Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 10-11, 2007

Saturday, March 10

The 22nd annual Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by David Lloyd leading 29t. Bill Caldwell offered the opening prayer.

Convention officers who were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David Lloyd; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Rebecca Browne; Finance Committee—Paul Figura and Charlie Derleth.

Songs were used from The Sacred Harp, 1991 edition, and The Missouri Harmony, 2005.

Leaders: Pattie Doss 440; David Kaeser 39t; Roberta Strauss 496; Karen Isbell 142; Dave Ressler 48t; Michelle Stremmel 61; Cindy Pepmiller 53; Wayne Smith 122; Anne Drexler 282; John Uhlemann 212; Lydia Corn 59; Lou Kujawinski 182; Elizabeth Serven 277; Shirley Figura 32t; Alice Moran 163b; Presley Barker 352; Barbara Uhlemann 474; Wendy Hofmann 74b; Darrell Swarens 335; Sylwinn Tudor 173.


Rebecca Browne called the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Penny Kujawinski 216; Dennis Corcoran 276; Jo Dell Albi 127 (MH); Gary Gronau 143 (MH); Joan Aldridge 198; Dan Brittain 113 (MH); Jubal Bayer 71; Charlie Derleth 68b; Rebecca Serven 192; Shannon Seyler 274t; Peggy Brayfield 442; Nate Green and Norma Green 314.


Mark Bruns led 66 to call the class together. Leaders: Paul Figura 19 (MH); Johanna Fabke 27 (MH); Berkley Moore 129 (MH); Ann Fox 145b; James Page 13 (MH); Rebecca Eldridge 168; John Ramsey 91; Janet Fraembs 532; Lamar Schlabach 131b; Ryan Wheeler 28 (MH); Clara Herr 504; Eddie Mash 151 (MH). Bill Caldwell offered the blessing for lunch.


David Lloyd called the afternoon session together leading 370. Leaders: Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); John Bayer 75; Bridgett Hill 300; Mike Hinton 527; Judy Caudle 456; Judy Mincey 8 (MH), Jim Herr 475; Syd Caldwell 171; Melanie Hauff 148 (MH); Bob Meek 441; Rodney Ivey 500; Karen Swenson 142 (MH); Adrian Eldridge 270; Judy Hauff 80 (MH); Kathy Kaiser 45 (MH); William Shetter 138 (MH); Connie Karduck 313t; Steve Duff 454; Bill Caldwell 240.


Penny Kujawinski began this session leading 85. Leaders: Coy Ivey and Gary Gronau 384; Mike Hinton and Syd Caldwell (in honor of Amanda Denson) 373; Catherine Pepmiller 56b; John Seaton 47t; Wayne Dell 47b; James Eldridge 134; Hans Bayer 196; Ted Mercer 78 (MH); Virginia Eldridge 448t; Loraine Bayer 565; Lydia Ruffin 107; Emily Gruber 84 (MH).

Announcements were made. The class was dismissed by David Lloyd leading 569b. Roberta Strauss closed the day with a prayer.

Sunday, March 11

David Lloyd opened the second day of the convention at 9:30 a.m. leading 106. Bill Caldwell led the morning prayer.

Leaders: David Lloyd 201; Anne Drexler 87; Wayne Smith 105; Presley Barker 89 (MH); Shirley Figura 565; Karen Isbell 75 (MH); David Kaeser 503; Pattie Doss 215; Bill Rintz 268; Sylwinn Tudor 68b; Roberta Strauss 480; Dave Ressler 139 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 70 (MH); Jeanette Lowry 214, 276; Charlie Derleth 348b; Gary Gronau 349.


Paul Figura led 39b to call the class back together. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 114; Judy Caudle 236; Cheyenne Ivey and Katherine Eldridge 354b, 358; Hans Bayer 455; James Eldridge 107; Jubal Bayer 148; Rebecca Eldridge 436; Loraine Bayer 177 (MH); Coy Ivey 137, 222; John Bayer 153; Rodney Ivey 498.


The class was called together by Karen Isbell leading 135 (MH). Leaders: John Uhlemann 46 (MH); Tommy Schultz 496; Barbara Uhlemann 299.

Karen Swenson read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins. Judy Mincey spoke in their honor. They were Amanda Denson, Flarce Creel, Milton Oliver, Edith Tate, Dick Maudlin, Bill Tanner, Elder H.C. McGough, Velton Chafin, Chris Boring, Myrtle Smith, Margie Smith, Teeny Moody, Mary Florence Smith, Gladys McGraw, Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Pauline Childers, Lois Lee Ramsey, Alice Caldwell, Bill Ellason, Gilbert Groeper, Dolores Katz, Mary Ellen Wilkinson, Myrna Palmer, Andre DuPont, Ophelia Matthews, Doug Miller, Dick Dunnagan, Bob Skorgie, Bob Anderson, and Julie Vea. Paul Figura led 510.

Mike Hinton spoke for the deceased. Those remembered were Teddy Creel, Heath Jett, Bill Green, Opal Tanner, Lois Sheppard Stanson, and John Hyde—Alabama; Myrtle Browning—Arkansas; Bobby Jackson, Donnie McGraw, and Nancy Allen—Georgia; Sheldon Stremmel, Ned Sterane, and Lester Buescher—Illinois; Aurelia Grieshop—Iowa; Alvin Mottert and Sherry Gunn—Missouri; Alice Mercer—Tennessee; Mary Ballinger, Autumn Sansom, and Debbie Benton—Texas. Rodney Ivey led 490. Mike Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Ann Fox 135; Penny Kujawinski 200. John Bayer offered the blessing for lunch.


Lou Kujawinski led 515 to open the afternoon session. Leaders: Wendy Hofmann 481; Wayne Dell 49b; Janet Fraembs 180 (MH); Jim Herr 35; Jeanette Lowry 189; Johanna Fabke 172 (MH); Steve Duff 467; Joan Aldridge 542; Darrell Swarens 350; Virginia Eldridge 142; Eddie Mash 365; Clara Herr 209; Bridgett Hill 546; Jim Solheim 155 (MH); Ted Mercer 34t; Nate Green and Norma Green 283; Dan Brittain 125 (MH); James Page 68 (MH); Rebecca Browne 362.


Leaders: Pattie Doss and Roberta Strauss 76b; Karen Swenson 90 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 385t; Ryan Wheeler 32 (MH); Alice Moran 556; William Shetter 297; Shannon Seyler 302; Berkley Moore 137 (MH); Melanie Hauff and Judy Hauff 81 (MH); Judy Mincey 124 (MH); Adrian Eldridge 319; Syd Caldwell and Mike Hinton 218; Kathy Kaiser 167 (MH); Bill Caldwell 217; Jan Ketelle 368; Jim Hearne 344.

Following announcements, 347 was led as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Wayne Smith.

Chairman—David Lloyd; Secretary—Dave Ressler