 530; Pattie Doss 528; Thom Fahrbach 216; Earl Ballinger 217; Larry Brasher and Ellen Harris 47t; David Ivey 542; Phil Summerlin 415; Ken Tate 389. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Wayne Reed.


The afternoon session was called to order by S.T. Reed leading 36b. Leaders: Scott Ivey 460; Adrian Eldridge 101t; Darrell Swarens 148; Don Clark 174; Kristie Harju and Sue Harju 106; Bobbie Watkins 426b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Henry Johnson. Bud Oliver spoke, and Mark Brown led “Beulah Land” in memory of Dora Reed Heiss.

Henry Johnson read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Jeanette Lowry, Charlie Derleth, Raymond Hamrick, Nora Roberts, Edith Tate, William Malloy, Fran Lipman, Chester Lacy, Peggy Moody, Hilda Morrison, Lillie Brandon, Josie Hyde, Margaret Keeton, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Roger Crabtree, Homer Benefield, Katherine Benefield, Bill Tanner, Pauline Childers, Violet Thomason, and Clinton Ivey. John Etheridge led 34t in their honor.

Henry Johnson spoke, and read the list of names of the deceased as follows: LaRue Allen, Mary Ballinger, B.J. Harris, Herby Bailey, Bill Thomas, Flarce Creel, Heath Jett, Opal Tanner, Wilton Donaldson, Minja Lausevic, Marie Guthrie, Alice Watkin, Jim Ellis, Kenneth Walton, Dora Reed Heiss, Eldora Moody, Carolyn Puckett, and Dick Mauldin. He led 338 in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Ed Thacker.

Leaders: Jerry Enright and Amanda Denson 77t; Jonathon Smith and Amanda Denson 376; Jennifer Allred 336; Carolyn Thompson 181; Virginia Eldridge 455; Tommy McGraw and Earlis McGraw 329; Karen Freund and Rodney Ivey 30b; Dan Thoma 56b; Sonya Sipe and Delone Cobbs 503; Louis Hughes and Coy Ivey 137; Lynne deBenedette 37b (in memory of Minja Lausevic); Reba Windom, Scott DePoy, and Betty Shepherd 196; Verlon Stiefel and Mary Ruth Stiefel 45t; Allison David 373; Hubert Nall 535; Emily Creel 168 (for Richard Mauldin); Hobert Ivey, Loyd Ivey, and Marian Biddle 511b (CB); Bea Carnathan 283; Ed Thacker 426t; Bridgett Hill and Coy Ivey 384.

Bud Oliver, S.T. Reed, and Phil Summerlin led 146 while the class took the parting hand. Phil Summerlin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Judy Caudle